Agenda

Public Meeting of the Biomass Research and Development Technical Advisory Committee

December 1 – 2, 2009

Day 1: December 1, 2009

Technical Advisory Committee Meeting

8:45 am – 9:15 am	Breakfast (to be provided for Committee)
9:15 am – 9:30 am	Welcome Co-Chairs Henson Moore and Gil Gutknecht
9:30 am – 10:00 am	<u>Presentation</u> : DOE Update on Biomass R&D Activities <i>Laura McCann, Biomass Program, U.S. Department of Energy</i>
10:00 am – 10:30 am	<u>Presentation</u> : USDA Update on Biomass R&D Activities Bill Hagy, Rural Development, U.S. Department of Agriculture
10:30 am – 10:45 am	Break
10:45 am – 11:15 am	<u>Vote</u> : FY 2009 Annual Recommendations Full Committee
11:15 am – 11:30 am	<u>Presentation</u> : Biomass R&D Board Co-Chair Steven Koonin, Under Secretary for Science, DOE
11:30 am – 12:00 pm	Presentation: Drop-in fuels Valerie Reed, Biomass Program, U.S. Department of Energy
12:00 pm – 1:00 pm	Lunch (to be provided for Committee)
1:00 pm – 2:00 pm	<u>Discussion</u> : FY 2010 Work Plan Full Committee
2:00 pm – 2:15 pm	<u>Presentation</u> : Biomass R&D Board Co-Chair <u>Dallas Tonsager</u> , <u>Under Secretary for Rural Development</u> , <u>USDA</u>
2:15 pm – 3:15 pm	<u>Discussion</u> : Committee / Board Interface Full Committee
3:15 pm – 3:30 pm	Presentation: NAREEE Update Carol Keiser-Long, NAREEE Committee Chair
3:30 pm – 4:00 pm	Presentation: JBEI Jay Keasling
4:00 pm	Adjourn

Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill Yorktown Room 400 New Jersey Avenue, NW, Washington, DC, 20001 (202) 737-1234

Agenda

Public Meeting of the Biomass Research and Development Technical Advisory Committee

December 1 - 2, 2009

Day 2: December 2, 2009

Technical Advisory Committee Meeting

8:00 am – 8:30 am Breakfast (to be provided for Committee)

8:30 am – 10:30 am Panel: Overcoming the "Valley of Death"

Panel chair: Scott Brown, Founder and CEO, New Energy Capital

Jay Kouba, President & CEO, TetraVitae Bioscience

Mike Ladisch, CTO, Mascoma Kevin Gray, CTO, Qteros Bill Davis, CEO, Ze-Gen

10:30 am – 10:45 am Recognition of departing members

10:45 am – 11:00 am Public Comment

11:00 am Adjourn