National Guideline Clearinghouse
Searchable site offering structured summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Allows for side-by-side comparison of similar guidelines from different organizations. Provides citations to each guideline’s original source and links to electronic full-text if possible. Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.
Searchable site offering structured summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Allows for side-by-side comparison of similar guidelines from different organizations. Provides citations to each guideline’s original source and links to electronic full-text if possible. Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.
AccessMedicine 
A rich source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Contains the full text of more than 60 medical books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's The Heart, and the LANGE Basic Science and Clinical Science Series. Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2007 is one of the many textbooks offered.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)
HSTAT is a free, Web-based resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health care decision-making. HSTAT's audience includes health care providers, health service researchers, policymakers, payers, consumers and the information professionals who serve these groups. HSTAT is also on the NCBI Bookshelf, accessible through PubMed.
PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. PubMed contains approximately 20 million citations, dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided. PubMed also has useful tools and features such as Clinical and Special Queries, a Citation Matcher, and links to related articles.
The Guide to Clinical Preventive Services includes U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations on screening, counseling, and preventive medication topics and includes clinical considerations for each topic. This new pocket guide is an authoritative source for making decisions about preventive services. The Task Force is the leading independent panel of private-sector experts in prevention and primary care. The pocket guide covers all USPSTF recommendations from 2002 through March 2009.
A rich source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Contains the full text of more than 60 medical books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's The Heart, and the LANGE Basic Science and Clinical Science Series. Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2007 is one of the many textbooks offered.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)
HSTAT is a free, Web-based resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health care decision-making. HSTAT's audience includes health care providers, health service researchers, policymakers, payers, consumers and the information professionals who serve these groups. HSTAT is also on the NCBI Bookshelf, accessible through PubMed.
PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. PubMed contains approximately 20 million citations, dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided. PubMed also has useful tools and features such as Clinical and Special Queries, a Citation Matcher, and links to related articles.
The Guide to Clinical Preventive Services
The Guide to Clinical Preventive Services includes U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recommendations on screening, counseling, and preventive medication topics and includes clinical considerations for each topic. This new pocket guide is an authoritative source for making decisions about preventive services. The Task Force is the leading independent panel of private-sector experts in prevention and primary care. The pocket guide covers all USPSTF recommendations from 2002 through March 2009.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The AHRQ is a division of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, and it is the lead federal agency for research on health care quality, costs, outcomes, and patient safety. AHRQ has developed 19 clinical practice guidelines, each with a corresponding Quick Reference Guide for Clinicians and a Consumer version in English and Spanish.
American Academy of Family Physicians
The American Academy of Family Physicians, representing family physicians, family medicine residents, and medical students nationwide, provides access to policy statements and clinical practice guidelines. AAFP Clinical Recommendations can be found concerning cardiovascular health, children, diabetes, immunizations, infectious diseases, and obstetrics.
American College of Physicians
ACP provides evidence-based Clinical Practice Guidelines covering many areas of internal medicine, including screening for cancer or other major diseases, diagnosis, treatment, and medical technology. Recommendation Summaries for all current ACP Clinical Guidelines can be downloaded to mobile devices.
Canadian Medical Association
The CMA Journal publishes original research and review articles, practice updates, and clinical practice guidelines. An archive of Clinical Practice Guidelines published in the CMAJ is organized by year and topic, going back to 1992.
The AHRQ is a division of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, and it is the lead federal agency for research on health care quality, costs, outcomes, and patient safety. AHRQ has developed 19 clinical practice guidelines, each with a corresponding Quick Reference Guide for Clinicians and a Consumer version in English and Spanish.
American Academy of Family Physicians
The American Academy of Family Physicians, representing family physicians, family medicine residents, and medical students nationwide, provides access to policy statements and clinical practice guidelines. AAFP Clinical Recommendations can be found concerning cardiovascular health, children, diabetes, immunizations, infectious diseases, and obstetrics.
American College of Physicians
ACP provides evidence-based Clinical Practice Guidelines covering many areas of internal medicine, including screening for cancer or other major diseases, diagnosis, treatment, and medical technology. Recommendation Summaries for all current ACP Clinical Guidelines can be downloaded to mobile devices.
Canadian Medical Association
The CMA Journal publishes original research and review articles, practice updates, and clinical practice guidelines. An archive of Clinical Practice Guidelines published in the CMAJ is organized by year and topic, going back to 1992.
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
- Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
- Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302. We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian.
- Use the Ask a Librarian form. Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
Kathy Broyles
Reference Librarian
(817) 735-2591
= access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
= some full text
= searchable images
= video content
= audio content