Contact: Connie Barclay 301-713-2370

# FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 23, 2010

## **Commerce Announces 2010 Regional Fishery Council Appointments**

The Commerce Department today announced the appointment of 19 new and returning members to the eight regional fishery management councils – important partners with NOAA's Fisheries Service in determining how ocean fisheries are managed.

The councils, established by the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act, prepare fishery management plans for marine fish stocks in their regions. The councils fulfill the act's charge to end and prevent overfishing and rebuild fish stocks to ensure sustainable fisheries. NOAA's Fisheries Service works closely with the councils during plan development and also reviews, approves and implements the management plans developed by the councils.

"The councils play a very important role in fish management. I'm pleased today to be able to announce our new and returning members to the councils," said Eric Schwaab, NOAA assistant administrator for NOAA's Fisheries Service. "The individuals selected for the councils are keenly qualified for these important positions. They are the experts--fishermen and scientists, leaders in their regions --who will help us achieve sustainable fisheries and maintain vibrant fishing communities."

Council members represent diverse constituents including commercial and recreational fisheries, environmental interests and academia. Each year, the Secretary of Commerce selects approximately one-third of the total of 72 appointed members to the eight regional councils. Nineteen are being named or reappointed for the next term, which begins on August 11.

Each year NOAA's Fisheries Service solicits nominations from the governors of fishing states, and oversees the annual appointment process. The Secretary must select council members from the list of nominees provided by the governors to fill obligatory and at-large seats that have become available due to an expiring term, a resignation or other reasons. Obligatory seats are state-specific, while at-large seats can be filled by a person from any of the states in the region. Council members serve three-year terms, and may be reappointed to serve up to three consecutive terms. Approximately one-third of the terms expire annually. An asterisk (\*) indicates a reappointment.

## **New England Council**

The New England Council includes members from the states of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Rhode Island. The appointees for 2010 fill an obligatory seat for New Hampshire and two at-large seats.

Obligatory seat:

\*David T. Goethel (N.H.)

At-large seats:

\*Colin "Rip" M. Cunningham Jr. (Mass.)

\*Francis "Frank" W. Blount Jr. (R.I.)

## **Mid-Atlantic Council**

The Mid-Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Virginia. The appointees for 2010 fill an obligatory seat for Delaware and three at-large seats.

Obligatory seat:

\*Lee G. Anderson (Del.)

At-large seats:

\*Richard "Rick" B. Robins Jr. (Va.)

\*Erling A. Berg (N.J.)

Stephen E. Linhard (Md.)

#### **South Atlantic Council**

The South Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Florida, Georgia, North Carolina and South Carolina. The appointees for 2010 fill obligatory seats for North Carolina and South Carolina.

Obligatory seats:

Thomas E. Burgess (N.C.)

\*Thomas L. Swatzel III (S.C.)

#### Caribbean Council

The Caribbean Council includes members from the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The appointee for 2010 fills one at-large seat.

At-large seat:

\*Winston J. Ledee (U.S.V.I.)

#### **Gulf Council**

The Gulf Council includes members from the states of Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas. The appointees for 2010 fill obligatory seats for Texas and Mississippi and one at-large seat.

Obligatory seats:

Douglass W. Boyd (Tex.)

\*Harolyn K. "Kay" Williams (Miss.)

At-large seat:

Lawrence "Larry" G. Abele (Fla.)

### **Pacific Council**

The Pacific Council includes members from the states of California, Idaho, Oregon and Washington. The appointees for 2010 fill an obligatory seat for Idaho and one at-large seat.

Obligatory seat:

Herbert "Herb" A. Pollard II (Idaho)

At-large seat:

\*Danny "Dan" L. Wolford (Calif.)

## **North Pacific Council**

The North Pacific Council includes members from the states of Alaska and Washington. The appointees for 2010 fill two obligatory seats for Alaska.

Obligatory seats:

\*Duncan S. Fields (Alaska)

\*Samuel "Sam" R. Cotten (Alaska)

## **Western Pacific Council**

The Western Pacific Council includes members from the American-flagged Pacific islands of American Samoa and Guam, the state of Hawaii and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. The appointees for 2010 fill two at-large seats.

At-large seats: \*William A. Sword (A.S.) Julie A. K. Leialoha (Hawaii)

NOAA's mission is to understand and predict changes in the Earth's environment, from the depths of the ocean to the surface of the sun, and to conserve and manage our coastal and marine resources. Visit us at <a href="http://www.noaa.gov">http://www.noaa.gov</a> or on Facebook at <a href="http://www.facebook.com/usnoaagov">http://www.facebook.com/usnoaagov</a>.

On the Web:

NOAA's Fisheries Service: <a href="http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov">http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov</a>

The 2010 Report to Congress on Apportionment of Membership on the Regional Fishery

Management Councils: <a href="http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/reg">http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/reg</a> svcs/councils.htm

- 30 -