Hoke Holden

Horn

managers on the part of the House at said conference.

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate of the foregoing appointments.

\$60.12 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

A message in writing from the President of the United States was communicated in the House by Mr. Edwin Thomas, one of his secretaries.

¶60.13 H. CON. RES. 53—UNFINISHED BUSINESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. COMBEST, pursuant to clause 5, rule I, announced the unfinished business to be the motion to suspend the rules and agree to the concurrent resolution (H. Con. Res. 53) expressing the sense of the Congress regarding a private visit by President Lee Teng-hui of the Re-public of China on Taiwan to the United States; as amended.

The question being put,

Will the House suspend the rules and agree to said concurrent resolution, as amended?

The vote was taken by electronic device. decided in the fr

It was deci affirmative .	ded in the	Yeas Nays
¶60.14	[Roll No. 304]	
	YEAS-396	
Abercrombie	Clement	Fields (LA)
Ackerman	Clinger	Fields (TX)
Andrews	Clyburn	Filner
Archer	Coble	Flake
Armey	Coburn	Flanagan
Bachus	Coleman	Foglietta
Baker (CA)	Collins (GA)	Foley
Baker (LA)	Collins (IL)	Forbes
Ballenger	Collins (MI)	Ford
Barcia	Combest	Fowler
Barr	Condit	Fox
Barrett (NE)	Cooley	Frank (MA)
Barrett (WI)	Costello	Franks (CT)
Bartlett	Cox	Franks (NJ)
Bass	Coyne	Frelinghuyser
Bateman	Cramer	Frisa
Beilenson	Crane	Frost
Bentsen	Crapo	Funderburk
Bereuter	Cremeans	Furse
Berman	Cunningham	Ganske
Bevill	Danner	Gekas
Bilbray	Davis	Gephardt
Bishop	de la Garza	Geren
Bliley	Deal	Gibbons
Blute	DeFazio	Gilchrest
Boehlert	DeLauro	Gillmor
Bonilla	DeLay	Gilman
Bonior	Dellums	Gonzalez
Bono Borski	Deutsch	Goodlatte
Boucher	Diaz-Balart	Goodling Gordon
Brewster	Dickey Dicks	Goss
Brown (CA)	Dixon	Graham
Brown (FL)	Doggett	Green
Brown (OH)	Dooley	Gunderson
Brownback	Doolittle	Gutierrez
Bryant (TN)	Dornan	Gutknecht
Bryant (TX)	Doyle	Hall (OH)
Bunn	Dreier	Hall (TX)
Bunning	Duncan	Hamilton
Burr	Dunn	Hancock
Burton	Durbin	Hansen
Buyer	Edwards	Harman
Callahan	Ehlers	Hastert
Calvert	Ehrlich	Hastings (FL)
Camp	Emerson	Hastings (WA
Canady	Engel	Hayes
Cardin	English	Hayworth
Castle	Ensign	Hefley
Chabot	Eshoo	Hefner
Chambliss	Evans	Heineman
Chapman	Everett	Herger
Chenoweth	Ewing	Hilleary
Christensen	Farr	Hinchey
Chrysler	Fawell	Hobson
Clayton	Fazio	Hoekstra

Hostettler Houghton Hover Hunter Hutchinson Hyde Inglis Istook Jackson-Lee Jefferson Johnson (CT) Johnson (SD) Johnson, E.B. Johnson, Sam Johnston Jones Kanjorski Kaptur Kasich Kelly Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Kim King Kingston Kleczka Klink Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaFalce LaHood Lantos 396 Latham LaTourette 0 Laughlin Lazio Leach Levin Lewis (CA) Lewis (GA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Lincoln Lipinski Livingston LoBiondo Lofgren Longley Lowey Lucas Luther Maloney Manton n Manzullo Markey Martini Mascara Matsui McCarthy McCollum McCrery McDade McDermott McHale McHugh McInnis McIntosh McKeon McKinney McNulty Allard Baesler Baldacci Barton Becerra Bilirakis Boehner Browder Clav Conyers Cubin Dingell Fattah

