Gallegly Ganske Leach Lewis (CA) Roth Royce Lightfoot Salmon Gekas Geren Gillmor Linder Sanford Lipinski Scarborough Livingston Schaefer Goodlatte Goodling LoBiondo Schiff Longley Seastrand Gordon Sensenbrenner Manzullo Goss Shadegg Graham Martini Shaw Greenwood Shuster Mascara Gunderson McCollum Skeen Skelton Gutierrez McCrery Gutknecht McDade Smith (MI) Hall (TX) McHugh Smith (TX) Hamilton Smith (WA) McInnis Hancock McIntosh Solomon Hansen McKeon Souder Hastert Metcalf Spence Hastings (WA) Mica Spratt Miller (FL) Hayes Stearns Hayworth Molinari Stenholm Hefley Mollohan Stockman Heineman Montgomery Stump Herger Talent Hilleary Murtha Tanner Hilliard Myers Tate Myrick Tauzin Taylor (NC) Hoekstra Nethercutt Hoke Neumann Tejeda Horn Thomas Norwood Hostettler Thornberry Houghton Nussle Tiahrt Traficant Hunter Ortiz Hutchinson Orton Upton Visclosky Hyde Oxley Inglis Packard Vucanovich Waldholtz Istook Parker Johnson (CT) Paxon Walker Payne (VA) Johnson, Sam Walsh Petri Wamp Jones Watts (OK) Kasich Pickett Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Kelly Pombo Porter Kim King Portman Weller Kingston Poshard White Whitfield Klug Prvce Knollenberg Quillen Wicker Kolbe Quinn Wilson Wise LaFalce Radanovich LaHood Ramstad Wolf Largent Latham Young (AK) Regula Young (FL) Riggs Roberts LaTourette Zeliff Laughlin Roemer Zimmer Rohrabacher Lazio

NOT VOTING-8

Baker (CA) Fattah Peterson (FL) Bunning Collins (IL) Lewis (KY) Moakley

So the amendment was not agreed to.

¶63.18 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. BOEHLERT:

Page 115, strike line 5 and all that follows through line 3 on page 117 and insert the fol-

lowing: (n) COASTAL ZONE MANAGEMENT.—Section 6217 of the Coastal Zone Act Reauthorization Amendments of 1990 (16 U.S.C. 1451 note) is amended-

(1) in subsection (a)(1)—
(A) by inserting "(A)" after "PROGRAM DE-VELOPMENT.—"; and

(B) by adding at the end the following:

(B) A State that has not received Federal approval for the State's core coastal management program pursuant to section 306 of the Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972 (16 U.S.C. 1455) shall have 30 months from the date of approval of such program to submit a Coastal Nonpoint Pollution Program pursuant to this section. Any such State shall also be eligible for any extension of time for submittal of the State's nonpoint program that may be received by a State with a federally approved coastal management gram.

(2) in subsection (b), in the matter preceding paragraph (1), by striking "to protect coastal waters generally" and inserting "to restore and protect coastal waters where the State has determined that coastal waters are threatened or significantly degraded";

(3) in subsection (b)(3)-

- (A) by striking "The implementation" and inserting "A schedule for the implementation"; and
- (B) by inserting ", and no less often than once every 5 years," after "from time to time'
- (4) in subsection (b) by adding at the end the following:
- "(7) IDENTIFICATION OF PRIORITY AREAS.—A prioritization of the areas in the State in which management measures will be imple-
- (5) in subsection (c) by adding at the end the following:
- "(5) CONDITIONAL APPROVAL.—The Secretary and Administrator may grant conditional approval to a State's program where the State requests additional time to complete the development of its program. During the period during which the State's program is subject to conditional approval, the penalty provisions of paragraphs (3) and (4) shall not apply.
- (6) in subsection (h)(1) by striking ", 1993, and 1994" and inserting "through 2000"; and (7) in subsection (h)(2)(B)(iv) by striking "fiscal year 1995" and inserting "each of fiscal years 1995 through 2000'

