Finding Aids to Collections in the Archive of Folk Culture

DENMARK COLLECTIONS
IN THE ARCHIVE OF FOLK CULTURE

Series Editor: Ann Hoog
Revised: September 2011

AFC 1940/014: Percy Grainger Cylinder Duplication Project
Eighty-five 12-inch discs of field recordings collected on cylinders by Percy Grainger and duplicated on acetate discs by Percy Grainger, Jerome Wiesner, and John Langenegger at the Archive of American Folk Song in 1940. Collections include English folksongs, ballads, sea shanties, and fiddle tunes originally recorded in Lincolnshire, Gloucestershire, and in London, England on 216 cylinders in 1906-1908; Danish folksongs, fiddle tunes, and tales orginally recorded on 80 cylinders by Percy Grainger and Evald Tang Kristensen in and near Jutland, Denmark, in 1922, 1925, and 1927; and Maori and Rarotongan songs recorded in New Zealand on 13 cylinders. (includes AFS 4326-4412) (tape copy on LWO 4872 reels 293B-300A) [catalog record]

AFC 1944/011: Marcus Bach "Preserving Iowa's Religious Heritage" Collection, part 2
Thirteen 12-inch and 2 16-inch discs of hymns sung by Danish Lutheran, Welsh Presbyterian, Czech Presbyterian, and German Lutheran congregations at various locations in Iowa; plus hymns, a litany, and parts of the office sung by Trappist monks at New Melleray, Iowa. Includes several interviews with pastors and ministers of the congregations. The collection includes 6 pages of recording logs and notes. Recorded by Marcus Bach and Addison Alspach in Iowa, September, October, and November, 1943. (AFS 7068-7082) (tape copy on LWO 5111) [catalog record]

AFC 1945/013: Marcus Bach "Preserving Iowa's Religious Heritage" Collection, part 3
Sixteen 12-inch discs of recordings from Iowa, including Presbyterians, African Americans, Norwegian Lutherans, Danish Lutherans, Bohemian Czech clergy; Swedish Lutherans; and a U.S. Navy Pre-Flight School choral group. Interviews were conducted with Miss Dawson and John Masson of the Associate Presbyterian Church; Brother Cauldis of the A.M.E. Church; President Preus and Pastor Huff of the Norwegian Lutheran congregation, First Lutheran Church; Ottar Jorgensen of the Bethlehem Lutheran Church; Dr. Filipi and Dr. Pokoney of the Hus Memorial Church. The United States Navy Pre-Flight Choir performed the Navy Hymn and a Sanctus and Gloria Patri. Recorded by Marcus Bach, 1943-1944. (AFS 7738-7753) [catalog record]

AFS 9576-9583: Percy Grainger Collection of Danish Folk Music and Spoken Word
Eight 16-inch discs duplicated from wax cylinders of Danish folk music duplicated from cylinders. Recorded in Jutland, Denmark, by Percy Grainger and Evald Tang Kristensen, 1922-1927. The collection includes logs. (LWO 5111)

AFC 1951/045: Cooperative Acquisitions Project / Music of Denmark
One disc of music of Denmark recorded on an unknown date (prior to 1951). Part of the Cooperative Acquisitions Project. (AFS 10,298) (LWO 5111)

AFS 19,961-19,974: Iowa Folk Festival, 1976
Fourteen 10-inch tapes of primarily accordion, banjo, fiddle, gospel, guitar, and vocal music, as well as interviews and storytelling. Recorded in various locations in Iowa by Art Rosenbaum, at and prior to the Iowa Folk Festival, July 3-5, 1976. Includes vocal and instrumental music (fiddle, banjo, organ, guitar), storytelling, and interviews, including Danish American and black folk traditions.

AFC 1981/004: Chicago Ethnic Arts Project Collection
Ninety-nine 7-inch tapes and 245 audiocassettes,13 linear inches of contact sheets, eight and three-fourths linear feet of field notes and logs, 3080 slides, 210 photographs, and 2 videos from the Chicago Ethnic Arts Project Collection, a field survey of ethnic artistic expression including dance, foodways, neighborhood gatherings, religious celebrations, and instrumental and vocal music. Recorded in the Chicago, Illinois, area by various collectors under the direction of Elena Bradunas, February-November 1977; under the joint sponsorship of the American Folklife Center and the Illinois Arts Council. The collection includes a 561-page report on the project published by the American Folklife Center in January 1978. Includes documentation of Danish American traditions from Chicago. [catalog record] [finding aid]

AFC 1988/036: Good Yule: Nordic Christmas Celebrations
Manuscripts documenting a lecture and workshop on traditional ornaments of the Nordic Christmas season by Richard H. Hulan, December 15, 1988. Demonstrations of Danish folded paper, Finnish tied straw, Swedish woven wheat ornaments, with additional contributions of Norwegian rosemaling and Icelandic enameled dough.

AFC 2011/003: Enlightenment, Fellowship, and Celebration at the Danebod Folk Meeting: Danish-American Grundtvigian Cultural Expression in the Spirit of the Old Folk School by Catherine Hiebert Kerst
Ph.D. thesis, George Washington University, 1989. ix, 324 leaves : ill., maps ; 21 cm. [catalog record]