67.8

JOURNAL OF THE

MAY 16

Reynolds Richardson

Roybal-Allard

Rivers

Rose

Rush Sabo

Sanders

Sawyer Schroeder

Schumer

Serrano

Sisisky

Skaggs Skelton

Spratt

Stark

Stokes

Studds

Stupak

Tanner

Tejeda

Taylor (MS)

Thompson

Thornton

Thurman

Velazquez

Visclosky

Volkmer

Torres

Towns

Vento

Ward

Waters

Watt (NC)

Waxman

Williams

Woolsey

Wyden

Wvnn

Yates

Wise

Slaughter

Stenholm

Scott

Roemer

Danner
de la Garza
DeFazio
DeLauro
Dellums
Deutsch
Dicks
Dingell
Dixon
Doggett
Dooley
Doyle
Durbin
Edwards
Engel
Eshoo
Evans
Farr
Fattah
Fazio
Fields (LA)
Filner
Frank (MA)
Frost
Furse
Gejdenson
Gephardt
Gibbons
Gonzalez
Gutierrez
Hall (OH)
Hamilton
Harman
Hastings (FL)
Hefner
Hilliard
Hinchey
Holden
Hoyer
Jackson-Lee
Jacobs
Jefferson
Johnson (SD)
Johnson, E. B.
Johnston
Kanjorski
Kaptur
Kennedy (MA)

Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Pomeroy Poshard Kildee Klink LaFalce Rahall Rangel Lantos Reed Levin Lewis (GA) Richardson Rivers Lincoln Roemer Lofgren Lowey Rose Roybal-Allard Luther Rush Maloney Sabo Manton Sanders Markey Sawyer Schroeder Martinez Mascara Schumer Matsui Scott McCarthy Serrano McDermott Skaggs McHale Skelton McKinnev Slaughter McNulty Spratt Meehan Stark Meek Stokes Menendez Studds Mfume Miller (CA) Stupak Tanner Tejeda Mineta Minge Thompson Mink Thornton Moakley Thurman Mollohan Towns Montgomery Velazquez Moran Vento Nadler Volkmer Neal Ward Oberstar Waters Watt (NC) Obev Olver Waxman Ortiz Williams Wilson Owens Pallone Wise Pastor Woolsey Payne (NJ) Wyden Payne (VA) Wynn Pelosi Yates Peterson (MN)

Pickett

Bevill

Bishop

Bonio

Borsk

NOT VOTING-17

Ackerman Barcia Berman Collins (IL) Coyne Elotro	Foglietta Ford Hobson Istook Kleczka	Peterson (FL) Reynolds Rogers Torres Tucker
Flake	Lipinski	

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BARRETT, announced that two-thirds of the Members present had not voted in the affirmative.

So, two-thirds of the Members present not having voted in favor thereof, the rules were not suspended and said bill was not passed.

[67.8 COMMITTEES AND SUBCOMMITTEES TO SIT

Mr. ARMEY, pursuant to clause 2(i) of rule XI, moved that standing committees and subcommittees of the House be permitted to sit today and the balance of the week while the House is meeting in the Committee of the Whole House under the 5-minute rule.

After debate.

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, the previous question was ordered.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to said motion? The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BARRETT, announced that the yeas

