THE ARKANSAS STATE ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO THE U. S. COMMISSION ON CIVIL RIGHTS

PRESS RELEASE

January 11, 2013

Contact:

Farella E. Robinson, Regional Director Central Regional Office (913) 551-1400

U.S. CIVIL RIGHTS COMMISSION ANNOUNCES APPOINTMENTS TO THE ARKANSAS STATE ADVISORY COMMITTEE

WASHINGTON, DC – The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights has announced the appointment of 13 Arkansas citizens to its Arkansas State Advisory Committee.

The Commission appointed Ericka Benedicto, Jimmy C. Cline, Melissa Duke, Julie D. Greathouse, Andre L. Guerrero, Rose Jones, Ranko Shiraki Oliver, and Brian A. Vandiver of Little Rock; Gary M. McHenry, Robert A. Maranto, Gary W. Ritter, and Diana Gonzales Worthen of Fayetteville; and Joseph J. Horton of Conway. The Commission appointed Gary McHenry as Chairman. The appointments are for two years and members serve without compensation.

Congress has directed the Commission to establish state advisory committees (SACs) in all 50 states and the District of Columbia to study issues and forward advisory reports to the Commission on matters within agency's jurisdiction that reflect the views of the majority of SAC members producing the report.

The SACs' reports to the Commission may rely on studies and data generated by third parties that are not subject to an independent review by Commission staff. The views expressed in reports are those of a majority of the State Advisory Committee members and do not necessarily represent the views of the Commission or its individual members, nor do they represent the policies of the U.S. government.

###

The U.S. Commission on Civil Rights is an independent, bipartisan agency charged with monitoring federal civil rights enforcement. Members include Chairman Martin Castro and Commissioners Roberta Achtenberg, Todd Gaziano, Gail Heriot, Peter Kirsanow, David Kladney, Abigail Thernstrom, and Michael Yaki. The Commission's website is http://www.usccr.gov