of the corporation's stock, and for other purposes; to the Committee on Economic and Educational Opportunities.

888. A communication from the President of the United States, transmitting a report on the status of efforts to obtain Iraq's compliance with the resolutions adopted by the U.N. Security Council, pursuant to Public Law 102-1, section 3 (105 Stat. 4) (H.Doc. No. 104-75); to the Committee on International Relations and ordered to be printed.

¶69.3 MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

A message from the Senate by Mr. Lundregan, one of its clerks, announced that the Senate had passed without amendment a bill of the House of the following title:

H.R. 483. An Act to amend title XVIII of the Social Security Act to permit medicare select policies to be offered in all States, and for other purposes.

The message also announced that the Senate had passed bills of the following titles, in which the concurrence of the House is requested:

S. 395. An Act to authorize and direct the Secretary of Energy to sell the Alaska Power Administration, and to authorize the export of Alaska North Slope crude oil, and for other purposes; and

S. 534. An Act to amend the Solid Waste Disposal Act to provide authority for States to limit the interstate transportation of municipal solid waste, and for other purposes.

¶69.4 CANADA-U.S.

INTERPARLIAMENTARY GROUP

The SPEAKER, pursuant to the provisions of 22 United States Code 276d, appointed as members of the United States delegation to attend the meeting of the Canada-United States Interparliamentary Group the following Members of the House: Messrs. MANZULLO, Chairman, LATHAM, CRAPO, MS. DUNN, Mr. ZIMMER, Mrs. JOHNSON of Connecticut, Messrs. GOODLING, JOHNSTON, DE LA GARZA, GIBBONS, Ms. SLAUGHTER, and Mr. MCNULTY.

¶69.5 RECESS—9:05 A.M.

The SPEAKER, pursuant to the special order of the House agreed to on May 12, 1995, declared the House in recess at 9 o'clock and 5 minutes a.m., until 10 o'clock a.m.

¶69.6 AFTER RECESS—10 A.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. WATTS, called the House to order.

¶69.7 PROCEEDINGS DURING RECESS

On motion of Mr. DAVIS, by unanimous consent, the proceedings had during the recess to receive former Members were ordered to be printed in the Record.

\$69.8 Unfinished Business—approval of the Journal

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. WATTS, pursuant to clause 5, rule I, announced the unfinished business to be the question on agreeing to the Chair's approval of the Journal of Wednesday, May 17, 1995.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House agree to the Chair's approval of said Journal? The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. WATTS, announced that the yeas had it

Mr. TATE objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

When there appeared $\begin{cases} Yeas & 360 \\ Nays & 37 \\ Answered \\ present & 1 \end{cases}$

