

Press Statement Richard Boucher, Spokesman Washington, DC May 18, 2004

Five Countries Certified as not Cooperating Fully with U.S. Antiterrorism Efforts

The Secretary of State has determined and certified to the Congress that five countries are not cooperating fully with United States antiterrorism efforts: Cuba, Iran, Libya, North Korea, and Syria.

The Secretary makes an annual certification pursuant to Section 40A of the Arms Export Control Act, which prohibits the sale or license for export of defense articles and services to countries determined to be not cooperating fully with U.S. antiterrorism efforts. This prohibition applies during fiscal year 2005. The decision to include Libya on this list comes in the context of an on-going and comprehensive review of Libya's record of support for terrorism. While this process is not complete, Libya has taken significant steps to repudiate its past support for terrorism. When our review of Libya's overall record is complete, we will consult further with the Congress.

2004/563

Released on May 18, 2004



Published by the U.S. Department of State Website at http://www.state.gov maintained by the Bureau of Public Affairs.