LIST OF COUNTRIES BY REGION WHOSE NATIVES WERE ELIGIBLE FOR DV-2011

The list below shows the countries whose natives were eligible for DV-2011, grouped by geographic region. Dependent areas overseas are included within the region of the governing country. The countries whose natives were not eligible for the DV-2011 program were identified by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), according to the formula in Section 203(c) of the Immigration and Nationality Act. The countries whose natives were not eligible for the diversity visa program (because they are the principal source countries of Family-Sponsored and Employment-Based immigration or "high-admission" countries) are noted after the respective regional lists.

Africa	Algeria	Libya
	Angola	Madagascar
	Benin	Malawi
	Botswana	Mali
	Burkina Faso	Mauritania
	Burundi	Mauritius
	Cameroon	Morocco
	Cape Verde	Mozambique
	Central African Republic	Namibia
	Chad	Niger
	Comoros	Nigeria
	Congo	Rwanda
	Congo, Democratic Republic of	Sao Tome and Principe
	Cote d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast)	Senegal
	Djibouti	Seychelles
	Egypt	Sierra Leone
	Equatorial Guinea	Somalia
	Eritrea	South Africa
	Ethiopia	Sudan
	Gabon	Swaziland
	Gambia	Tanzania
	The Ghana	Togo
	Guinea	Tunisia
	Guinea-Bissau	Uganda
	Kenya	Zambia
	Lesotho	Zimbabwe
	Liberia	

⁽¹⁾ Persons born in the Gaza Strip are chargeable to Egypt.

Asia	Afghanistan	Lebanon
	Bahrain	Malaysia
	Bangladesh	Maldives
	Bhutan	Mongolia
	Brunei	Nepal
	Burma	North Korea
	Cambodia	Oman
	East Timor	Qatar
	Hong Kong S.A.R.	Saudi Arabia
	Indonesia	Singapore
	Iran	Sri Lanka
	Iraq	Syria
	Israel	Taiwan
	Japan	Tajikistan
	Jordan	Thailand
	Kazakhstan	Turkmenistan
	Kuwait	United Arab Emirates
	Kyrgyzstan	Uzbekistan
	Laos	Yemen
	Macau S.A.R.	

- (1) Natives of the following Asian countries are **not** eligible for this year's diversity program: China (mainland-born), India, Pakistan, South Korea, Philippines, and Vietnam.
- (2) Hong Kong S.A.R and Taiwan **do qualify** and are listed above. Macau S.A.R. also qualifies and is listed below (Europe).
- (3) Persons born in the areas administered prior to June 1967 by Israel, Jordan, and Syria are chargeable, respectively, to Israel, Jordan, and Syria.

Europe	Albania	Liechtenstein
	Andorra	Lithuania
	Armenia	Luxembourg
	Austria	Macedonia
	Azerbaijan	Malta
	Belarus	Moldova
	Belgium	Monaco
	Bosnia and Herzegovina	Montenegro
	Bulgaria	Netherlands (and territories)
	Croatia	Northern Ireland

Cyprus	Norway
Czech Republic	Portugal (and territories)
Denmark (and territories)	Romania
Estonia	Russia
Finland	San Marino
France and DOM-TOMs	Serbia
Georgia	Slovakia
Germany	Slovenia
Greece	Spain
Hungary	Sweden
Iceland	Switzerland
Ireland	Turkey
Italy	Ukraine
Kosovo	Vatican City
Latvia	

- (1) Natives of the following European countries are **not** eligible for this year's diversity program: Great Britain (United Kingdom) and Poland.
- (2) Great Britain (United Kingdom) includes the following dependent areas:
 Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn, St. Helena, and Turks and Caicos Islands.
- (3) Note that for purposes of the diversity program only, Northern Ireland is treated separately; Northern Ireland **does qualify** and is listed among the qualifying areas.

North America	The Bahamas

(1) In North America, natives of Canada and Mexico are **not** eligible for this year's diversity program.

Oceania	Australia (and territories)	Palau
	Fiji	Papua New Guinea
	Kiribati	Samoa
	Marshall Islands	Solomon Islands
	Micronesia	Tonga
	Federated States of Nauru	Tuvalu
	New Zealand (and territories)	Vanuatu

South and Central America and the	Antigua and Barbuda	Honduras
Caribbean	Argentina	Nicaragua
	Barbados	Panama
	Belize	Paraguay

	Bolivia	Saint Kitts and Nevis
	Chile	Saint Lucia
	Costa Rica	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
	Cuba	Suriname
	Dominica	Trinidad and Tobago
	Grenada	Uruguay
	Guyana	Venezuela

⁽¹⁾ Countries in this region whose natives are **not** eligible for this year's diversity program:
Brazil, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Jamaica, Mexico, and Peru.