H.R. 427: Mr. SENSENBRENNER, Mr. McHugh, Mr. Laughlin, Mr. Barton of Texas, Mr. Bono, and Mr. Hancock.

H.R. 433: Mr. GALLEGLY.

H.R. 526: Mr. HEINEMAN, Mr. FUNDERBURK, Mr. COBLE, and Mr. BARTLETT of Maryland.

H.R. 534: Mr. Frank of Massachusetts, Mr. Engel, Mr. Franks of Connecticut, Mr. Costello, Mr. Brewster, Mr. Cardin, Mr. Hoke, Mr. Torkildsen, Mr. Hyde, Mr. Crane, Mr. Traficant, Ms. Furse, Mr. Bateman, Mr. Coyne, Mr. Oberstar, Mr. Petri, and Mr. Visclosky.

H.R. 580: Ms. PRYCE, Mr. BAKER of Louisiana, and Mr. WARD.

H.R. 592: Mr. HEFLEY.

H.R. 713: Mr. MENENDEZ.

H.R. 731: Mrs. Meek of Florida, Miss Col-LINS of Michigan, Mr. LAUGHLIN, and Mr. BRYANT of Texas.

H.R. 783: Mr. Jacobs, Mr. Radanovich, Mr. Browder, Mr. Stenholm, and Mr. Quillen.

H.R. 803: Mr. TAYLOR of North Carolina, Mr. KENNEDY of Rhode Island, and Mr. MARKEY.

 $H.R.\ 899:\ Mr.\ McCrery,\ Mr.\ Hayes,\ Mr.\ ZIMMER,\ Mr.\ CAMP,\ Mr.\ McCollum,\ and\ Mr.\ Scarborough.$

H.R. 927: Mr. McCollum, Mr. Royce, Mr. Dornan, Mr. Calvert, Mr. Shaw, Mr. Gutierrez, and Mr. Duncan.

H.R. 957: Mr. GILMAN.

H.R. 1118: Mr. McCrery.

H.R. 1161: Mr. JACOBS.

 $H.R.\ 1242;\ Mr.\ LATHAM,\ Mr.\ HOBSON,\ and\ Mr.\ TATE.$

H.R. 1362: Mr. McIntosh, Mr. Moran, Mr. Canady, Mr. Bateman, Mr. Myers of Indiana, and Mr. Quillen.

H.R. 1425: Mr. TORRES.

 $H.R.\ 1448:\ Mr.\ Taylor\ of\ Mississippi\ and\ Mr.\ Montgomery.$

H.R. 1486: Mr. RADANOVICH.

 $H.R.\ 1490;\ Mr.\ Ackerman,\ Mrs.\ Schroeder,\ and\ Mr.\ Dornan.$

 $H.R.\ 1533;\ Mr.\ WAMP,\ Mr.\ BONO,\ Mr.\ CALVERT,\ and\ Mr.\ HEFLEY.$

H.R. 1560: Mr. Barrett of Wisconsin, Mr. Coleman, Mr. Conyers, Mr. Durbin, Mr. Serrano, and Mr. Watt of North Carolina.

 $H.R.\ 1594:\ Mr.\ LoBiondo,\ Mr.\ English\ of$ Pennsylvania, Mr. Knollenberg, and Mr. Emerson.

H.R. 1566: Mr. NEAL of Massachusetts.

H. Con. Res. 35: Mr. CALVERT.

 $\mbox{H.}$ Con. Res. 42: Mr. Solomon, Mr. Matsui, Mr. Holden, and Mr. Blute.

 $H.\ Con.\ Res.\ 50:\ Mr.\ HOLDEN$ and $Mr.\ ANDREWS.$

H. Res. 30: Mr. Sanford, Ms. Norton, Mr. Hansen, Mr. Wicker, Mr. Fattah, Mr. Hoyer, Mr. Castle, Mr. Condit, and Ms. McKinney.

H. Res. 138: Mr. BAKER of California, Mr. GUTKNECHT, Mr. SHADEGG, Mr. NEUMANN, Mr. DOOLITTLE, Mr. UPTON, Mr. MILLER of Florida, Mr. STEARNS, Mr. BURTON of Indiana, Mr. BRYANT of Tennessee, Mr. ZIMMER, Mr. INGLIS of South Carolina, Mr. FOX, Mr. EWING, Mr. CHRYSLER, Mr. THORNBERRY, Mr. FOLEY, Mr. TIAHRT, Mr. STOCKMAN, Mr. CHABOT, Mr. METCALF, and Mr. JONES.

¶66.28 DELETIONS OF SPONSORS FROM PUBLIC BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

Under clause 4 of rule XXII, sponsors were deleted from public bills and resolutions as follows:

H.R. 1114: Mr. ROYCE. H.R. 1120: Mr. RAMSTAD.

TUESDAY, MAY 16, 1995 (67)

¶67.1 DESIGNATION OF SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The House was called to order, at 9 o'clock a.m., by the SPEAKER pro

tempore, Mr. RADANOVICH, who laid before the House the following communication:

> Washington, DC, *May 15, 1995.*

I hereby designate the Honorable GEORGE P. RADANOVICH to act as Speaker pro tempore on this day.