Meehan Meek Metcalf Meyers Mfume Serrano Shadegg Mica Shaw Miller (FL) Shays Mineta Shuster Minge Sisisky Mink Skaggs Molinari Skeen Mollohan Skelton Montgomery Moorhead Moran Myers Myrick Nadler Solomon Neal Souder Nethercutt Spence Neumann Spratt Ney Norwood Stark Stearns Nussle Oberstar Obey Studds Olver Stump Ortiz Stupak Orton Talent Owens Tanner Oxley Tate Packard Tauzin Pallone Pastor Paxon Tejeda Payne (NJ) Thomas Payne (VA) Peľosi Thornton Peterson (FL) Thurman Peterson (MN) Tiahrt Petri Pickett Torres Pombo Pomeroy Towns Porter Portman Upton Poshard Vento Prvce Quillen Radanovich Volkmer Rahall Ramstad Reed Walker Regula Walsh Reynolds Wamp Richardson Ward Riggs Waters Rivers Roberts Roemer Rohrabacher Rose Weller Roth White Roybal-Allard Whitfield Royce Wicker Williams Rush Sabo Wilson Salmon Wolf Sanders Woolsey Sanford Wyden Sawver Wvnn Scarborough Yates Schaefer Schiff Schroeder Zeliff Schumer Zimmer NOT VOTING-38 Gallegly Parker Gejdenson Quinn Greenwood Rangel Hilliard Rogers Jacobs Roukema Largent Linder Saxton Martinez Stokes Menendez Thompson Miller (CA) Tucker Moakley Waxman Wise Morella Murtha

two-thirds of the Members So. present having voted in favor thereof, the rules were suspended and said concurrent resolution, as amended, was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby the rules were suspended and

Scott Seastrand Sensenbrenner Slaughter Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Stenholm Stockman Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Thornberry Torkildsen Torricelli Traficant Velazouez Visclosky Vucanovich Waldholtz Watt (NC) Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Young (AK) Young (FL)

Ros-Lehtinen

said concurrent resolution, as amended, was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Snate in said concurrent resolution.

60.15 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT— BUDGET IMPOUNDMENT

The SPEAKER tempore, Mr. COM-BEST, laid before the House a message from the President, which was read as follows:

To the Congress of the United States:

In accordance with the Congressional Budget and Impoundment Control Act of 1974, I herewith report three rescission proposals, totaling \$132.0 million.

The proposed rescissions affect the Departments of Justice and Transportation, and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

WILLIAM J. CLINTON.

THE WHITE HOUSE, May 2, 1995. By unanimous consent, the message, together with the accompanying pa-

pers, was referred to the Committee on Appropriations and ordered to be printed (H. Doc. 104-59).

60.16 OKLAHOMA CITY BOMBING

On motion of Mr. LUCAS, by unanimous consent, the Committee on the Judiciary was discharged from further consideration of the following resolution (H. Res. 135):

Whereas on Wednesday, April 19, 1995, a car bomb exploded outside the Alfred P. Murrah Building in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, collapsing the north face of this 9-story concrete building, killing and injuring innocent and defenseless children and adults;

Whereas authorities are calling this the "deadliest terrorist attack ever on United States soil'

Whereas Federal law provides for the imposition of the death penalty for terrorist murder; and

Whereas additional antiterrorism measures are now pending for consideration in the United States House of Representatives: Now, therefore, be it

of Resolved. That the House Representatives-

(1) condemns, in the strongest possible terms, the heinous bombing attack against innocent children and adults at the Alfred P.

Murrah Federal Building in Oklahoma City; (2) sends its heartfelt condolences to the families, friends, and loved ones of those whose lives were taken away by this abhorrent and cowardly act; and expresses its hopes for the rapid and complete recovery of those wounded in the bombing;

(3) applauds all those courageous rescue and volunteer workers who are giving unselfishly of themselves, and commends all law enforcement officials who are working determinedly to bring the perpetrators to justice;

(4) supports the President's and the United States Attorney General's position that Federal prosecutors will seek the maximum penalty allowed by law, including the death penalty, for those responsible; (5) commends the rapid actions taken by

the President to provide assistance to the victims of the explosion and for promptly beginning an investigation to find the perpetrators of this crime, and it urges the President to use all necessary means to continue this effort until the perpetrators and their accomplices are found and appropriately punished; and

(6) will expeditiously approve legislation to strengthen the authority and resources of all