¶69.9 [Roll No. 341] YEAS—360

Ackerman DeLay Hunter Dellums Hutchinson Andrews Deutsch Hyde Diaz-Balart Inglis Archer Bachus Dickey Jackson-Lee Baesler Dicks Jefferson Johnson (CT) Baker (CA) Dixon Baker (LA) Doggett Johnson (SD) Baldacci Dooley Johnson, E. B. Ballenger Doolittle Johnson, Sam Dornan Johnston Barcia Barr Dovle Jones Barrett (NE) Kanjorski Dreier Kaptur Kasich Barrett (WI) Duncan Bartlett Dunn Barton Edwards Kellv Bass Ehlers Ehrlich Kennedy (RI) Bateman Kennelly Emerson Kildee Beilenson English Kim King Bentsen Eshoo Bereuter Evans Kingston Bevill Everett Klink Bilbray Klug Ewing Bilirakis Knollenberg Farr Fawell Bishop Kolbe LaFalce Fields (LA) Bliley Blute Flake LaHood Boehlert. Flanagan Lantos Foglietta Boehner Latham Foley Bonilla LaTourette Bonior Forbes Lazio Borski Ford Leach Boucher Fowler Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Brewster Fox Frank (MA) Lightfoot Browder Brown (FL) Franks (CT) Lincoln Brown (OH) Franks (N.J) Linder Frelinghuysen Lipinski Bryant (TN) Bryant (TX) Frisa LoBiondo Bunn Lofgren Frost Bunning Funderburk Longley Burr Furse Lowey Gallegly Burton Lucas Ganske Luther Callahan Geidenson Malonev Calvert Gekas Manton Geren Manzullo Markey Martinez Canady Gilchrest Cardin Gilman Castle Gonzalez Martini Chabot Goodlatte Mascara Chambliss Goodling Matsui Chenoweth Gordon McCarthy Christensen Goss McCollum Chrysler Graham McDade Clement Greenwood McDermott McHale Clinger Gutknecht Clyburn Hall (OH) McInnis Coble Hall (TX) McIntosh Coleman McKeon Hamilton Collins (GA) Hancock Meek Metcalf Collins (IL) Hansen Collins (MI) Hastert Mevers Combest Hastings (WA) Mfume Condit Hayes Hayworth Mica Miller (FL) Convers Cooley Hefner Mineta Heineman Minge Mink Cox Herger Coyne Hilleary Moakley Cramer Crapo Hobson Molinari Cremeans Hoekstra Mollohan Cubin Hoke Holden Montgomery Cunningham Moorhead Danner Horn Morella Hostettler Murtha Davis Deal Houghton Mvers DeLauro Hoyer Myrick

Nadler Rohrabacher Tate Ros-Lehtinen Tauzin Neal Taylor (NC) Nethercutt Neumann Roth Tejeda Nev Roukema Thomas Norwood Roybal-Allard Thornberry Nussle Royce Salmon Thornton Oberstar Thurman Obey Sanders Tiahrt Olver Sanford Torkildsen Ortiz Sawyer Torres Orton Saxton Torricelli Scarborough Owens Towns Schaefer Oxley Traficant Packard Schiff Upton Pallone Schumer Velazquez Parker Scott Visclosky Pastor Seastrand Vucanovich Sensenbrenner Waldholtz Paxon Payne (NJ) Serrano Walker Payne (VA) Shadegg Walsh Pelosi Shaw Wamp Peterson (MN) Shuster Ward Petri Sisisky Watt (NC) Watts (OK) Pomerov Skaggs Skeen Waxman Weldon (PA) Portman Skelton Weller Poshard Slaughter Smith (MI) Quillen White Whitfield Quinn Smith (N.I) Radanovich Smith (TX) Wicker Rahall Souder Williams Ramstad Spratt Wilson Wolf Rangel Stearns Reed Stenholm Woolsey Regula Stockman Wyden Reynolds Studds Wynn Rivers Stump Stupak Yates Young (FL) Roberts Roemer Talent Zeliff Rogers Zimmer Tanner

NAYS-37

Brown (CA) Hastings (FL) Pombo Hefley Hilliard Clayton Rush Costello Sabo Crane Schroeder DeFazio Kennedy (MA) Shavs Stark Durbin Levin Lewis (GA) Taylor (MS) Engel Fazio McKinney Thompson Filner McNulty Vento Gephardt Menendez Volkmer Gibbons Miller (CA) Waters Gillmor Peterson (FL) Pickett

ANSWERED "PRESENT"—1 Harman

NOT VOTING-36

Fields (TX) Abercrombie Moran Armey Gunderson Pryce Berman Gutierrez Richardson Hinchey Bono Riggs Brownback Istook Smith (WA) Chapman Kleczka Solomon Clav Largent Spence Coburn Laughlin Stokes de la Garza Livingston Tucker McCrery Dingell Weldon (FL) McHugh Young (AK) Fattah Meehan

So the Journal was approved.

¶69.10 CONGRESSIONAL BUDGET—FY 1996-

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. WATTS, pursuant to House Resolution 149 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the concurrent resolution (H. Con. Res. 67) setting forth the congressional budget for the United States Government for fiscal years 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, and 2002.

Mr. SENSENBRENNER, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, resumed the chair; and after some time spent therein

The Committee rose informally to receive a message from the President.