Medical information is confidential, and Lewis Library does not share its patron information with any person, agency, or entity (see policy). The information provided by the UNTHSC Gibson D. Lewis Health Science Library does not replace the care and advice of a professional health care provider. Please consult your caregiver before making any changes in your health regimen.
Evaluating Health Information: MedlinePlus
Information from the National Library of Medicine on how to decide if health information found on the Internet is reliable and up to date.
Guide to Healthy Web Surfing: MedlinePlus
Information from the National Library of Medicine on what to look for when surfing the Internet to assure that you are getting quality health information.
Health on the Internet: HONcode
The HON Foundation is a non-governmental organization that is known for pioneering work in the field of health information ethics. The HONcode indicates that a website has been approved by the foundation.
Merck Manuals Online Medical Library
Merck Manuals are a series of healthcare books available free online. They contain the latest information along with photographs, audio material, podcasts, and videos.
Physiotherapy Choices
Guide to help locate and evaluate reliable health information on the Internet from the Medical Library Association.
Information from the National Library of Medicine on how to decide if health information found on the Internet is reliable and up to date.
Guide to Healthy Web Surfing: MedlinePlus
Information from the National Library of Medicine on what to look for when surfing the Internet to assure that you are getting quality health information.
Health on the Internet: HONcode
The HON Foundation is a non-governmental organization that is known for pioneering work in the field of health information ethics. The HONcode indicates that a website has been approved by the foundation.
Merck Manuals Online Medical Library
Merck Manuals are a series of healthcare books available free online. They contain the latest information along with photographs, audio material, podcasts, and videos.
Physiotherapy Choices
Physiotherapy Choices is a database designed for use by consumers of physiotherapy services. The database provides a catalogue of the best research evidence of the effectiveness of physiotherapy interventions. Sources of research evidence that are cataloged include clinical trials, scientific reviews and guidelines.
User's Guide to Finding & Evaluating Health Information on the Web Guide to help locate and evaluate reliable health information on the Internet from the Medical Library Association.
CDC: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
This website contains information on hundreds of health-related topics including diseases and conditions, emergency preparedness, injury, environmental health, and travelers health.
Drug Information Portal
Quick access to high-quality drug information from the National Library of Medicine. Drugs can be searched by description, name, or category.
HealthCare.gov
Healthfinder is the health source for the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. It features Health Topics from A to Z, the latest health news, a doctor locator, lists of health centers and organizations, free interactive personal health tools, and a link to information in Spanish.
MedlinePlus
Health information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other government agencies. In addition to quality health information, the site includes information on drugs and drug supplements, a medical dictionary and encyclopedia, the latest news, and a directory of health services.
MedlinePlus: Medical Dictionary
Dictionary of medical terminology from the National Library of Medicine.
Quality Information for Improved Health
Resources for health consumers from the Medical Library Association. The page includes sections for finding and evaluating health information on the Internet, MLA's Top Ten health information websites, finding a medical library, and a special section for older adults. Medspeak, a tool designed to help people understand medical terms, can be found in English and Spanish.
This website contains information on hundreds of health-related topics including diseases and conditions, emergency preparedness, injury, environmental health, and travelers health.
Drug Information Portal
Quick access to high-quality drug information from the National Library of Medicine. Drugs can be searched by description, name, or category.
HealthCare.gov
An online tool from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services that helps consumers take control of their health care by connecting them to new information and resources that will help them access quality, affordable health care insurance coverage.
HealthfinderHealthfinder is the health source for the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. It features Health Topics from A to Z, the latest health news, a doctor locator, lists of health centers and organizations, free interactive personal health tools, and a link to information in Spanish.
MedlinePlus
Health information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other government agencies. In addition to quality health information, the site includes information on drugs and drug supplements, a medical dictionary and encyclopedia, the latest news, and a directory of health services.
MedlinePlus: Medical Dictionary
Dictionary of medical terminology from the National Library of Medicine.
Quality Information for Improved Health
Resources for health consumers from the Medical Library Association. The page includes sections for finding and evaluating health information on the Internet, MLA's Top Ten health information websites, finding a medical library, and a special section for older adults. Medspeak, a tool designed to help people understand medical terms, can be found in English and Spanish.
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
- Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
- Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302. We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian.
- Use the Ask a Librarian form. Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
Andi Spencer
Outreach Librarian
(817) 735-2469
= access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
= some full text
= searchable images
= video content
= audio content