OMS PTSO Meeting

Subject: Meeting Minutes Date: 6 October 2009 Time: 1700- 1810

Location: OMS Cafeteria

Members in Attendance: Rebecca Westlake& Tim Moran, Lynniece Somers, Greg Veazey, Joyce Desautels, Michael Rawlins, Stephanie Wolf, Heidi Ross, Beverly Spitznagel, Stephanie Howell, Kari Sturim, Angela Robinson, Sharon LaBella, Meredith Kemp, Brenda Massey, Sheree & David Washington

Guests in Attendance: Dr. Jennifer Smith, Principal, Gary Clinton, OAHS PTSO

President

Meeting called to order: 1710

Rebecca Westlake gave a welcome address and introduced the OMS Steering Committee as hosts of this initial meeting. She gave a brief synopsis of progress made by the steering committee in regards to the formation of the OMS PTSO.

SMSgt Greg Veazey reported on the current status of the OMS PTSO Private Organization Paperwork completed. A constitution has been prepared and routed through the appropriate channels. A bank account has been established. The purpose of this meeting is to elect an executive board. Position descriptions for president, vice-president, secretary, and treasurer were read and other possible positions listed.

Old Business - None (initial meeting)

New Business - At this point the floor was open for discussion.

- 1. Fundraising ideas spirit wear / items
- 2. Wish List for teachers/students possibility of donations from other organizations once a list is compiled. Dr. Smith will work with us to compile a list.
 - 3. Examples of PTSO Funding Athletic fees, spirit wear, library materials, planners, socials, honors program, gift wrapping, etc.
- 4. Possible purchase of a school flag. Discussion further revealed the school does not have a US Flag or Korean Flag.

Nominations and Elections

MSgt Mike Rawlins offered to take the position of President. Motion was made and seconded. Motion carried

Heide Ross was nominated for Vice-President. Motion was made and seconded. Motion carried.

Lynniece Somers was nominated for Secretary. Motion was made and seconded. Motion carried.

Capt David Washington was nominated for Treasurer. Motion was made and seconded. Motion carried.

The following subcommittees and positions were filled:

Budget Committee: David Washington, PTSO Treasurer

Angela Robinson Rebecca Westlake

Teacher Representative - Dr. Smith will inform

Student Representative - Mia LaBella, Student Council President

Box Tops - Sharon LaBella
Teacher Appreciation - Angela Robinson
Sheree Washington

Publicity - Greg Veazey

Sheree Washington

Volunteer Coordinators - Kari Sturim

Sheree Washington

Ways & Means - Heidi Ross

Popcorn / Concession - Angela Robinson

Meeting adjourned at 1810