RefWorks
Lewis Library provides access to RefWorks for UNTHSC students, faculty, and staff members. RefWorks is an online reference management tool that supports research, writing, and collaboration. RefWorks is a time-saving citation management software program that stores articles that you locate in online databases and instantly generates in-line citations and bibliographies in hundreds of different citation styles at the push of a button. You can access your RefWorks account from anywhere, for free, courtesy of Lewis Library.
Lewis Library provides access to RefWorks for UNTHSC students, faculty, and staff members. RefWorks is an online reference management tool that supports research, writing, and collaboration. RefWorks is a time-saving citation management software program that stores articles that you locate in online databases and instantly generates in-line citations and bibliographies in hundreds of different citation styles at the push of a button. You can access your RefWorks account from anywhere, for free, courtesy of Lewis Library.
Bartleby
A variety of general resources that include Columbia Encyclopedia, Roget's Thesaurus, Bartlett's Quotations, and Gray's Anatomy.
A variety of general resources that include Columbia Encyclopedia, Roget's Thesaurus, Bartlett's Quotations, and Gray's Anatomy.
Evaluating Information Found on the Internet
From Johns Hopkins University, this website discusses what things to consider when trying to decide if the information on a website is reliable.
Evaluating Internet Health Information: a tutorial from the National Library of Medicine
The tutorial teaches you how to evaluate the health information that you find on the Web. It is about 16 minutes long.
Evaluating Web Pages
Tutorial from the University of California at Berkeley that discusses how to find what you need on a web page and how to know if the information is to be trusted.
Jane, Journal/Author Name Estimator
Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure to which journal you should submit it? Or maybe you want to find relevant articles to cite in your paper? Or are you an editor, and do you need to find reviewers for a particular paper? Jane can help!
Merriam-Webster Online
Online dictionary, thesaurus, Spanish-English, and medical.
UNTHSC Subject Guide: Plagiarism
This guide provides sources on plagiarism that are found on the Internet. Please note that many of these websites refer to policies and consequences that are specific to their own institution. For UNTHSC's policies concerning plagiarism, please see the Student Code of Conduct & Discipline.
Deakin University Library
Guideline describing literature reviews. Also explains why and how to conduct a review.
University of California Santa Cruz Library
Lists the components of a review, the purpose for conducting a review and provides sample reviews.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Writing Center
Describes how and why to write a review including strategies for constructing the review.
University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center
Guideline describing how to write a review of the literature.
Guideline describing literature reviews. Also explains why and how to conduct a review.
University of California Santa Cruz Library
Lists the components of a review, the purpose for conducting a review and provides sample reviews.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Writing Center
Describes how and why to write a review including strategies for constructing the review.
University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center
Guideline describing how to write a review of the literature.
Catalog search for style manuals
Catalog search for writing guides
How to Write, Publish, & Present in the Health Science
How to Report Statistics in Medicine
Dartmouth Writing Program
From Dartmouth University, this guide discusses academic papers, topics, research, developing your thesis, writing and revision.
Online Writing Lab - Purdue
Writing lab from Purdue University. Topics include the writing process, professional, technical and scientific writing, general academic writing, research, and citation.
Paradigm Online Writing Assistant
Paradigm is an extensive online writer's guide and handbook. It is intended to be useful for all writers, from inexperienced to advanced.
University Reading & Writing
From the Simon Fraser University, British Columbia, Canada. Topics include writing tools & guides, how to pick a topic, grammar, sentence structure & punctuation and how to cite resources
Writing Center - The Writing Process
From Cleveland State University. Topics include critical thinking, thesis, organization, revision, and documentation.
From Dartmouth University, this guide discusses academic papers, topics, research, developing your thesis, writing and revision.
Online Writing Lab - Purdue
Writing lab from Purdue University. Topics include the writing process, professional, technical and scientific writing, general academic writing, research, and citation.
Paradigm Online Writing Assistant
Paradigm is an extensive online writer's guide and handbook. It is intended to be useful for all writers, from inexperienced to advanced.
University Reading & Writing
From the Simon Fraser University, British Columbia, Canada. Topics include writing tools & guides, how to pick a topic, grammar, sentence structure & punctuation and how to cite resources
Writing Center - The Writing Process
From Cleveland State University. Topics include critical thinking, thesis, organization, revision, and documentation.
A style manual or guide illustrates the accepted format for citing your references in term papers, theses, articles, etc.
AMA manual of style [electronic resource] : a guide for authors and editors
Browse or search the full text of the 10th edition
Convert units of measure without a calculator
Test your editing skills with our style quizzes
Access Web-only tips and word usage commentaries from the editors at JAMA and the Archives Journals
AMA manual of style [electronic resource] : a guide for authors and editors
Browse or search the full text of the 10th edition
Convert units of measure without a calculator
Test your editing skills with our style quizzes
Access Web-only tips and word usage commentaries from the editors at JAMA and the Archives Journals
AMA Style Guide - What's New
Preface to the 10th edition of the AMA Writing Style Guide
APA/Chicago/MLA for the modern student
A practical guide for citing internet and book resources
Preface to the 10th edition of the AMA Writing Style Guide
APA/Chicago/MLA for the modern student
A practical guide for citing internet and book resources
From the publishers of the APA Style Manual to help clarify frequent areas of confusion.
APA style guide to electronic references
APA style guide to electronic references
Chicago Manual of Style
A manual with state-of-the-art recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices in the digital age. Sixteenth edition published by the University of Chicago Press.
CiteFast
This site generates the citation for you using your preferred style guide.
Citing Medicine, 2nd ed., 2007-
The NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers, provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.
Easy Bib
Formats in APA, MLA, Turabian, and Chicago styles.
Grammarly
Grammarly is an automated proofreader and your personal grammar coach. Check your writing for grammar, punctuation, style and much more.
Turabian Quick Guide
Son of Citation Machine
Citation machine helps students and professional researchers to properly credit the information that they use. Formats in APA, MLA, Turabian, and Chicago styles.
A manual with state-of-the-art recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices in the digital age. Sixteenth edition published by the University of Chicago Press.
CiteFast
This site generates the citation for you using your preferred style guide.
Citing Medicine, 2nd ed., 2007-
The NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers, provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.
Easy Bib
Formats in APA, MLA, Turabian, and Chicago styles.
Grammarly
Grammarly is an automated proofreader and your personal grammar coach. Check your writing for grammar, punctuation, style and much more.
Turabian Quick Guide
Son of Citation Machine
Citation machine helps students and professional researchers to properly credit the information that they use. Formats in APA, MLA, Turabian, and Chicago styles.
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
- Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
- Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302. We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian.
- Use the Ask a Librarian form. Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
Michele Whitehead
Instruction Librarian
(817) 735-2590
= access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
= some full text
= searchable images
= video content
= audio content