NEWT GINGRICH,

Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Whereupon, pursuant to the order of the House of Friday, May 12, 1995, Members were recognized for "morning hour" debates.

¶67.2 RECESS—9:42 A.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. RADANOVICH, pursuant to clause 12 of rule I, declared the House in recess until 10:00 a.m.

¶67.3 AFTER RECESS—10:00 A.M.

The SPEAKER called the House to order.

¶67.4 APPROVAL OF THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER announced he had examined and approved the Journal of the proceedings of Monday, May 15, 1995.

Pursuant to clause 1, rule I, the Journal was approved.

¶67.5 COMMUNICATIONS

Executive and other communications, pursuant to clause 2, rule XXIV, were referred as follows:

877. A letter from the Secretary of Education, transmitting a copy of the annual report of the Helen Keller National Center for Deaf-Blind Youths and Adults [HKNC] for the 1994 program year, pursuant to 29 U.S.C. 1903(b)(2); to the Committee on Economic and Educational Opportunities.

878. A letter from the Vice President for Government and Public Affairs, National Railroad Passenger Corporation, transmitting a report of activities under the Freedom of Information Act for calendar year 1994, pursuant to 5 U.S.C. 552(e); to the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight.

¶67.6 MEDICARE TRUSTEES REPORT

Mr. THOMAS moved to suspend the rules and pass the bill (H.R. 1590) to require the Trustees of the Medicare trust funds to report recommendations on resolving projected financial imbalance in Medicare trust funds.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BARRETT of Nebraska, recognized Mr. THOMAS and Mr. GIBBONS, each for 20 minutes.

After debate.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House suspend the rules and pass said bill?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BARRETT of Nebraska, announced that two-thirds of the Members present had voted in the affirmative.

Mr. GIBBONS objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

When there appeared $\begin{cases} Yeas \dots 247 \\ Nays \dots 170 \end{cases}$

¶67.7 [Roll No. 330] YEAS—247

Allard Funderburk Neumann Archer Gallegly Nev Armev Ganske Norwood Bachus Gekas Nussle Orton Baesler Geren Baker (CA) Gilchrest Oxley Baker (LA) Gillmor Packard Ballenger Gilman Parker Barr Goodlatte Paxon Barrett (NE) Goodling Petri Gordon Pombo Bartlett Barton Goss Porter Bass Graham Portman Bateman Green Pryce Greenwood Quillen Bereuter Bilbray Gunderson Quinn Bilirakis Gutknecht Řadanovich Bliley Hall (TX) Ramstad Blute Hancock Regula Boehlert Hansen Riggs Boehner Hastert Roberts Hastings (WA) Rohrabacher Bonilla Bono Hayes Ros-Lehtinen Hayworth Brewster Roth Brownback Hefley Roukema Heineman Bryant (TN) Royce Bunn Herger Salmon Hilleary Sanford Bunning Burr Hoekstra Saxton Burton Hoke Scarborough Horn Schaefer Buyer Callahan Hostettler Schiff Calvert Houghton Seastrand Sensenbrenner Camp Hunter Canady Hutchinson Shadegg Castle Hvde Shaw Chabot Inglis Shays Chambliss Johnson (CT) Shuster Chapman Johnson, Sam Sisisky Chenoweth Skeen Jones Christensen Kasich Smith (MI) Chrysler Kellv Smith (NJ) Clinger Kim Smith (TX) Coble King Smith (WA) Coburn Kingston Solomon Collins (GA) Klug Knollenberg Souder Combest Spence Condit Kolbe Stearns Cooley LaHood Stenholm Cox Largent Stockman Crane Latham Stump LaTourette Talent Crapo Cremeans Laughlin Tate Cubin Lazio Tauzin Cunningham Leach Taylor (MS) Lewis (CA) Davis Taylor (NC) Lewis (KY) Thomas Deal DeLay Diaz-Balart Lightfoot Thornberry Linder Tiahrt Dickey Livingston Torkildsen Doolittle LoBiondo Torricelli Dornan Longley Traficant Dreier Lucas Upton Manzullo Visclosky Duncan Vucanovich Dunn Martini Ehlers McCollum Waldholtz Ehrlich McCrery Walker Walsh Emerson McDade English McHugh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Ensign McInnis McIntosh Everett Weldon (PA) Ewing McKeon Metcalf Meyers Fawell Weller Fields (TX) White Whitfield Flanagan Mica Foley Miller (FL) Wicker Wolf Forbes Molinari Moorhead Young (AK) Fowler Young (FL) Zeliff Fox Morella Franks (CT) Murtha Franks (NJ) Myers Zimmer Myrick Frelinghuysen Nethercutt Frisa

NAYS-170

Abercrombie Bonior Borski Andrews Baldacci Boucher Barrett (WI) Browder Becerra Brown (CA) Beilenson Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Bentsen Bevill Bryant (TX) Bishop Cardin

Clay Clayton Clement Clyburn Coleman Collins (MI) Conyers Costello Cramer