Shays

Shuster

Montgomery Moorhead

Kasich

Kelly

Federal agencies involved in combating such acts of terrorism.

When said resolution was considered. After debate.

By unanimous consent, the previous question was ordered on the resolution to its adoption or rejection.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House agree to said resolu-

tion?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. COMBEST, announced that the year had it.

Mr. LUCAS objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present, The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

Yeas 409 Nays When there appeared Answered present

960.17[Roll No. 305] YEAS-409

Abercrombie Collins (GA) Frelinghuysen Frisa Ackerman Collins (IL) Collins (MI) Frost Andrews Combest Funderburk Furse Archer Condit Costello Ganske Armev Bachus Baker (CA) Gejdenson Gekas Cox Coyne Baker (LA) Gephardt Cramer Ballenger Crane Geren Gibbons Barcia Crapo Cremeans Gilchrest Barr Barrett (NE) Cubin Gillmor Barrett (WI) Cunningham Gilman Bartlett Danner Gonzalez Barton Davis Goodlatte de la Garza Goodling Bass Bateman Deal Gordon DeFazio Beilenson Goss Graham Bentsen DeLauro Bereuter DeLay Green Greenwood Berman Dellums Bevill Deutsch Gunderson Bilbray Diaz-Balart Gutierrez Bishon Gutknecht Dickey Hall (OH) Dicks Blute Dingell Hall (TX) Boehlert Hamilton Dixon Doggett Hancock Dooley Bonilla Hansen Doolittle Bonior Harman Dornan Hastert Hastings (FL) Borski Dovle Hastings (WA) Boucher Dreier Duncan Brewster Hayes Hayworth Browder Dunn Brown (CA) Durbin Hefley Brown (FL) Edwards Hefner Brown (OH) Ehlers Heineman Ehrlich Brownback Herger Bryant (TN) Hilleary Emerson Bryant (TX) Engel Hinchey Bunn English Hobson Bunning Ensign Hoekstra Burr Eshoo Hoke Burton Evans Holden Buyer Callahan Everett Horn Hostettler Ewing Calvert Houghton Farr Camp Fattah Hoyer Canady Fawell Hunter Cardin Fazio Hutchinson Fields (LA) Castle Hyde Chabot Fields (TX) Inglis Chambliss Filner Istook Jackson-Lee Chapman Flake Chenoweth Jacobs Flanagan Jefferson Christensen Foglietta Chrysler Clayton Foley Forbes Johnson (CT) Johnson (SD) Clement Ford Johnson, E. B. Clinger Fowler Johnson, Sam Clyburn Fox Johnston Coble Frank (MA) Jones Kaniorski Coburn Franks (CT) Coleman Franks (NJ) Kaptur

Kennedy (MA) Moran Sisisky Kennedy (RI) Morella Skaggs Kennelly Murtha Skeen Skelton Kildee Myers Kim Myrick Nadler Slaughter Smith (MI) King Kingston Neal Smith (NJ) Kleczka Nethercutt Smith (TX) Klink Neumann Smith (WA) Solomon Klug Ney Knollenberg Norwood Souder Kolbe Nussle Spence LaFalce Oberstar Spratt LaHood Obey Stark Lantos Olver Stearns Largent Ortiz Stenholm Latham Orton Stockman LaTourette Owens Stokes Oxley Laughlin Studds Packard Lazio Stump Leach Pallone Stupak Levin Pastor Talent Lewis (CA) Paxon Tanner Lewis (GA) Payne (NJ) Tate Lewis (KY) Payne (VA) Tauzin Taylor (MS) Lightfoot Pelosi Taylor (NC) Lincoln Peterson (FL) Linder Petri Tejeda Lipinski Pickett Thomas Livingston Pombo Thornberry LoBiondo Pomerov Thornton Porter Thurman Lofgren Portman Tiahrt Torkildsen Longley Lowey Poshard Torres Lucas Pryce Luther Quillen Torricelli Radanovich Malonev Towns Manton Rahall Traficant Manzullo Ramstad Tucker Markey Rangel Upton Martinez Reed Velazquez Martini Regula Vento Visclosky Revnolds Mascara Matsui Richardson Volkmer McCarthy Riggs Vucanovich Waldholtz McCollum Rivers McCrery Roberts Walker McDade Roemer Walsh McDermott Wamp Rohrabacher McHale Rose Ward Watts (OK) McHugh Roth McInnis Roukema Weldon (FL) Roybal-Allard Weldon (PA) McIntosh Royce Rush McKeon Weller McKinney White McNulty Sabo Whitfield Meehan Salmon Wicker Meek Sanders Williams Metcalf Sanford Wolf Mevers Sawyer Schaefer Woolsey Mfume Wyden Mica Miller (CA) Schiff Wynn Schroeder Yates Miller (FL) Schumer Young (AK) Mineta Seastrand Young (FL) Sensenbrenner Minge Zeliff Mink Serrano Molinari Shadegg Mollohan Shaw

ANSWERED "PRESENT"-3

Watt (NC) Scott Waters

NOT VOTING-22

Hilliard Baesler Saxton Baldacci Menendez Scarborough Becerra Moakley Thompson Bilirakis Parker Waxman Clay Peterson (MN) Wilson Convers Quinn Wise Cooley Rogers Gallegly Ros-Lehtinen

So the resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

$\P60.18$ Providing for the CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 655

Mr. QUILLEN, by direction of the Committee on Rules, called up the following resolution (H. Res. 136):

Resolved, That at any time after the adoption of this resolution the Speaker may, pur-

suant to clause 1(b) of rule XXIII, declare the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for consideration of the bill (H.R. 655) to authorize the hydrogen research, development, and demonstration programs of the Department of Energy, and for other purposes. The first reading of the bill shall be dispensed with. General debate shall be confined to the bill and shall not exceed one hour equally divided and controlled by the chairman and ranking minority member of the Committee on Science. After general debate the bill shall be considered for amendment under the five-minute rule. It shall be in order to consider as an original bill for the purpose of amendment under the five-minute rule the amendment in the nature of a substitute recommended by the Committee on Science now printed in the bill. Each section of the committee amendment in the nature of a substitute shall be considered as read. At the conclusion of consideration of the bill for amendment the Committee shall rise and report the bill to the House with such amendments as may have been adopted. Any Member may demand a separate vote in the House on any amendment adopted in the Committee of the Whole to the bill or to the committee amendment in the nature of a substitute. The previous question shall be considered as ordered on the bill and amendments thereto to final passage without intervening motion except one motion to recommit with or without instructions.

When said resolution was considered. After debate.

On motion of Mr. QUILLEN, the previous question was ordered on the resolution to its adoption or rejection and under the operation thereof, the resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶60.19 HYDROGEN FUTURE

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. COMBEST, pursuant to House Resolution 136 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 655) to authorize the hydrogen research, development, demonstration programs of the Department of Energy, and for other purposes.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. COMBEST, by unanimous consent, designated Mr. HANSEN as Chairman of the Committee of the Whole; and after some time spent therein,

¶60.20 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. OLVER:

Page 8, line 9, strike "\$25,000,000" and insert in lieu thereof "\$16,000,000".

Page 8, line 10, strike "\$35,000,000" and insert in lieu thereof "\$22,000,000"

Page 8, line 11, strike "\$40,000,000" and insert in lieu thereof "\$26,000,000"

Yeas It was decided in the negative Nays 214

960.21[Roll No. 306] AYES-201

Abercrombie Barcia Bevill Barrett (WI) Bilbray Ackerman Beilenson Bishop