Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

December 6, 2012

Dear Speaker Boehner:

We are writing to inform you that we will oppose including Social Security cuts for future or current beneficiaries in any deficit reduction package.

Under long-standing federal law, Social Security is not part of the federal budget and cannot contribute to the federal deficit. This reflects Social Security's structure as an independent, self-financed insurance program, in which worker contributions, not general taxes, finance benefits. In our view, it is essential that Social Security's status as a separate entity be fully maintained.

Contrary to some claims, Social Security is not the cause of our nation's deficit problem. Not only does the program operate independently, but it is prohibited from borrowing. Social Security must pay all benefits from its own trust fund. If there are insufficient funds to pay out full benefits, benefits are automatically reduced to the level supported by the program's own revenues. Social Security cannot drive up the deficit by tapping general revenues to pay benefits. Additionally, it is important to note that over its lifetime, Social Security has collected and earned \$15.5 trillion and only paid out \$12.9 trillion in benefits.

Even though Social Security operates in a fiscally responsible manner, some still advocate deep benefit cuts and seem convinced that Social Security hands out lavish welfare checks. But Social Security is not welfare. Seniors earned their benefits by working hard and paying into the system. Meanwhile, the average monthly Social Security benefit for seniors is only about \$1,200, quite low by international standards.

For all these reasons, we believe it would be a serious mistake to cut Social Security benefits for current or future beneficiaries as part of a deficit reduction package. To be sure, Social Security has its own long-term challenges that will need to be addressed in the decades ahead. But the budget and Social Security are separate and should be considered separately.

Thank you for your consideration of our views.

Sincerely

Keith Ellison

Member of Congress

Joseph Crowley/

Member of Corgress

John Conyers, Jr.

Member of Congress

Joe Courtney

Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva

Member of Congress

Gary J. Ackerman Member of Congress	André Carson Member of Congress
Joe Baca Member of Congress	Kathy Castor Kathy Castor Member of Congress
Shelley Berkley Member of Congress	Judy Chu Member of Congress
Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress	David N. Cicilline Member of Congress
Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress	Hansen Clarke Member of Congress
Robert A. Brady Member of Congress	Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress
Corrine Brown Member of Congress	William Lacy Clay Member of Congress
G.K. Butterfield Member of Congress	Emanuel Cleaver Member of Congress
Lois Capps Member of Congress	Steve Cohen Member of Congress

A ALA	
Carolo Castolo	(nno S S
Ferry R. Costello	Anna G. Eshoo
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
11	
V (X	and and
Mark S. Critz	Falsonwacy 2
Member of Congress	Eni F. H. Faleomavaega Member of Congress
individual of Congress	without of congress
Flint + 1.	() () ()
Eligh F. Curany	who tilled,
Elljan E. Cummings	Chaka Fattah
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
	0 /
land a Cura	Surlah
David Alan Curson	Barney Frank
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Dunny & Davis	On . I Day
Danny K. Davis	Marcia L. Fudge
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
Mallott of edgless	A
11/2/16/	John faranondi
My My	YOUN
Peter A. DeFazio	ohn Garamendi
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
	9 9
Kosa L DeJauro	Use Dron
Rosa L. DeLauro	Gene Green
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
() (+ LI	- Horse
III ON WATER	(MI ////)
Theodore E. Deutch	Luis V. Gutierrez
Member of Congress	Member of Congress
	f and the state of
12 7/1 di	
Lomat Edwards	
Donna F. Edwards	Colleen W. Hanabusa
Member of Congress	Member of Congress

alce Hading
Alcee L. Hastings
Member of Congress
Mann Didy
Maurice D. Hinchey
Member of Congress
Rubin Flerogisa
Rubén Hinojosa
Member of Congress
Rush Holt
Rush Holt
Member of Congress
Michael M. Hard
Michael M. Honda
Member of Congress
Audky Ass
Sheila Jackson Lee
Member of Congress
0160
Mon Shispy
Henry C. "Hank" Johnson
Member of Congress
Junta Kahtus.
Marcy Kaptyr
Member of Congress
l congress
Jamis Kuzuirl
Dennis J. Kucinich
Member of Congress

James R. Langevin
Member of Congress John B. Lam Lot B. Laman
John B. Larson Member of Congress
Barbara Lee Member of Congress
John Lewis
Member of Congress
David Loebsack Member of Congress
Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress
Nita M. Lowey Member of Congress
Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress
Carolyn B. Maloney Member of Congress

Edward J. Markey Member of Congress	James P. Moran Member of Congress
Don's O. Matsui Doris O. Matsui Member of Congress	Christopher S. Murphy Member of Congress
Carolyn McCarthy Member of Congress	Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress
betty McCollum Member of Congress	Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress
Jim McDermott Member of Congress	John W. Olver Member of Congress
James P. McGovern Member of Congress	William L. Owens Member of Congress
Michael H. Michael Member of Congress	Ed Pastor Member of Congress
George Miller Member of Congress	Chellie Pingree Member of Congress
Gwen Moore Member of Congress	Nick J. Rahall, II Member of Congress

Charles B. Rangel Member of Congress Laura Richardson Member of Congress	Jan ce D. Schakowsky Member of Congress Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress
Cedric L. Richmond Member of Congress	Robert C. Scott Member of Congress
Lucille Roybal Allard Member of Congress	José É Serrano Member of Congress
Fobby L. Rush Member of Congress	Albio Sires Member of Congress
Tim Ryan Member of Congress	Louise McIntosh Slaughter Member of Congress
Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan Member of Congress	Tackie Speier Member of Congress
Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress	Fortney Pete Stark Member of Congress
Loretta Sanchez Member of Congress	Bennie G. Thompson Member of Congress

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

John F. Tierney Member of Congress

Edolphus Towns Member of Congress

Maxine Waters

Member of Congress

Peter Welch

Member of Congress

Lynn C. Woolsey Member of Congress

John A. Yarmuth Member of Congres