Global Health
Provides international coverage of all aspects of public health drawn from more than 3,500 serials as well as books, conference proceedings, theses, and patents. Contains 1.2 million records of which 40% are unique to this database. Records date from 1973 to the present. Disasters, terrorism and biological warfare are topics included in Global Health.
PubMed
PubMed, from the National Library of Medicine, contains more than 21 million citations dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided. Just a few of the effective, topical search terms are disaster medicine, disaster planning or bioterrorism. Enter PubMed from the Lewis Library website and you'll tap into the library's subscriptions to electronic journals, allowing you access to much more full text than if you had entered PubMed on the open web.
TOXNET
The Toxicology Data Network, TOXNET, is a portal for searching U.S. government databases to find reliable information on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. All databases can be searched together, with the results broken out by database, or they can be searched separately. TOXNET is provided by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the National Library of Medicine.
(REMM) Radiation Emergency Medical Management
This app from the National Library of Medicine provides health care providers with guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of radiation injuries during emergencies. Available for multiple types of mobile devices, including Windows Mobile, Apple iPhone and iPod touch (iPad compatible), Android and Blackberry.
Wireless System for Emergency Responders (WISER)
WISER assists emergency responders in hazardous materials incidents. Available for multiple types of mobile devices including Windows Mobile, Apple iPhone and iPod touch (iPad compatible), Palm OS PDAs, and Blackberry (Internet connectivity required) devices.
This app from the National Library of Medicine provides health care providers with guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of radiation injuries during emergencies. Available for multiple types of mobile devices, including Windows Mobile, Apple iPhone and iPod touch (iPad compatible), Android and Blackberry.
Wireless System for Emergency Responders (WISER)
WISER assists emergency responders in hazardous materials incidents. Available for multiple types of mobile devices including Windows Mobile, Apple iPhone and iPod touch (iPad compatible), Palm OS PDAs, and Blackberry (Internet connectivity required) devices.
Advance Practice Centers Toolkit
Tools to help local health departments strengthen bioterrorism planning and response capability.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Bioterrorism Planning and Response
The AHRQ is a division of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. This site contains reports and resources on disaster management and emergency preparedness and includes community planning tools, surge models, evidence-based research reports, and research activities.
American College of Physicians Bioterrorism and Disaster Preparedness Resources
The ACP provides information on bioterrorism, including decision support and self-assessment tools for all practicing physicians and health care professionals.
The Borden Institute, Textbooks of Military Medicine
The Borden Institute, an agency of the U.S. Army Medical Department Center and School, publishes the Textbooks of Military Medicine. The PDF files of searchable textbook volumes are available and cover diverse topics from bioterrorism to care of combat injuries.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Emergency Preparedness and Response
Information on terrorism and public health provided by the CDC includes links to agents, diseases, other threats, preparation, training and education, decision protocols in flowchart form, and clinician resources.
Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy, University of Minnesota
News and links to articles and reports on general bioterrorism and CDC Category A agents.
CHEMM - Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management
CHEMM is a website designed to enable first responders, first receivers, other healthcare providers, and planners to plan for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of mass-casualty incidents involving chemicals
Children and Disasters: Is Your State Prepared?
Children represent nearly 25 percent of the population, yet according to the National Commission on Children and Disasters, the unique needs of children often are overlooked or misunderstood in disaster planning and management.
DisasterAssistance.gov
The President's interagency and intergovernmental disaster preparedness and response portal where citizens, emergency responders, and government officials can find the latest disaster related news, information, and resources.
National Library of Medicine Specialized Information Services: Disaster Information Management Center
Lists numerous resources for disaster preparedness and response. Topics include hurricanes, crude oil spills, wildfires, biological and chemical warfare agents, and more. It has information for first responders and links on environmental cleanup and recovery, with some materials available in Spanish.
Public Health Preparedness and Response Core Competency Model
The Association of Schools of Public Health offers this model for core curricula and training. The model creates performance benchmarks to measure the preparedness levels of public health programs.
Tools to help local health departments strengthen bioterrorism planning and response capability.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Bioterrorism Planning and Response
The AHRQ is a division of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. This site contains reports and resources on disaster management and emergency preparedness and includes community planning tools, surge models, evidence-based research reports, and research activities.
American College of Physicians Bioterrorism and Disaster Preparedness Resources
The ACP provides information on bioterrorism, including decision support and self-assessment tools for all practicing physicians and health care professionals.
The Borden Institute, Textbooks of Military Medicine
The Borden Institute, an agency of the U.S. Army Medical Department Center and School, publishes the Textbooks of Military Medicine. The PDF files of searchable textbook volumes are available and cover diverse topics from bioterrorism to care of combat injuries.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Emergency Preparedness and Response
Information on terrorism and public health provided by the CDC includes links to agents, diseases, other threats, preparation, training and education, decision protocols in flowchart form, and clinician resources.
Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy, University of Minnesota
News and links to articles and reports on general bioterrorism and CDC Category A agents.
CHEMM - Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management
CHEMM is a website designed to enable first responders, first receivers, other healthcare providers, and planners to plan for, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the effects of mass-casualty incidents involving chemicals
CHEMM is a comprehensive, user-friendly, web-based resource that is also downloadable in advance, so that it would be available during an event if the internet is not accessible
Children and Disasters: Is Your State Prepared?
Children represent nearly 25 percent of the population, yet according to the National Commission on Children and Disasters, the unique needs of children often are overlooked or misunderstood in disaster planning and management.
DisasterAssistance.gov
The President's interagency and intergovernmental disaster preparedness and response portal where citizens, emergency responders, and government officials can find the latest disaster related news, information, and resources.
National Library of Medicine Specialized Information Services: Disaster Information Management Center
Lists numerous resources for disaster preparedness and response. Topics include hurricanes, crude oil spills, wildfires, biological and chemical warfare agents, and more. It has information for first responders and links on environmental cleanup and recovery, with some materials available in Spanish.
Public Health Preparedness and Response Core Competency Model
The Association of Schools of Public Health offers this model for core curricula and training. The model creates performance benchmarks to measure the preparedness levels of public health programs.
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
- Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
- Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302. We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian.
- Use the Ask a Librarian form. Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
Andi Spencer
Outreach Librarian
(817) 735-2469
= access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
= some full text
= searchable images
= video content
= audio content