Federal agencies involved in combating acts of terrorism.

When said resolution was consid After debate,

By unanimous consent, the prev question was ordered on the resolu to its adoption or rejection.

The question being put, viva voce

Will the House agree to said retion?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, COMBEST, announced that the had it.

Mr. LUCAS objected to the vot the ground that a quorum was present and not voting.

A quorum not being present, The roll was called under claus rule XV, and the call was taken electronic device.

Yeas 4			
When there appeared		Nays Answered present	
$ \[60.17] $	[Roll No. 305		
100.17	YEAS-409	-	
Abercrombie	Collins (GA)	Frelinghuysen	
Ackerman Allard	Collins (IL) Collins (MI)	Frisa Frost	
Andrews	Combest	Funderburk	
Archer	Condit	Furse	
Armey	Costello	Ganske	
Bachus	Cox	Gejdenson	
Baker (CA) Baker (LA)	Coyne Cramer	Gekas Gephardt	
Ballenger	Crane	Geren	
Barcia	Crapo	Gibbons	
Barr	Cremeans	Gilchrest	
Barrett (NE)	Cubin	Gillmor	
Barrett (WI) Bartlett	Cunningham Danner	Gilman Gonzalez	
Barton	Davis	Goodlatte	
Bass	de la Garza	Goodling	
Bateman	Deal	Gordon	
Beilenson	DeFazio	Goss	
Bentsen Bereuter	DeLauro DeLay	Graham Green	
Berman	Dellums	Greenwood	
Bevill	Deutsch	Gunderson	
Bilbray	Diaz-Balart	Gutierrez	
Bishop	Dickey	Gutknecht	
Bliley Blute	Dicks	Hall (OH) Hall (TX)	
Boehlert	Dingell Dixon	Hamilton	
Boehner	Doggett	Hancock	
Bonilla	Dooley	Hansen	
Bonior	Doolittle	Harman	
Bono Borski	Dornan	Hastert	
Boucher	Doyle Dreier	Hastings (FL) Hastings (WA)	
Brewster	Duncan	Hayes	
Browder	Dunn	Hayworth	
Brown (CA)	Durbin	Hefley	
Brown (FL) Brown (OH)	Edwards Ehlers	Hefner Heineman	
Brownback	Ehrlich	Herger	
Bryant (TN)	Emerson	Hilleary	
Bryant (TX)	Engel	Hinchey	
Bunn	English	Hobson	
Bunning Burr	Ensign Eshoo	Hoekstra Hoke	
Burton	Evans	Holden	
Buyer	Everett	Horn	
Callahan	Ewing	Hostettler	
Calvert	Farr	Houghton	
Camp Canady	Fattah Fawell	Hoyer Hunter	
Cardin	Fazio	Hutchinson	
Castle	Fields (LA)	Hyde	
Chabot	Fields (TX)	Inglis	
Chambliss	Filner	Istook	
Chapman Chenoweth	Flake	Jackson-Lee Jacobs	
Christensen	Flanagan Foglietta	Jefferson	
Chrysler	Foley	Johnson (CT)	
Clayton	Forbes	Johnson (SD)	
Clement	Ford	Johnson, E. B.	
Clinger	Fowler Fox	Johnson, Sam Johnston	
Clyburn Coble	Fox Frank (MA)	Jonnston Jones	
Coburn	Franks (CT)	Kanjorski	
Coleman	Franks (NJ)	Kaptur	

g such	Kasich Kelly
ered.	Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly
vious	Kildee
ution	Kim King
э,	Kingston Kleczka
solu-	Klink Klug
	Knollenberg
Mr. yeas	Kolbe LaFalce
Jeas	LaHood Lantos
e on	Largent Latham
not	LaTourette
	Laughlin Lazio
se 4,	Leach Levin
n by	Lewis (CA) Lewis (GA)
. 409	Lewis (KY)
. 0 I	Lightfoot Lincoln
3	Linder Lipinski
	Livingston
	LoBiondo Lofgren
/sen	Longley Lowey
	Lucas Luther
k	Maloney
	Manton Manzullo
	Markey Martinez
	Martini Mascara
	Matsui
	McCarthy McCollum
	McCrery McDade
	McDermott McHale
	McHugh
	McInnis McIntosh
1	McKeon McKinney
	McNulty Meehan
1	Meek
	Metcalf Meyers
	Mfume Mica
	Miller (CA) Miller (FL)
FL)	Mineta
WA)	Minge Mink
	Molinari Mollohan
	AN
	Scott
	Baesler Baldacci
	Becerra Bilirakis
	Clay
	Conyers Cooley
	Gallegly
n	So the r A moti
	whereby s
	was, by ur table.
ee	-
CT)	60.18 PR CONSIE
SD) E. B.	Mr. QU
Sam	Committe
	lowing res

