The Internet is an excellent source of health-related images and many images are freely available for the purposes of teaching, studying, presenting and other educational activities. However, the use of images, even for educational purposes, is governed by the stated terms of use of each site and subject to U.S. Copyright Law. Permission may need to be obtained to use images in teaching and presenting and utilizing images for the purpose of publication commonly necessitates permission from the publisher or copyright holder.
AccessMedicine 
A rich source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Contains the full text of more than 60 medical books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's The Heart, and the LANGE Basic Science and Clinical Science Series. Access Medicine also includes an impressive audio-visual index of clinical and biomedical images, graphs, sound recordings and videos, including an Image of the Day and Video of the Day section.
AccessPhysiotherapy
Integrates a wide variety of high-quality resources for the study of physical therapy: textbooks, images, animations and videos, drug information, lectures, references to primary literature, and more. Search by keywords or browse the content by core topic, modality, or therapeutic goal. Students can choose practice tests based on selected textbooks or on the National Physical Therapy Examination. Orthopedic Case Studies provide yet another avenue for learning.
Clinical Key
Clinical Key combines 12 types of content to support evidence-based clinical care. It covers all medical and surgical specialties, and provides access to more than 900 current-edition books; 500 top journals; thousands of images, illustrations, and videos; drug monographs; and more. After creating a personal account, users can build a reading list, save searches, and use the features of the Presentation Maker.
Goldminer
Goldminer is a radiological image database that provides access to approximately 250,000 images from 262 peer-reviewed journals. Search by keywords or by medical terms such as the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. Searches can be limited by age, gender, imaging technique, or anatomy. Goldminer is mobile device-friendly. It is provided by the American Roentgen Ray Society, and is free for personal, non-commerical use.
SpringerImages
Through this user-friendly interface, researchers can access more than 280,000 scientific images drawn from Springer publications, images.MD, and other sources. These include clinical images, tables, figures, line art, and more. A variety of limits, such as image type and subject area, can be applied to quickly find relevant results. Once logged in, users can create image sets and easily download them in .pdf or PowerPoint format. Lewis Library does not have a full subscription; to see only the images available for download, check the "accessible images" box either before or after conducting a search.
A rich source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Contains the full text of more than 60 medical books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's The Heart, and the LANGE Basic Science and Clinical Science Series. Access Medicine also includes an impressive audio-visual index of clinical and biomedical images, graphs, sound recordings and videos, including an Image of the Day and Video of the Day section.
AccessPhysiotherapy
Integrates a wide variety of high-quality resources for the study of physical therapy: textbooks, images, animations and videos, drug information, lectures, references to primary literature, and more. Search by keywords or browse the content by core topic, modality, or therapeutic goal. Students can choose practice tests based on selected textbooks or on the National Physical Therapy Examination. Orthopedic Case Studies provide yet another avenue for learning.
Clinical Key
Clinical Key combines 12 types of content to support evidence-based clinical care. It covers all medical and surgical specialties, and provides access to more than 900 current-edition books; 500 top journals; thousands of images, illustrations, and videos; drug monographs; and more. After creating a personal account, users can build a reading list, save searches, and use the features of the Presentation Maker.
Goldminer
Goldminer is a radiological image database that provides access to approximately 250,000 images from 262 peer-reviewed journals. Search by keywords or by medical terms such as the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine. Searches can be limited by age, gender, imaging technique, or anatomy. Goldminer is mobile device-friendly. It is provided by the American Roentgen Ray Society, and is free for personal, non-commerical use.
SpringerImages
Through this user-friendly interface, researchers can access more than 280,000 scientific images drawn from Springer publications, images.MD, and other sources. These include clinical images, tables, figures, line art, and more. A variety of limits, such as image type and subject area, can be applied to quickly find relevant results. Once logged in, users can create image sets and easily download them in .pdf or PowerPoint format. Lewis Library does not have a full subscription; to see only the images available for download, check the "accessible images" box either before or after conducting a search.
This site, developed Drs. Kathleen K. Sulik and Peter R. Bream Jr., utilizes scanning electron micrographs (SEM’s) as the primary vehicle for teaching mammalian embryology.
The Multi-Dimensional Human Embryo project chronicles the growth of the human embryo through the Carnegie stages of embryonic development via MRI images, animations and photos.
The Atlas, created by Dr. Aulikki Kokko-Cunningham, M.D., contains over 1000 histological features complete with labels and descriptions.
The American Society of Hematology maintains this comprehensive collection of over 2,100 hematology-related images. New images are added each month.
Created and maintained by the Michigan State University Brain Biodiversity Bank, the Human Brain Atlas contains an extensive collection of MRI and slide images of the human brain as well as those of various animals.
The National Cancer Institute Visuals Online includes over 2,500 biomedical images, many cancer-related.
The National Eye Institute website includes a searchable image gallery of ophthalmology-related images.
The ECG Learning Center is a complete online ECG tutorial with ECG images, explanations and tests as well as a description of American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association minimal ECG clinical competencies.
This site contains over 22,000 images and 300 videos, all dermatology-related.
Developed by the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention Center for Global Health, the Parasite Image Library documents parasites of public health concern.
A Working Group at the CDC compiled this gallery of public health-related images arranged hierarchically by people, places and science.
The Yale Image Finder searches the over 440,000 Open Access images in PubMed Central.
Part of the National Library of Medicine’s Visible Human Project, AnatQuest displays cryosectional human anatomical images.
The University of Toronto has digitized over 4,500 anatomical illustrations from the sixteenth through nineteenth centuries.
The Internet Pathology Laboratory includes over 2,700 images of gross and microscopic pathology findings as well as tutorials and practice exams on the subject.
This database of pathology images can be searched by topography, keyword, image type or diagnosis.
NYU Virtual Microscope
Created by the NYU School of Medicine, the Virtual Microscope displays slides related to histology, parasitology, pathology and more as well as practice exams and the ability to create slide collections for educaitonal use.
DermAtlas
DermAtlas contains over 12,000 dermatology-related images, advanced searching capabilities, practice quizzes and a differential diagnosis tool.
NYU Virtual Microscope
Created by the NYU School of Medicine, the Virtual Microscope displays slides related to histology, parasitology, pathology and more as well as practice exams and the ability to create slide collections for educaitonal use.
DermAtlas
DermAtlas contains over 12,000 dermatology-related images, advanced searching capabilities, practice quizzes and a differential diagnosis tool.
Encyclopedia of Life
Sponsored by Harvard, the Smithsonian and the Biodiversity Heritage Library, among others, the EOL features photos, videos, maps and encyclopedia entries of plants, animals and microorganisms from around the world.
Sponsored by the University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine, this site includes numerous heart and lung surgery videos.
This series addresses a variety of topics in clinical medicine including examination, sedation, diagnosis, surgical procedures and more.
Created by the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health, MedlinePlus is an authoritative source of consumer health information.
Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy
Dr. Frank Henry Netter's illustrations have informed medical education since their initial publication in 1953. Long considered a classic within the field, the fifth edition emphasizes anatomy from a clinical perspective by incorporating diagnostic images for the first time. Additionally, new cross sectional anatomy plates were added to recent editions by Dr. Carlos Guimaraes Machado. Currently, the online version of Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy is limited to single user access. Please note that users will be logged off after 15 minutes of inactivity.
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
- Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
- Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302. We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian.
- Use the Ask a Librarian form. Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
Alexis Ackel
Electronic Resources Librarian
(817) 735-2247
= access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
= some full text
= searchable images
= video content
= audio content