Danner de la Garza Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Pickett Pomeroy DeFazio Poshard Kildee DeLauro Dellums Klink LaFalce Rahall Rangel Deutsch Lantos Dicks Levin Lewis (GA) Richardson Dingell Rivers Dixon Lincoln Roemer Doggett Dooley Lofgren Lowey Rose Roybal-Allard Doyle Luther Rush Durbin Maloney Sabo Edwards Sanders Manton Engel Markey Sawyer Schroeder Eshoo Martinez Evans Mascara Schumer Farr Matsui Scott McCarthy Fattah Serrano McDermott Fazio Skaggs Fields (LA) McHale Skelton Filner McKinney Slaughter Frank (MA) McNulty Spratt Frost Meehan Stark Furse Meek Stokes Gejdenson Menendez Studds Mfume Miller (CA) Gephardt Stupak Gibbons Tanner Gonzalez Mineta Tejeda Gutierrez Minge Thompson Hall (OH) Mink Thornton Hamilton Moakley Thurman Harman Mollohan Towns Hastings (FL) Montgomery Velazguez Hefner Moran Vento Hilliard Nadler Volkmer Hinchey Neal Ward Holden Oberstar Waters Watt (NC) Hover Obev Olver Jackson-Lee Waxman Jacobs Jefferson Ortiz Williams Wilson Owens Johnson (SD) Pallone Wise Johnson, E. B. Pastor Woolsey Payne (NJ) Wyden Johnston Kanjorski Payne (VA) Wynn Kaptur Pelosi Yates Kennedy (MA) Peterson (MN)

NOT VOTING-17

Ackerman Foglietta Peterson (FL)
Barcia Ford Reynolds
Berman Hobson Rogers
Collins (IL) Istook Torres
Coyne Kleczka Tucker
Flake Lipinski

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BARRETT, announced that two-thirds of the Members present had not voted in the affirmative.

So, two-thirds of the Members present not having voted in favor thereof, the rules were not suspended and said bill was not passed.

¶67.8 COMMITTEES AND SUBCOMMITTEES TO SIT

Mr. ARMEY, pursuant to clause 2(i) of rule XI, moved that standing committees and subcommittees of the House be permitted to sit today and the balance of the week while the House is meeting in the Committee of the Whole House under the 5-minute rule.

After debate.

On motion of Mr. ARMEY, the previous question was ordered.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to said motion? The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BARRETT, announced that the yeas had it

Mr. BONIOR objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

When there appeared

967.9

Allard

Archer

Armey

Bachus

Baker (CA) Baker (LA)

Ballenger

Bartlett

Barton

Bateman

Bereuter

Bilbray

Bliley

Blute

Bilirakis

Boehlert

Boehner

Bonilla

Bunn

Burr

Bunning

Burton

Callahan

Calvert

Canady

Castle

Chabot

Chambliss

Chenoweth

Christensen

Collins (GA)

Chrysler

Clinger

Coburn

Combest

Condit

Crane

Crapo

Cubin

Davis

Deal

DeLay

Dickey

Dornan

Dreier

Duncan

Dunn

Ehlers

Ehrlich

Emerson

English

Ensign

Everett

Ewing

Fawell

Foley Forbes

Fowler

Fox

Frisa

Fields (TX)

Franks (CT)

Funderburk

Abercrombie

Barrett (WI)

Gallegly

Andrews

Baesler

Barcia

Becerra

Bentsen

Bevill

Bishop

Bonio

Beilenson

Baldacci

Frelinghuysen

Flanagan

Doolittle

Cremeans

Cunningham

Diaz-Balart

Coble

Camp

Buyer

Bono Brownback

Bryant (TN)

Bass

Barrett (NE)

