Yates

ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1

Bateman

NOT VOTING-4

Lucas McInnis Tucker Velazquez

So the resolution was agreed to. A motion to reconsider the vote whereby the resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table

¶161.28 MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

A message from the Senate by Mr. Lundregan, one of its clerks, announced that the bill from the House (H.R. 2606) "An Act to prohibit the use of funds appropriated to the Department of Defense from being used for the deployment on the ground of United States Armed Forces in the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina as part of any peacekeeping operation, or as part of any implementation force, unless funds for such deployment are specifically appropriated by law" did fail to pass the Senate.

The message also announced that the Senate had passed a joint resolution of the following title, in which the concurrence of the House is requested:

S.J. Res. 44. Joint resolution concerning the Deployment of United States Armed Forces in Bosnia and Herzegovina.

¶161.29 DEPLOYMENT OF U.S. ARMED FORCES TO BOSNIA

On motion of Mr. HAMILTON, pursuant to section four of House Resolution 304, the Committee on International Relations and the Committee on National Security were discharged from further consideration of the following resolution (H. Res. 306):

Whereas the President of the United States pledged to commit the United States Armed Forces to participate in implementing a peace agreement in Bosnia and Herzegovina;

Whereas the United States hosted Proximity Talks in Dayton, Ohio, from November 1, 1995 through November 21, 1995, for the purpose of allowing the negotiation of a peaceful settlement to the longstanding conflict in the former Yugoslavia;

Whereas the Proximity Talks concluded with the Presidents of the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Republic of Croatia, and the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia initialing a General Framework Agreement for Peace on November 21, 1995;

Whereas the Presidents of the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Republic of Croatia, and the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia have requested a NATO-led implementation force with United States participation and have pledged full cooperation with this force;

Whereas some Members of Congress have questions and concerns about certain aspects of the peace implementation process; and

Whereas the Congress joins the President in wanting to minimize the risks to the United States Armed Forces helping to implement the peace agreement in the former Yugoslavia by ensuring that they have the necessary resources and other support to perform their mission effectively: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the House of Representatives unequivocally supports the men and women of the United States Armed Forces who are carrying out their mission in support of peace in Bosnia and Herzegovina with

professional excellence, dedicated patriotism, and exemplary bravery.

When said resolution was considered. The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BUNNING, recognized Mr. HAMILTON and Mr. GILMAN, each for thirty minutes.

After debate,

Pursuant to section four of House Resolution 304, the previous question was considered ordered.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to said resolution?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BUNNING, announced that the nays had it.

Mr. COLEMAN demanded that the vote be taken by the yeas and nays, which demand was supported by one-fifth of the Members present, so the yeas and nays were ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

¶161.30 [Roll No. 858] YEAS—190

Ackerman Gonzalez Murtha Baesler Green Gunderson Nadler Baldacci Neal Nethercutt Barcia Gutierrez Barrett (WI) Hall (OH) Hall (TX) Ney Oberstar Becerra Obey Beilenson Hamilton Bentsen Harman Olver Berman Hastings (FL) Ortiz Hefner Hilliard Bevill Orton Bishop Owens Pallone Hinchey Bonio Borski Holden Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Boucher Houghton Hoyer Brewster Brown (CA) Jackson-Lee Pelosi Jefferson Peterson (FL) Brown (FL) Johnson (SD) Peterson (MN) Brown (OH) Cardin Johnson, E. B. Pickett Johnston Castle Pomerov Kanjorski Poshard Chapman Clay Kaptur Rahall Kennedy (MA) Clayton Rangel Kennedy (RI) Richardson Clyburn Kennelly Coleman Kildee Rivers Collins (IL) King Roemer Kleczka Collins (MI) Rose Roybal-Allard Klink Condit LaFalce Rush Conyers Coyne Lantos Sabo de la Garza Levin Sawyer Lewis (GA) DeLauro Schroeder Dellums Lincoln Schumer Livingston Deutsch Scott Dicks Lofgren Serrano Dingell Lowey Sisisky Dixon Luther Skaggs Doggett Maloney Slaughter Dooley Manton Spratt Doyle Markey Stark Stenholm Durbin Martinez Edwards Stokes Mascara Matsui Studds Engel McCarthy Eshoo Stupak McDermott Tanner Evans Farr McHale Tejeda Fattah McIntosh Thompson Thornton McKinney Fazio Fields (LA) McNulty Thurman Filner Meehan Torres Torricelli Meek Flake Menendez Foglietta Towns Velazquez Ford Mfume Miller (CA) Frost Vento Furse Minge Visclosky Gejdenson Mink Volkmer Moakley Gephardt Ward