Montgomery Moorhead Shays Shuster Moran Sisiskv Morella Skaggs Murtha Skeen Skelton Myers Myrick Nadler Slaughter Smith (MI) Neal Smith (NJ) Nethercutt Smith (TX) Neumann Smith (WA) Ney Solomon Norwood Souder Nussle Spence Oberstar Spratt Obey Olver Stark Stearns Ortiz Stenholm Orton Stockman Owens Stokes Oxley Studds Packard Stump Pallone Stupak Pastor Talent Paxon Tanner Payne (NJ) Tate Payne (VA) Tauzin Taylor (MS) Pelosi Taylor (NC) Peterson (FL) Petri Tejeda Pickett Thomas Pombo Thornberry Pomeroy Thornton Porter Thurman Portman Tiahrt Torkildsen Poshard Torres Pryce Quillen Torricelli Radanovich Towns Rahall Traficant Ramstad Tucker Rangel Upton Reed Velazquez Regula Vento Visclosky Revnolds Richardson Volkmer Riggs Vucanovich Waldholtz Rivers Roberts Walker Roemer Walsh Rohrabacher Wamp Rose Ward Watts (OK) Roth Weldon (FL) Roukema Roybal-Allard Weldon (PA) Royce Rush Weller White Sabo Whitfield Salmon Wicker Sanders Williams Sanford Wolf Sawyer Schaefer Woolsey Wyden SchiffWynn Schroeder Yates Schumer Young (AK) Seastrand Young (FL) Sensenbrenner Zeliff Serrano Zimmer Shadegg Shaw NSWERED "PRESENT"-3 Waters Watt (NC)

	NOT VOTING-	-22
Baesler Baldacci Becerra Bilirakis Clay Conyers Cooley Gallegly	Hilliard Menendez Moakley Parker Peterson (MN) Quinn Rogers Ros-Lehtinen	Saxton Scarborough Thompson Waxman Wilson Wise

resolution was agreed to.

tion to reconsider the vote said resolution was agreed to unanimous consent, laid on the

ROVIDING FOR THE

IDERATION OF H.R. 655

UILLEN, by direction of the ee on Rules, called up the following resolution (H. Res. 136):

Resolved, That at any time after the adoption of this resolution the Speaker may, pur-

suant to clause 1(b) of rule XXIII, declare the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for consideration of the bill (H.R. 655) to authorize the hydrogen research, development, and demonstration programs of the Department of Energy, and for other purposes. The first reading of the bill shall be dispensed with. General debate shall be confined to the bill and shall not exceed one hour equally divided and controlled by the chairman and ranking minority member of the Committee on Science. After general debate the bill shall be considered for amendment under the five-minute rule. It shall be in order to consider as an original bill for the purpose of amendment under the five-minute rule the amendment in the nature of a substitute recommended by the Committee on Science now printed in the bill. Each section of the committee amendment in the nature of a substitute shall be considered as read. At the conclusion of consideration of the bill for amendment the Committee shall rise and report the bill to the House with such amendments as may have been adopted. Any Member may demand a separate vote in the House on any amendment adopted in the Committee of the Whole to the bill or to the committee amendment in the nature of a substitute. The previous question shall be considered as ordered on the bill and amendments thereto to final passage without intervening motion except one motion to recommit with or without instructions.

When said resolution was considered. After debate.

On motion of Mr. QUILLEN, the previous question was ordered on the resolution to its adoption or rejection and under the operation thereof, the resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

60.19 HYDROGEN FUTURE

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. COMBEST, pursuant to House Resolution 136 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 655) to authorize the hydrogen research, development, demonstration programs of the Department of Energy, and for other purposes.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. COMBEST, by unanimous consent, designated Mr. HANSEN as Chairman of the Committee of the Whole; and after some time spent therein,

\$60.20 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. OLVER:

Page 8, line 9, strike ''\$25,000,000'' and in-sert in lieu thereof ''\$16,000,000''. Page 8, line 10, strike ''\$35,000,000'' and in-

sert in lieu thereof "\$22,000,000".

Page 8, line 1	l, strike	``\$40,000,000''	and	in-
sert in lieu ther	eof ''\$26,0	00,000''.		

It was decided in the	Yeas	201
negative	Nays	214

.21	[Roll No. 306]	
	AYES-201	

¶60.

Abercrombie	Barcia	Bevill
Ackerman	Barrett (WI)	Bilbray
Andrews	Beilenson	Bishop