GIPSA Press Release

United States Department of Agriculture

Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration STOP 3601 1400 Independence Ave., SW Washington, D.C. 20250-3601

GIPSA Release 10-13

Terry L. Henry 202-205-8281 terri.l.henry@usda.gov

VILSACK NAMES GRAIN INSPECTION ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERS

WASHINGTON, Jan. 16, 2013 -- On November 26, 2012, Agriculture Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack announced the appointment of four members to serve on the United States Department of Agriculture's (USDA) Grain Inspection Advisory Committee. The appointees will serve a 3-year term.

"I am pleased that these individuals have agreed to serve on the Grain Inspection Advisory Committee," said Vilsack. "They bring a great deal of knowledge and experience to this committee."

The new members are: **Janice Cooper**, executive director, California Wheat Commission, Woodland, Calif.; **Walter McAninch**, owner/operator, Tonkawa, Okla.; **Arvid Hawk**, president, Global Agricultural Consulting, LCC, Eden Prairie, Minn.; and **Maria Reinitz**, manager, Gavilon, LLC, Omaha, Neb.

The Grain Inspection Advisory Committee is comprised of 15 members appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture who represent all facets of the grain industry. The Grain Inspection Advisory Committee meets twice annually to advise USDA on the establishment of programs and services under the United States Grain Standards Act.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider and employer. To file a complaint of discrimination, write: USDA, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Office of Civil Rights, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Ave., S.W., Washington, D.C. 20250-9410 or call (866) 632-9992 (Toll-free Customer Service), (800) 877-8339 (Local or Federal relay), (866) 377-8642 (Relay voice users).