Williams Woolsey Wilson Wyden Wolf Wynn

NAYS-237

Abercrombie Fowler Myers Allard Myrick Fox Frank (MA) Andrews Neumann Archer Franks (CT) Norwood Armey Franks (NJ) Nussle Frelinghuysen Oxley Bachus Packard Baker (CA) Frisa Funderburk Baker (LA) Parker Ballenger Gallegly Paxon Barr Ganske Petri Barrett (NE) Gekas Pombo Gilman Bartlett Porter Goodlatte Barton Portman Bass Goodling Pryce Bereuter Gordon Quillen Bilbray Bilirakis Goss Quinn Graham Řadanovich Greenwood Bliley Ramstad Gutknecht Blute Regula Riggs Roberts Boehlert. Hancock Hansen Boehner Bonilla Hastert Rogers Hastings (WA) Rohrabacher Bono Browder Ros-Lehtinen Hayes Brownback Hayworth Hefley Roth Roukema Bryant (TN) Heineman Bryant (TX) Royce Herger Hilleary Bunn Salmon Bunning Sanders Burr Hobson Sanford Saxton Scarborough Burton Hoekstra Hoke Buyer Callahan Horn Schaefer Calvert Hostettler Schiff Seastrand Camp Hunter Canady Hutchinson Sensenbrenner Chabot Hyde Shadegg Chambliss Inglis Shaw Istook Shays Chenoweth Christensen Jacobs Shuster Skeen Johnson (CT) Chrysler Clinger Johnson, Sam Skelton Smith (MI) Coble .Jones Kasich Coburn Smith (NJ) Collins (GA) Kelly Smith (TX) Combest Kim Smith (WA) Cooley Kingston Solomon Klug Knollenberg Costello Souder Cox Spence Kolbe Cramer Stearns LaHood Crane Stockman Stump Talent Crapo Largent Latham Cremeans Cubin LaTourette Tate Cunningham Laughlin Tauzin Lazio Taylor (MS) Danner Davis Leach Taylor (NC) Lewis (CA) Deal Thomas DeFazio Lewis (KY) Thornberry DeLay Diaz-Balart Lightfoot Tiahrt Torkildsen Linder Dickey Doolittle Lipinski Traficant LoBiondo Upton Longley Vucanovich Dornan Dreier Waldholtz Lucas Manzullo Duncan Walker Walsh Dunn Martini Ehlers McCollum Wamp Watts (OK) Ehrlich McCrery Emerson McDade Weldon (FL) English McHugh Weldon (PA) Ensign McKeon Weller Everett Metcalf White Ewing Whitfield Meyers Wicker Fawell Mica Miller (FL) Fields (TX) Wise Flanagan Molinari Young (FL) Zeliff Montgomery Folev

ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1

Zimmei

Bateman

Moorhead

NOT VOTING—4

Gillmor Tucker McInnis Young (AK)

Forbes

THURSDAY, DECEMBER 14 (LEGISLATIVE DAY OF DECEMBER 13), 1995

So the resolution was not agreed to.

Mollohan

Moran

Geren

Gibbons

Waters Watt (NC)

Waxman