

National Ethics Committee Members

Chair:

Art Derse, MD, JD Ethics Committee Co-Chair VAMC Milwaukee

Members:

Peter Almenoff, MD, FCCP Assistant Deputy Under Secretary for Health for Quality and Safety

Susan Bowers, MBA Network Director VISN 18

David Casarett, MD Ethics Committee Chair VAMC Philadelphia

Richard Cotter, MSW Associate Director of Operations, Ethics Committee Chair VAMC Butler

Sharon P. Douglas, MD Associate Chief of Staff for Education and Ethics VAMC Jackson

Shawn Fultz, MD Senior Medical Advisor, Office of Public Health and Environmental Hazards Veterans Health Administration

John Hermos, MD Chair Institutional Review Board VA Boston Healthcare System

Rosell Knight, RN, MS Clinical Executive

Office of Nursing Services

Lowell Kronick, MHL, BCC

Associate Director for Education National Chaplain Center

Lisa McGuire, LCSW

Health Systems Specialist VISN 23

Caitlin O'Brien, MA Compliance and Business Integrity Officer Veterans Health Administration

Judy Ozuna, ARNP, MN, CNRN

Neurology Service (127) VA Puget Sound HCS (Seattle)

Peter Poon, JD, MA

Associate Director of Research Integrity & Assurance (10) Office of Research Oversight

Edward "Ike" Porter, MDiv, BCC

Ethics Committee Chair VAMC Battle Creek

Holly Schaffter-Chari, JD

Staff Attorney Office of the General Counsel (023J)

Scott Shreve, DO

National Director Hospice and Palliative Care

Philip Susann, MPAS, PA-C

Ethics Advisory Committee VAMC Durham

Ex Officio:

Ellen Fox, MD Chief Ethics in Health Care Officer (10E)

Consultant:

Michael J. O'Rourke Assistant Director, Veterans Health Policy, NVS VFW

Staff to the Committee:

Douglas Olsen, PhD, RN Nurse Ethicist National Center for Ethics in Health Care

Michael E. Ford, JD Staff, Ethics Communications National Center for Ethics in Health Care

Updated March 4, 2010