Databases for Literature Searching
Note: As noted below, some databases are restriced to NOAA staff and/or staff of the Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center in Honolulu, HI.- Library Catalog (NOAALINC) NOAALINC is the official library catalog for 27 NOAA libraries, including the holdings of the PIFSC Library.
- Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) *Available NOAA-wide ASFA is a comprehensive database on the science, technology, and management of marine, brackishwater, and freshwater environments and resources. ASFA's international editorial staff monitors over 5,000 primary journals and a wide variety of other source documents including books, monographic series, conference proceedings, and technical research reports.
- BioOne *Available NOAA-wide A unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journal with full-text access.
- Catalog of Fishes Contains over 10,300 genera and subgenera and approximately 53,500 records for species and subspecies. About 50,000 names are available for use at the species/subspecies level.
- Conference Papers Index *Available NOAA-wide CPI provides access to records of the more than 100,000 scientific and technical papers presented at over 1,000 major regional, national, and international meetings each year. Conference Papers Index provides a centralized source of information on reports of current research and development from papers presented at conferences and meetings; it provides titles of the papers as well as the names and addresses (when available) of the authors of these papers. Also included in this database are announcements of any publications issued from the meetings, in addition to available preprints, reprints, abstract booklets, and proceedings volumes, including dates of availability, costs and ordering information.
- FishBase
- Google Scholar Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Hawaii Newspaper Index
- Journal Citation Reports: Science Edition *Available NOAA-wide Journal Citation Reports allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 5,900 scholarly and technical journals from more than 5,000 publishers in over 60 countries. It includes virtually all areas of science and technology.
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive *Available NOAA-wide Complete full-text archives of core scholarly journals, some dating from the 1600s. Search by topic, keywords, titles, authors and dates. NOAA subscribes to these JSTOR collections of titles: Arts & Sciences I; Arts & Sciences VII; Biological Sciences; Business; Health & General Sciences; Mathematics & Statistics; 19th Century British Pamphlets (through June 30. 2009); Public Health Reports.
- LarvalBase
- NetLibrary *Available NOAA-wide Features more than 300 online book titles, including 200 Information Technology (IT) books on subjects including HTML, XHTML, XML, Visual Basic.Net, CGI, Dreamweaver, PHP, Apache, MySQL Web Development, and more.
- Oceanic Abstracts *Available NOAA-wide Oceanic Abstracts organizes and indexes technical literature published worldwide on marine-related subjects. Over 9,000 citations from approximately 2,000 worldwide sources are added to the database each year. Records cite journals, books, technical reports, conference proceedings, government and trade publications. Major subject areas covered by Oceanic Abstracts are oceanography, marine biology, marine pollution, ships and shipping, geology and geophysics, meteorology, governmental and legal aspects of marine resources.
- Scirus Scirus is the most comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet. Driven by the latest search engine technology, Scirus searches over 200 million science-specific Web pages and database aggregators.
- Web of Science *Available to PIFSC Staff Science Citation Index Expanded is a cited reference search database that provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 6,083 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines with 19,200 new records added each week.
- Wiley Interscience *Available NOAA-wide Over 200 current full-text science journals from Wiley Interscience, in addition to 200 non-current titles.
Last updated
September 06 2012