It was decided in the Yeas affirmative Nays 199

963.19[Roll No. 314] AYES-224

Abercrombie Filner Lincoln Flake LoBiondo Ackerman Andrews Flanagan Lofgren Foglietta Baesler Longley Baldacci Lowey Barcia Forbes Luther Barrett (WI) Ford Maloney Becerra Manton Fox Frank (MA) Markey Martinez Beilenson Bentsen Franks (CT) Bereuter Franks (NJ) Martini Berman Frelinghuysen Mascara Bilirakis Frisa Matsui Bishop Frost McCollum Blute Furse McDermott Boehlert Gejdenson McHale Bonior Gephardt McHugh Borski Gibbons McKinney Brown (CA) Gilchrest McNulty Brown (FL) Gilman Meehan Brown (OH) Gordon Meek Bryant (TX) Menendez Graham Bunn Mevers Callahan Greenwood Mfume Cardin Gunderson Miller (CA) Castle Gutierrez Miller (FL) Hall (OH) Mineta Chapman Harman Minge Hastings (FL) Clayton Mink Hefley Molinari Clyburn Coleman Hefner Mollohan Collins (MI) Hinchey Moran Convers Houghton Morella Costello Hoyer Murtha Jackson-Lee Nadler Covne Davis Jacobs Neal DeFazio DeLauro Johnson (CT) Oberstar Johnson (SD) Obev Dellums Johnson, E. B. Olver Deutsch Johnston Orton Diaz-Balart Kanjorski Owens Dicks Kaptur Pallone Dingell Kelly Pastor Kennedy (MA) Payne (NJ) Dixon Kennedy (RI) Doggett Payne (VA) Kennelly Doyle Pelosi Durbin Kildee Peterson (MN) Kleczka Pomeroy Ehrlich Klink Porter Engel Kolbe Quinn English LaFalce Rahall Ramstad Eshoo Lantos Evans Reed Lazio Leach Reynolds Farr Fawell Richardson Levin

Roemer Ros-Lehtinen Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Sanders Sanford Sawyer Saxton Scarborough Schroeder Schumer Scott Serrano Shaw Shays Skaggs Slaughter

Smith (NJ) Spratt Stokes Studds Stupak Taylor (MS) Thompson Thornton Thurman Torkildsen Torres Torricelli Towns Tucker Upton . Velazquez Vento Visclosky

Volkmer Walsh Ward Waters Watt (NC) Waxman Weldon (PA) Whitfield Williams Wilson Wise Wolf Woolsey Wyden Wynn Yates Young (FL) Zimmer

NOES-199

Funderburk Allard Neumann Archer Gallegly Ney Norwood Armey Ganske Bachus Gekas Nussle Baker (LA) Geren Ortiz Ballenger Gillmor Oxlev Barr Gonzalez Packard Barrett (NE) Goodlatte Parker Bartlett Goodling Paxon Barton Green Petri Gutknecht Pickett Bass Bateman Hall (TX) Pombo Hamilton Portman Bilbray Hancock Poshard Blilev Hansen Prvce Boehner Hastert Quillen Hastings (WA) Bonilla Radanovich Bono Regula Haves Brewster Hayworth Riggs Roberts Browder Heineman Rohrabacher Brownback Herger Bryant (TN) Hilleary Burr Hilliard Roth Burton Hobson Royce Hoekstra Salmon Calvert Hoke Schaefer Holden Schiff Camp Seastrand Canady Horn Hostettlei Chabot Sensenbrenner Chambliss Hunter Shadegg Chenoweth Hutchinson Shuster Sisisky Christensen Hyde Inglis Chrysler Skeen Skelton Smith (MI) Clement Istook Johnson, Sam Clinger Jones Smith (TX) Coburn Collins (GA) Kasich Smith (WA) Solomon Kim Combest King Souder Condit Cooley Spence Stearns Kingston Klug Knollenberg Stenholm Cox Cramer LaHood Stockman Stump Crane Largent Crapo Latham Talent Cremeans LaTourette Tanner Cubin Tate Laughlin Cunningham Lewis (CA) Tauzin Taylor (NC) Danner de la Garza Lightfoot Tejeda Linder Deal Lipinski Thomas DeLay Livingston Thornberry Dickey Lucas Tiahrt Dooley Manzullo Traficant Doolittle Vucanovich McCarthy McCrery Waldholtz Dornan Dreier McDade Walker McInnis Wamp Watts (OK) Duncan Dunn McIntosh Edwards McKeon Weldon (FL) Emerson Metcalf Weller White Ensign Everett Montgomery Wicker Young (AK) Zeliff Moorhead Ewing Fields (TX) Myrick Nethercutt Fowler

NOT VOTING-11

Baker (CA) Fattah Peterson (FL) Boucher Jefferson Rangel Lewis (KY) Bunning Rogers Collins (IL) Moakley

So the amendment was agreed to. After some further time,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. NORWOOD, assumed the Chair.

Rivers

Lewis (GA)