Charting Health Information for Texas
A comprehensive collection of links to publicly available, geographically discrete health data for the state of Texas from reliable and authoritative providers of information.
County Health Rankings
From the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, County Health Rankings includes motality, mobidity, health behaviors, critical care, social & economic factors, and physical environment for every county in the US.
A comprehensive collection of links to publicly available, geographically discrete health data for the state of Texas from reliable and authoritative providers of information.
County Health Rankings
From the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, County Health Rankings includes motality, mobidity, health behaviors, critical care, social & economic factors, and physical environment for every county in the US.
Guttmacher Institute
Topics include reproductive health, contraception, abortion, teen pregnancy and state policies.
Healthy North Texas
Healthy North Texas is a web-based source of community health and population data from the DFWHC Foundation.
Rand Texas Statistics
Texas statisticis available for business, economics, community, education, energy, environment, government, health, socioeconomic, population, and demographics.
State Snapshots
The State Snapshots provide State-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help State officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their State. From the US Department of Health & Human Services Agency for Healthcare
Research & Quality.
Tarrant County Public Health
Statistics on a variety of chronic diseases for the Tarrant County area. If statistics you are looking for are not found here, call the health department. Often they will be able to supply the statistics you need.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The AHRQ is a division of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, and it is the lead federal agency for research on health care quality, costs, outcomes, and patient safety. Their site is a good source for national health statistics and includes evidence-based practice reports, conference presentations, an online newsletter, and much more.
America's Health Rankings
America's Health Rankings is the longest running annual assessment of the nation's health on a state-by-state basis.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
The world's largest ongoing telephone health survey system, which has been tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States since 1984. The site features sample questionnaires, interactive databases, quick comparison charts, and downloadable data files.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Latest statistics and reports on Medicare & Medicaid including hospital reports, enrollment data, national health expenditures, reimbursement reports and research reports. Can be searched by provider type.
Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI)
The CHSI report contains over 200 measures for each of the 3,141 United States counties. Although CHSI presents indicators like deaths due to heart disease and cancer, it is imperative to understand that behavioral factors such as tobacco use, diet, physical activity, alcohol and drug use, sexual behavior and others substantially contribute to these deaths.
Fedstats
Interactive portal for statistics from various government agencies including agriculture, crime, demographics, economics, education, energy, evironment, health, income, labor, safety and transportation.
HCUPNet: A Tool for Identifying & Analyzing National Hospital Statistics
HCUPNet is a free, online query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization. This includes the Kids Inpatient Database (KID) for national estimates on use of hospitals by children (0-17 years).
Kids Count
Contains state-level data for more than 75 measures of child well-being such as education, health, health insurance, family characteristics, immigrant children, poverty, and youth risk factors.
Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
Weekly epidemiological digest for the United States published by the CDC. Links to past reports and to state health statistics can be found on this site.
National Center for Health Statistics
Statistics database of health-related topics from the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention.
National Library of Medicine - MedlinePlus - Health Statistics
This website provides access to statistical information on a variety of topics. It also lists directories, organizations, and the latest news relating to health statistics.
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
SAMHSA provides the latest national data on alcohol, tobacco, marijuana and other drug abuse.
United States Census Bureau Fact Finder
Source for population, housing, economic, and geographical data for the United States.
USDA State Fact Sheets
State fact sheets provide information on population, employment, income, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, and top commodities, exports, and counties for each state in the United States.
The AHRQ is a division of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, and it is the lead federal agency for research on health care quality, costs, outcomes, and patient safety. Their site is a good source for national health statistics and includes evidence-based practice reports, conference presentations, an online newsletter, and much more.
America's Health Rankings
America's Health Rankings is the longest running annual assessment of the nation's health on a state-by-state basis.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
The world's largest ongoing telephone health survey system, which has been tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States since 1984. The site features sample questionnaires, interactive databases, quick comparison charts, and downloadable data files.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Latest statistics and reports on Medicare & Medicaid including hospital reports, enrollment data, national health expenditures, reimbursement reports and research reports. Can be searched by provider type.
Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI)
The CHSI report contains over 200 measures for each of the 3,141 United States counties. Although CHSI presents indicators like deaths due to heart disease and cancer, it is imperative to understand that behavioral factors such as tobacco use, diet, physical activity, alcohol and drug use, sexual behavior and others substantially contribute to these deaths.
Fedstats
Interactive portal for statistics from various government agencies including agriculture, crime, demographics, economics, education, energy, evironment, health, income, labor, safety and transportation.
HCUPNet: A Tool for Identifying & Analyzing National Hospital Statistics
HCUPNet is a free, online query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization. This includes the Kids Inpatient Database (KID) for national estimates on use of hospitals by children (0-17 years).
Kids Count
Contains state-level data for more than 75 measures of child well-being such as education, health, health insurance, family characteristics, immigrant children, poverty, and youth risk factors.
Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
Weekly epidemiological digest for the United States published by the CDC. Links to past reports and to state health statistics can be found on this site.
National Center for Health Statistics
Statistics database of health-related topics from the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention.
National Library of Medicine - MedlinePlus - Health Statistics
This website provides access to statistical information on a variety of topics. It also lists directories, organizations, and the latest news relating to health statistics.
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
SAMHSA provides the latest national data on alcohol, tobacco, marijuana and other drug abuse.
United States Census Bureau Fact Finder
Source for population, housing, economic, and geographical data for the United States.
USDA State Fact Sheets
State fact sheets provide information on population, employment, income, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, and top commodities, exports, and counties for each state in the United States.
Global Health Facts
From the Kaiser Family Foundation, Global Health Facts is an online gateway for the latest data and information on the U.S. role in global health.
Global School-Based Student Health Survey
Survey includes data on a number of topics, including dietary behaviors, injuries and violence, physical activity, mental health, tobacco use, and hygiene.
World Health Organization Global Infobase
The WHO Global InfoBase is a data warehouse that collects, stores and displays information on chronic diseases and their risk factors for all WHO member states.
From the Kaiser Family Foundation, Global Health Facts is an online gateway for the latest data and information on the U.S. role in global health.
Global School-Based Student Health Survey
Survey includes data on a number of topics, including dietary behaviors, injuries and violence, physical activity, mental health, tobacco use, and hygiene.
World Health Organization Global Health Observatory (GHO)
The most recent statistics from the World Health Organization's 192 member states. Topics include core health indicators, mortality and health status, disease statistics, health systems, risk factors and health service coverages, and inequities in health.World Health Organization Global Infobase
The WHO Global InfoBase is a data warehouse that collects, stores and displays information on chronic diseases and their risk factors for all WHO member states.
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
- Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
- Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302. We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian.
- Use the Ask a Librarian form. Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
Kathy Broyles
Reference Librarian
(817) 735-2591
= access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
= some full text
= searchable images
= video content
= audio content