

TED STRICKLAND GOVERNOR STATE OF OHIO

March 31, 2009

The Honorable Raymond H. LaHood Secretary United States Department of Transportation 1200 New Jersey Avenue, SE Washington, DC 20590

Dear Secretary LaHood:

÷

Pursuant to Title XV, Subtitle A, section 1511 of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (Pub. L. 11-5 (Feb. 17, 2009)) (ARRA), I, Ted Strickland, Governor of the State of Ohio, hereby certify that the attached infrastructure investments funded with amounts appropriated by ARRA under the headings:

"Highway Infrastructure Investment" (to the Federal Highway Administration)

- "Transit Capital Assistance"
- "Fixed Guideway Infrastructure Investment"
- "Capital Investment Grants" (to the Federal Transit Administration,)

I have received the full review and vetting required by law and that I accept responsibility that such investments are appropriate uses of taxpayer dollars. I further certify that the specific information required by section 1511 concerning each such investment (a description of the investment, the estimated total cost, and the amount of ARRA funds to be used) is provided on Ohio's Recovery Act website, <u>www.recovery.ohio.gov</u>, listed on the Ohio Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP) and is available to the public at <u>http://www.dot.state.oh.us/Divisions/Planning/ProgramMgt/STIP/Pages/default.aspx</u> (also linked to Recovery.gov).

As we continue to amend the STIP to included projects prioritize for funding using ARRA funds, we will submit additional section 1511 certifications. This certification includes projects in the rural (non-MPO) areas of the state and projects within the Akron Area Metropolitan Transportation Study (AMATS, Akron, Ohio), Bel-O-Mar Regional Council and Interstate Planning Commission (Bel-O-Mar, Wheeling, WV), Brooke-Hancock-Jefferson Metropolitan Planning Commission (BHJ, Steubenville, Ohio), Clark County-Springfield Transportation Coordinating Committee (CCSTCC, Springfield, Ohio), Eastgate Regional Council of Governments (Eastgate, Youngstown, Ohio), Erie Regional Planning Commission (ERPC, Sandusky, Ohio), KYOVA Interstate Planning Commission (KYOVA, Huntington, WV), Licking County Area Transportation Study (LCATS, Newark, Ohio), Lima-Allen County Regional Planning Commission (LACRPC, Lima, Ohio), Miami Valley Regional Planning Commission (MVRPC, Dayton, Ohio), Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission (MORPC, Columbus, Ohio), Northeast Ohio Areawide Coordinating Agency (NOACA, Cleveland, Ohio), Ohio-Kentucky-Indiana Regional Council of Governments (OKI, Cincinnati, Ohio), Stark County Area Transportation Study (SCATS, Canton, Ohio), Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments (TMACOG, Toledo, Ohio), and other areas. I understand that my state or local agency may not receive ARRA infrastructure investment funding unless this certification is made and posted.

Respectfully,

Ed Strickland

Ted Strickland Governor 77 South High Street • 30th Floor • Columbus, Ohio 43215-6117 • 614.466.3555 • Fax: 614.466.9354