had it. Mr. BONIOR objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

When there	appeared
¶67.9	[Roll No. 33
	YEAS-235
Allard	Ganske
Archer	Gekas
Armey Bachus	Gilchrest Gillmor
Baker (CA)	Gilman
Baker (LA)	Goodlatte
Ballenger Barr	Goodling Goss
Barrett (NE)	Graham
Bartlett	Greenwood
Barton	Gunderson
Bass Bateman	Gutknecht Hall (TX)
Bereuter	Hancock
Bilbray	Hansen
Bilirakis	Hastert
Bliley Blute	Hastings (WA) Hayes
Boehlert	Hayworth
Boehner	Hefley
Bonilla	Heineman
Bono Brownback	Herger Hilleary
Bryant (TN)	Hobson
Bunn	Hoekstra
Bunning	Hoke
Burr Burton	Horn Hostettler
Buyer	Houghton
Callahan	Hunter
Calvert	Hutchinson
Camp	Hyde
Canady Castle	Inglis Jacobs
Chabot	Johnson (CT)
Chambliss	Johnson, Sam
Chenoweth	Jones
Christensen Chrysler	Kasich Kelly
Clinger	Kim
Coble	King
Coburn	Kingston
Collins (GA) Combest	Klug Knollenberg
Condit	Kolbe
Crane	LaHood
Crapo	Largent
Cremeans Cubin	Latham LaTourette
Cunningham	Laughlin
Davis	Lazio
Deal	Leach
DeLay Diaz-Balart	Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY)
Dickey	Lightfoot
Doolittle	Linder
Dornan	Livingston
Dreier Duncan	LoBiondo Longley
Duncan Dunn	Lucas
Ehlers	Manzullo
Ehrlich	Martini
Emerson English	McCollum
Ensign	McCrery McDade
Everett	McHugh
Ewing	McInnis
Fawell	McIntosh
Fields (TX) Flanagan	McKeon Metcalf
Foley	Meyers
Forbes	Mica
Fowler	Miller (FL)
Fox Franks (CT)	Molinari Montgomery
Frelinghuysen	Moorhead
Frisa	Morella
Funderburk	Myers
Gallegly	Myrick
	NAYS-18
Abercrombie	Brewster
Andrews	Browder
Baesler	Brown (CA)
Baldacci Barcia	Brown (FL) Brown (OH)
Barrett (WI)	Brown (OH) Bryant (TX)
Becerra	Cardin
Beilenson	Chapman
Bentsen	Clay

Yeas 235 Nays 181 oll No. 331] EAS-235 Nethercutt Neumann Nev Norwood Nussle Oxley Packard Parker Paxon Petri Pombo Portman Pryce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Ramstad Regula Riggs Roberts Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Roukema Royce Salmon Sanford Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Stearns Stockman Stump Talent Tate Tauzin Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Torkildsen Traficant Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wilson Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer AYS-181 Collins (MI) Conyers Costello Cramer Danner de la Garza DeFazio DeLauro

Doggett Dooley Dovle Durbin Edwards Engel Eshoo Farr Fattah Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Flake Foglietta Ford Frank (MA) Frost Furse Gejdenson Gephardt Geren Gibbons Gonzalez Gordon Green Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hamilton Harman Hastings (FL) Hefner Hilliard Hinchev Holden Jackson-Lee Jefferson Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Kaniorski Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Klink LaFalce Lantos Levin

Berman

Boucher

Cooley

Cox

Lewis (GA) Lincoln Lofgren Lowey Luther Maloney Manton Markey Martinez Mascara Matsui McCarthy McDermott McHale McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Mink Moakley Mollohan Moran Murtha Nadler Neal Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz Orton Owens Pallone Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Peľosi Peterson (MN) Pickett Pomeroy Poshard Rahall Rangel Reed

NOT VOTING-18 Ackerman Coyne Kleczka Lipinski Evans Franks (NJ) Peterson (FL) Collins (IL) Hoyer Porter Istook Torricelli Johnston Tucker

So the motion was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said motion was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

67.10 PROVIDING FOR THE CONSIDERATION OF S. 4

Mr. GOSS, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 104-121) the resolution (H. Res. 147) providing for the consideration of the bill (S. 4) to grant the power to the President to reduce budget authority, and for other purposes.

When said resolution and report were referred to the House Calendar and ordered printed.

67.11 PROVIDING FOR THE CONSIDERATION OF S. 219

Mr. GOSS, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 104-122) the resolution (H. Res. 148) providing for the consideration of the bill (S. 219) to improve the economy and efficiency of Federal Government operations by establishing a moratorium on regulatory rulemaking actions, and for other purposes.

When said resolution and report were referred to the House Calendar and ordered printed.

Dellums

Deutsch

Dicks Dingell

Dixon

Clay Clayton

Clement

Clyburn

Coleman