was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered. That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said concurrent resolution.

## ¶62.14 COAST GUARD AUTHORIZATION

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. EWING, pursuant to House Resolution 139 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 1361) to authorize appropriations for fiscal year 1996 for the Coast Guard, and for other purposes.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. EWING, by unanimous consent, designated Mr. DICKEY as Chairman of the Committee of the Whole; and after some time spent therein,

# ¶62.15 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. TRAFICANT:

Strike Sec. 104 and insert in lieu thereof: SEC. 104. PROHIBITION ON SMALL BOAT STATION CLOSURES.

- (a) The Secretary may not use amounts appropriated under the authority of this Act to close any multimission small boat station.
- (b) The Secretary may implement management efficiencies within the small boat unit system, such as modifying the operational posture of the units or reallocating resources as necessary to ensure the safety of the maritime public, provided that there are adequate active duty and reserve Coast Guard personnel to perform search and rescue missions at existing small boat units.

It was decided in the Yeas negative ...... Nays ..... 272

#### 962.16[Roll No. 308] AYES-146

Frank (MA) McDermott Abercrombie Ackerman Frost McHale Andrews McKinney Furse Baker (LA) Gejdenson Baldacci Gephardt Menendez Barcia Gibbons Mfume Miller (CA) Beilenson Gillmor Bevill Gutierrez Mineta Hall (OH) Bishop Mink Hamilton Murtha Bonio Hastings (FL) Borski Nadler Boucher Hayes Nev Browder Hefner Oberstar Brown (FL) Hilliard Obev Brown (OH) Hinchey Olver Bryant (TX) Hoekstra Owens Bunn Holden Pallone Camp Hoyer Pastor Payne (NJ) Cardin Jackson-Lee Johnson (SD) Pelosi Clayton Petri Clement Johnson, E. B. Clyburn Kanjorski Rahall Collins (IL) Rangel Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Conyers Reed Reynolds Coyne de la Garza Kennelly Kildee Rivers DeFazio Kleczka Rose DeLauro Klink Roth Dixon Roybal-Allard Lantos Laughlin Rush Ehlers Levin Sabo Lewis (GA) Sanders Engel Lipinski Sawyer LoBiondo Evans Schumer Scott Farr Lofgren Fazio Sensenbrenner Fields (LA) Manton Serrano Filner Markey Skaggs Martinez Flake Slaughter Foglietta Smith (N.J) Mascara Forbes Matsui Stark

Stockman Towns Stokes Traficant Studds Tucker Velazguez Stupak Tauzin Vento Visclosky Thompson Thornton Walsh Torricelli Ward

Allard

Archer

Armey

Bachus

Baesler

Baker (CA)

Barrett (NE)

Barrett (WI)

Bartlett

Bateman

Becerra

Bentsen

Bereuter

Bilbray Bilirakis

Bliley

Blute

Boehner

Bonilla

Brewster

Bunning

Burton

Buyer

CaĬlahan

Calvert

Canady

Castle

Chabot

Chambliss

Chapman

Chrysler

Clay

Clinger

Coburn

Coleman

Combest

Cooley Costello

Cramer

Crane

Crapo

Cubin

Danner

Davis

Deal

DeLav

Dellums

Deutsch

Dickey

Doggett

Doolittle

Dornan

Dreier

Duncan

Durbin

Edwards

Ehrlich

Emerson

English

Ensign

Everett

Ewing

Fawell

Foley

Fox

Fowler

Fields (TX)

Franks (CT)

Flanagan

Dunn

Dooley

Dicks

Diaz-Balart

Cremeans

Cunningham

Condit

Collins (GA)

Coble

Chenoweth

Christensen

Brownback

Bryant (TN)

Bono

Barton

Bass

Ballenger

Waters Wise Woolsey Wyden Wynn Young (AK)

