Academic Search Complete 
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.
Access Physiotherapy
Integrates a wide variety of high-quality resources for the study of physical therapy: textbooks, images, animations and videos, drug information, lectures, references to primary literature, and more. Search by keywords or browse the content by core topic, modality, or therapeutic goal. Students can choose practice tests based on selected textbooks or on the National Physical Therapy Examination. Orthopedic Case Studies provide yet another avenue for learning.
CINAHL
This expanded version of CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, indexes more than 4,500 journals as well as health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, and audiovisuals. Besides nursing, subject areas include physician assistant literature, public health, emergency services, medical records, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, social work, and many others. CINAHL Plus contains more than two million records dating back to 1937. Full text is available for 772 journals, and cited references are searchable for more than 1,300.
CIRRIE: Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange
The CIRRIE Database of International Rehabilitation Research currently contains over 100,000 citations of international rehabilitation research published between 1990 and the present.
Cochrane Library 
A collection of six databases that provide high-quality evidence to support clinical care: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database. A seventh database provides information about the groups that comprise The Cochrane Collaboration. The databases are updated either monthly or quarterly. Additional features of the Library include an online journal club and podcasts. [Note: this collection no longer includes the ACP Journal Club, which is now a monthly feature of the Annals of Internal Medicine. That site can be accessed here.]
Hooked on Evidence
The APTA Hooked on Evidence Website represents a "grassroots" effort to develop a database containing current research evidence on the effectiveness of physical therapy interventions. APTA members may search its database of article extractions relevant to the field of physical therapy to build support for evidence-based practice, contribute extractions of the peer-reviewed literature to the database, consult lists of useful web resources and other information consistent with evidence-based practice, and use clinical scenarios to search the database for relevant article extractions. An APTA membership is currently required, but Hooked on Evidence is expected to become freely available to the public in 2013.
Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro)
Produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at Australia's George Institute for International Health, PEDro contains citations and abstracts for more than 15,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Trials are rated for quality. Records are global in scope and date back to 1929. Links to full text are provided where available. The database is updated monthly, and users can register to receive e-mail alerts for nine different areas of therapy.
PubMed
REHABDATA
REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 70,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.
SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus is the leading research database covering sports, exercise, fitness, sports medicine, and other sports-related disciplines. Subject coverage also includes biomechanics, kinesiology, occupational health and therapy, physical therapy, and public health. It contains more than 1.5 million records, including references to 22,000 theses and dissertations and articles written in 60 different languages.
Scopus
Essentials of Cardipulmonary Physical Therapy by Hillegass and Sadowsky
Motor Control Theory and Practical Applications by Shumway-Cook
Guide to Physical Therapist Practice by the American Physical Therapy Association
Search for "physical therapy modalities" in the UNTHSC Lewis Library catalog.
The American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) is an individual membership professional organization representing more than 80,000 member physical therapists (PTs), physical therapist assistants (PTAs), and students of physical therapy. APTA seeks to improve the health and quality of life of individuals in society by advancing physical therapist practice, education, and research, and by increasing the awareness and understanding of physical therapy's role in the nation's health care system.
Cochrane Collaboration
Executive Council of Physical and Occupational Therapy Examiners
Searchable site offering structured summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Allows for side-by-side comparison of similar guidelines from different organizations. Provides citations to each guideline’s original source and links to electronic full-text if possible. Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.
The Texas Physical Therapy Association is the representative body for Physical Therapists, Physical Therapist Assistants, and Physical Therapy Students in the state of Texas. Its members support the Physical Therapy profession and represent all areas of practice from Orthopedics to Education.
- Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
- Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302. We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian.
- Use the Ask a Librarian form. Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
Jack Boettcher
Instruction Librarian
(817) 735-2388
= access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
= some full text
= searchable images
= video content
= audio content