H.R. 1589: Mr. HOEKSTRA, Mr. SAXTON, and Mr. MCKEON

H.R. 1594: Mr. RAMSTAD, Mr. SOLOMON, and Mr. CHRISTENSEN.

H.J. Res. 79: Mr. BONILLA.

1995

- H. Con. Res. 36: Mr. ZIMMER.
- H. Con Res. 37: Mr. ZIMMER.

H. Con. Res. 40: Mr. HOUGHTON, Mr. ACKER-MAN, Ms. MCKINNEY, Mr. JEFFERSON, and Mr. JOHNSTON of Florida.

H. Con. Res. 48: Mr. DEUTSCH, Mr. NEY, Mr. BROWN of Ohio, Mr. LAFALCE, Ms. LOWEY, Mrs. MEYERS of Kansas, Mrs. CLAYTON, and Mr. ACKERMAN.

H. Con. Res. 59: Mr. BROWN of Ohio.

H. Res. 23: Mr. BROWN of Ohio.

H. Res. 24: Mr. MCKEON.

H. Res. 98: Ms. FURSE, Mr. BUNN of Oregon, and Mr. MARTINEZ.

H. Res. 99: Ms. FURSE and Mr. BUNN of Oregon

THURSDAY, MAY 11, 1995 (64)

64.1 DESIGNATION OF SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The House was called to order by the SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. FOLEY, who laid before the House the following communication:

WASHINGTON, DC, May 11, 1995.

I hereby designate the Honorable MARK ADAM FOLEY to act as Speaker pro tempore on this day.

NEWT GINGRICH, Speaker of the House of Representatives.

64.2 APPROVAL OF THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. FOLEY, announced he had examined and approved the Journal of the proceedings of Wednesday, May 10, 1995.

Pursuant to clause 1, rule I, the Journal was approved.

64.3 MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

A message from the Senate by Mr. Lundregan, one of its clerks, announced that the Senate had passed with an amendment in which the concurrence of the House is requested, a bill of the House of the following title:

H.R. 956. An Act to establish legal standards and procedures for product liability litigation, and for other purposes.

The message also announced that pursuant to sections 276h-276k of title 22, United States Code, as amended, the Chair, on behalf of the Vice President, appoints Mrs. FEINSTEIN as a member of the Senate delegation to the Mexico-United States Interparliamentary Group during the 1st session of the 104th Congress, to be held in Tucson, AZ, May 12-14, 1995.

The message also announced that pursuant to sections 276d-276g of title 22, United States Code, as amended, the Chair. on behalf of the Vice President. appoints Mr. AKAKA as a member of the Senate delegation to the Canada-United States Interparliamentary Group during the 1st session of the 104th Congress, to be held in Huntsville, ON, Canada, May 18-22, 1995.

The message also announced that pursuant to sections 276h-276k of title 22, United States Code, as amended, the Chair, on behalf of the Vice President, appoints Mr. GRASSLEY, Mr. MUR-

KOWSKI, and Mr. GORTON as members of the Senate delegation to the Mexico-Interparliamentary United States Group during the 1st session of the 104th Congress, to be held in Tucson, AZ. May 12-14, 1995.

\$64.4 CLEAN WATER AMENDMENTS

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. FOLEY, pursuant to House Resolution 140 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the bill (H.R. 961) to amend the Federal Water Pollution Control Act.

Mr. HOBSON, Acting Chairman, assumed the chair; and after some time spent therein,

\$64.5 RECORDED VOTE

Bonior

Borski

Cardin

Condit

Covne

Dicks

Dovle

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

Fattah

Fazio

Flake

Forbes

Ford

Frost

Furse

Allard

Archer

Armey

Bachus

Farr

Clay

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. PALLONE:

Strike title IX of the bill (pages 323 through 326). **(**...