NOES-272 Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Frisa Moran Funderburk Morella Gallegly Myers Ganske Myrick Gekas Neal Geren Gilchrest Gilman Goodlatte Nussle Goodling Ortiz Gordon Orton Oxley Goss Graham Green Parker Greenwood Paxon Gunderson Gutknecht Hall (TX) Pickett Hancock Pombo Hansen Harman Porter Hastert Hastings (WA) Poshard Hayworth Pryce Hefley Quillen Heineman Quinn Herger Hilleary Hobson Regula Hoke Horn Riggs Hostettler Roberts Houghton Roemer Hunter Hutchinson Hyde Inglis Istook Royce Saľmon Jacobs Sanford Johnson (CT) Saxton Johnson, Sam Johnston Jones Schiff Kasich Kelly Kennedy (RI) Shaw King Shays Kingston Shuster Klug Knollenberg Sisisky Skeen Kolbe Skelton LaFalce LaHood Largent Latham LaTourette Souder Lazio Spence Leach Spratt Lewis (CA) Stearns Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Stump Lincoln Talent Linder Tanner Livingston Longley Lucas Tejeda Luther Thomas Manzullo Martini McCarthy McCollum Tiahrt McCrery McDade Torres McHugh Upton McInnis McIntosh Waldholtz McKeon McNulty Walker Wamp Meehan Watt (NC) Metcalf Meyers Watts (OK) Mica Waxman Miller (FL) Weldon (FL)

Montgomery Moorhead Nethercutt Neumann Norwood Packard Payne (VA) Peterson (MN) Pomerov Portman Radanovich Ramstad Richardson Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roukema Scarborough Schaefer Schroeder Seastrand Shadegg Smith (MI) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Stenholm Tate Taylor (NC) Thornberry Thurman Torkildsen Volkmer Vucanovich

Whitfield Williams Young (FL) Zeliff Wolf Wicker

NOT VOTING-16

Ford Rogers Taylor (MS) Berman Gonzalez Boehlert Jefferson Wilson Brown (CA) Collins (MI) Maloney Zimmer Moakley Dingell Peterson (FL)

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. LATOURETTE, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. DICKEY, Chairman, pursuant to House Resolution 139, reported the bill back to the House with an amendment adopted by the Committee.

The previous question having been ordered by said resolution.

The following amendment, reported from the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union, was agreed to:

Strike out all after the enacting clause and insert:

### SECTION 1. SHORT TITLE.

This Act may be cited as the "Coast Guard Authorization Act For Fiscal Year 1996".

## SEC. 2. TABLE OF CONTENTS.

The table of contents for this Act is as fol-

Sec. 1. Short title.

Sec. 2. Table of contents.

TITLE I-AUTHORIZATIONS

Sec. 101. Authorization of appropriations.

Sec. 102. Authorized levels of military strength and training.

Sec. 103. Quarterly reports on drug interdiction.

Sec. 104. Ensuring maritime safety after closure of small boat station or reduction to seasonal status

## TITLE II—PERSONNEL MANAGEMENT IMPROVEMENT

Sec. 201. Hurricane Andrew relief.

Sec. 202. Exclude certain reserves from endof-year strength.

Sec. 203. Provision of child development services.

Sec. 204. Access to national driver register information on certain Coast Guard personnel.

Sec. 205. Officer retention until retirement eligible.

# TITLE III—NAVIGATION SAFETY AND WATERWAY SERVICES MANAGEMENT

Sec. 301. Foreign passenger vessel user fees. Sec. 302. Florida Avenue Bridge.

Sec. 303. Renewal of Houston-Galveston Navigation Safety Advisory Committee and Lower Mis-Advisory sissippi River Waterway Advisory Committee.

Sec. 304. Renewal of the Navigation Safety Advisory Council.

Sec. 305. Renewal of Commercial Fishing Industry Vessel Advisory Committee.

Sec. 306. Nondisclosure of port security plans.

Sec. 307. Maritime drug and alcohol testing program civil penalty.

Sec. 308. Withholding vessel clearance for

violation of certain Acts.

Sec. 309. Increased civil penalties.

Sec. 310. Amendment to require emergency position indicating radio beacons on the Great Lakes.

Sec. 311. Extension of Towing Safety Advisory Committee.

# TITLE IV-MISCELLANEOUS

Sec. 401. Transfer of Coast Guard property in Traverse City, Michigan.

Weldon (PA)

Weller

Minge Molinari