Barr

Yeas 235 Nays 181

[Roll No. 331] YEAS-235 Ganske Nethercutt Gekas Neumann Gilchrest Nev Norwood Gillmor Gilman Nussle Goodlatte Oxley Goodling Packard Goss Parker Graham Paxon Greenwood Petri Gunderson Pombo Gutknecht Portman Hall (TX) Pryce Quillen Hancock Hansen Quinn Hastert Radanovich Hastings (WA) Ramstad Hayes Regula Hayworth Hefley Riggs Roberts Heineman Rogers Herger Hilleary Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Hobson Roth Hoekstra Roukema Hoke Royce Saľmon Horn Hostettler Sanford Houghton Saxton Hunter Scarborough Hutchinson Schaefer Schiff Hyde Inglis Seastrand Jacobs Sensenbrenner Johnson (CT) Shadegg Johnson, Sam Shaw .Jones Shays Kasich Shuster Kelly Skeen Smith (MI) Kim King Smith (NJ) Kingston Smith (TX) Klug Knollenberg Smith (WA) Solomon Kolbe Souder LaHood Spence Largent Stearns Latham Stockman LaTourette Stump Laughlin Talent Lazio Tate Leach Tauzin Lewis (CA) Taylor (NC) Lewis (KY) Thomas Lightfoot Thornberry Linder Tiahrt Torkildsen Livingston LoBiondo Traficant Longley Upton Vucanovich Lucas Manzullo Waldholtz Martini McCollum Walker Walsh McCrery Wamp Watts (OK) McDade McHugh Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) McInnis McIntosh Weller White McKeon Whitfield Metcalf Meyers Wicker Mica Wilson Miller (FL) Wolf Young (AK) Molinari Montgomery Young (FL)

NAYS-181

Moorhead

Morella

Myers

Myrick

Brewster Collins (MI) Conyers Costello Browder Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Cramer Brown (OH) Danner Bryant (TX) Cardin de la Garza DeFazio Chapman DeLauro Clay Dellums Clayton Deutsch Dicks Dingell Clement Clyburn Dixon

Zeliff

Zimmer

Doggett Dooley Lewis (GA) Lincoln Doyle Lofgren Lowey Luther Durbin Edwards Maloney Engel Eshoo Manton Markey Farr Fattah Martinez Fazio Mascara Fields (LA) Matsui Filner McCarthy Flake McDermott Foglietta McHale Ford McKinney Frank (MA) McNulty Meehan Frost Furse Meek Menendez Gejdenson Gephardt Mfume Miller (CA) Geren Gibbons Mineta Minge Gonzalez Gordon Mink Moakley Green Gutierrez Mollohan Hall (OH) Moran Murtha Hamilton Harman Nadler Hastings (FL) Neal Oberstan Hefner Hilliard Obey Hinchev Olver Holden Ortiz Jackson-Lee Orton Jefferson Owens Johnson (SD) Pallone Johnson, E. B. Pastor

Kaniorski

Kennedy (MA)

Kennedy (RI)

Kaptur

Kennelly

LaFalce

Lantos

Levin

Kildee

Klink

Reynolds Richardson Rivers Roemer Rose Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Sawyer Schroeder Schumer Scott Serrano Sisisky Skaggs Skelton Slaughter Spratt Stark Stenholm Stokes Studds Stupak Tanner Taylor (MS) Tejeda Thompson Thornton Thurman Torres Towns Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Ward Waters Payne (NJ) Watt (NC) Payne (VA) Waxman Pelosi Williams Peterson (MN) Wise Woolsey Pickett Pomeroy Wyden Poshard Wvnn Rahall Yates Rangel Reed

NOT VOTING-18

Ackerman Coyne Kleczka Lipinski Berman Evans Franks (NJ) Peterson (FL) Boucher Collins (IL) Hoyer Porter Torricelli Cooley Istook Cox Johnston Tucker

So the motion was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said motion was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶67.10 PROVIDING FOR THE CONSIDERATION OF S. 4

Mr. GOSS, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 104-121) the resolution (H. Res. 147) providing for the consideration of the bill (S. 4) to grant the power to the President to reduce budget authority, and for other purposes.

When said resolution and report were referred to the House Calendar and ordered printed.

$\P67.11$ Providing for the Consideration of S. 219

Mr. GOSS, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 104–122) the resolution (H. Res. 148) providing for the consideration of the bill (S. 219) to improve the economy and efficiency of Federal Government operations by establishing a moratorium on regulatory rulemaking actions, and for other purposes.

When said resolution and report were referred to the House Calendar and ordered printed.