

H.Res. 475 - Congratulating the University of Arizona Wildcats for winning the 2007 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Softball Championship

Floor Situation

H.Res. 475 is being considered on the floor under suspension of the rules and will require a two-thirds majority vote for passage. This legislation was introduced by Rep. Raul Grijalva (D-AZ) on June 11, 2007. The bill was ordered to be reported from the Committee on Education and Labor.

H.Res. 475 is expected to be considered on the floor on June 18, 2007.

Summary

H.Res. 475 congratulates the University of Arizona Wildcats on their victory in the National Collegiate Athletic Association 2007 Division I Women's College World Series Softball Championship.

Background

On June 6, 2007, the University of Arizona Wildcats defeated the University of Tennessee Lady Volunteers to win the 2007 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Women's College World Series Softball Championship, their eighth such title since 1991.

Led by coach Mike Candrea, who has taken the Wildcats to the College World Series 19 times in the last 20 years, and including Taryne Mowatt, Kristie Fox, Jenae Leles, and Caitlin Lowe the Wildcats defeated the Lady Tennesse Vols 5-0, to win their 8th Women's College World Series Softball Championship.

Staff Contact

For questions or further information contact Luke Hatzis at (202) 226-2302.