It was decided in the negative		Yeas 15 Nays 20	54 37
¶64.6 [Roll No. 315] AYES—154			
Ackerman Andrews Barcia	Harman Hastings (FL) Hinchey	Orton Owens Pallone	

Barrett (WI) Holden Payne (NJ) Becerra Hover Pelosi Jackson-Lee Beilenson Peterson (MN) Berman Jacobs Rahall Jefferson Rangel Johnson (CT) Reed Reynolds Boucher Johnson (SD) Brown (CA) Johnson, E.B. Richardson Brown (FL) Johnston Rivers Brown (OH) Kanjorski Roukema Roybal-Allard Bryant (TX) Kaptur Kennedy (RI) Rush Kennellv Sabo Clayton Kildee Sanders Clement Klink Sawyer Schroeder Clyburn LaFalce Coleman Schumer Lantos Collins (MI) Lazio Scott Levin Serrano Lewis (GA) Shays Convers Costello LoBiondo Skaggs Lofgren Skelton DeFazio Lowey Slaughter DeLauro Luther Smith (NJ) Dellums Malonev Spratt Deutsch Manton Stark Martinez Stokes Dingell Mascara Studds Matsui Stupak Doggett McCarthy Taylor (MS) McDermott Durbin Thompson McHale Torres Torricelli McKinney McNulty Tucker Meehan Velazquez Meek Vento Menendez Visclosky Fields (LA) Ward Mfume Miller (CA) Waters Foglietta Mineta Watt (NC) Minge Waxman Mink Wise Woolsey Moran Morella Wyden Gejdenson Nadler Wvnn Gephardt Neal Yates Gibbons Oberstar Zimmer Gutierrez Obev Olver Hall (OH) NOES-267 Baesler Abercrombie Barr Baker (CA) Bartlett Baker (LA) Barton Baldacci Bass

Bereuter Bevill Bilbray Bilirakis Bishop Bliley Blute Boehlert Boehner Bonilla Brewster Browder Brownback Bryant (TN) Bunn Bunning Burr Burton Buyer Callahan Calvert Camp Canady Castle Chabot Chambliss Chapman Chenoweth Christensen Chrysler Clinger Coble Coburn Combest Cooley Cox Cramer Crane Crapo Cremeans Cubin Cunningham Danner Davis de la Garza Deal DeLay Diaz-Balart Dickey Dixon Dooley Doolittle Dornan Dreier Duncan Dunn Edwards Ehlers Ehrlich Emerson English Ensign Everett Ewing Fawell Fields (TX) Filner Flanagan Foley Fowler Fox Frank (MA) Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Frisa Funderburk Gallegly Ganske Gekas Geren Gilchrest Gillmor

Bentsen

Goss

Horn

Hyde

Kim

King

Gilman Gonzalez Norwood Nussle Goodlatte Ortiz Oxley Packard Goodling Gordon Parker Graham Pastor Paxon Green Greenwood Payne (VA) Gunderson Petri Gutknecht Pickett Hall (TX) Pombo Hamilton Pomeroy Hancock Porter Hansen Portman Hastert Poshard Hastings (WA) Pryce Hayes Quillen Hayworth Quinn Hefley Radanovich Hefner Ramstad Regula Heineman Herger Riggs Hillearv Roberts Hilliard Roemer Rohrabacher Hobson Hoekstra Ros-Lehtinen Hoke Rose Roth Hostettler Rovce Houghton Salmon Hunter Saxton Hutchinson Scarborough Schaefer Inglis Schiff Istook Seastrand Johnson, Sam Sensenbrenner Jones Shadegg Kasich Shaw Kelly Shuster Kennedy (MA) Sisisky Skeen Smith (MI) Kingston Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Kleczka Klug Knollenberg Solomon Souder Kolbe Spence LaHood Stearns Largent Latham Stenholm Stockman LaTourette Stump Laughlin Talent Tanner Leach Lewis (CA) Tate Tauzin Lewis (KY) Taylor (NC) Lightfoot Lincoln Tejeda Linder Thomas Lipinski Thornberry Livingston Thornton Longley Thurman Lucas Tiahrt Manzullo Torkildsen Markey Traficant Martini Upton McCollum Volkmer Vucanovich McCrery McHugh Waldholtz McIntosh Walker Walsh McKeon Wamp Metcalf Meyers Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Mica Miller (FL) Weldon (PA) Molinari Weller Mollohan White Montgomery Wicker Moorhead Williams Wilson Myers Myrick Wolf Nethercutt Young (AK) Young (FL) Neumann Zeliff NOT VOTING-13

Barrett (NE) McInnis Sanford Bono Moakley Towns Collins (GA) Murtha Whitfield Collins (IL) Peterson (FL)	d
McDade Rogers	

Ney

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

§64.7 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the

677

Bateman

Ballenger