Walsh

Weller

White Whitfield

Young (AK)

Young (FL)

Wicker

Wolf

Zeliff

Ortiz

Zimmer

Wamp Watts (OK)

Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA)

the House to originate a revenue measure must be made contemporaneous with the consideration of the measure by the House and may not be raised after the fact.

The Chair rules that the resolution does not constitute a question of the privileges of the House.

Mr. DEUTSCH appealed the ruling of the Chair.

Mr. WALKER moved to lay the appeal on the table.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House lay on the table the

appeal of the ruling of the Chair?
The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr.
McINNIS, announced that the nays had

Mr. WALKER objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

When there appeared $\begin{cases} Yeas \dots 230 \\ Nays \dots 192 \end{cases}$

¶57.21 [Roll No. 300] YEAS—230

English Allard Largent Ensign Latham Armey Everett LaTourette Bachus Ewing Lazio Baker (CA) Fawell Leach Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Baker (LA) Fields (TX) Ballenger Flanagan Lightfoot Foley Barrett (NE) Forbes Linder Bartlett Fowler Livingston Barton Fox LoBiondo Franks (N.J) Bass Longley Bateman Frelinghuysen Lucas Bereuter Manzullo Frisa Funderburk Bilbray Martini Bilirakis Gallegly McCollum McCrery Bliley Ganske Blute Gekas McDade Boehlert Geren McHugh Boehner Gilchrest McInnis McIntosh Bonilla Gillmor Bono Gilman McKeon Brownback Goodlatte Metcalf Bryant (TN) Goodling Meyers Goss Bunning Graham Miller (FL) Greenwood Molinari Burr Montgomery Burton Gunderson Buver Gutknecht Moorhead Callahan Morella Hancock Calvert Hansen Camp Hastert Myrick Canady Hastings (WA) Nethercutt Hayworth Castle Neumann Chabot Hefley Ney Chambliss Norwood Heineman Chenoweth Nussle Herger Christensen Hilleary Oxlev Chrysler Hobson Packard Clinger Hoekstra Parker Paxon Coble Hoke Coburn Horn Petri Collins (GA) Hostettler Pombo Porter Combest Houghton Cooley Hunter Portman Pryce Quillen Cox Hutchinson Crane Hvde Crapo Inglis Quinn Radanovich Cremeans Istook Johnson (CT) Cubin Ramstad Cunningham Johnson, Sam Regula Riggs Roberts Davis Johnston DeLay Jones Diaz-Balart Kasich Rogers Rohrabacher Doolittle Kelly Dornan Kim Ros-Lehtinen Dreier King Roth Roukema Duncan Kingston Dunn Klug Royce Knollenberg Salmon Ehlers Ehrlich Kolbe Sanford

Saxton

Scarborough Schaefer Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon

Abercrombie

Spence
Stearns
Stockman
Stump
Talent
Tate
Taylor (NC)
Thomas
Thornberry
Tiahrt
Torkildsen
Upton
Vucanovich
Waldholtz
Walker

NAYS—192

Gonzalez

Andrews Gordon Orton Baesler Owens Green Pallone Baldacci Gutierrez Hall (OH) Pastor Barcia Payne (NJ) Barrett (WI) Hall (TX) Payne (VA) Becerra Hamilton Peterson (FL) Beilenson Harman Peterson (MN) Bentsen Hastings (FL) Pickett Berman Hefner Pomerov Bevill Hilliard Posharď Hinchey Bishop Rahall Bonior Holden Rangel Borski Hover Reed Jackson-Lee Boucher Richardson Brewster Jacobs Rivers Browder Jefferson Roemer Brown (CA) Johnson (SD) Rose Brown (FL) Johnson, E. B. Roybal-Allard Brown (OH) Kanjorski Rush Kennedy (MA) Bryant (TX) Sabo Cardin Kennedy (RI) Sanders Kennelly Clay Sawyer Clayton Kildee Schroeder Kleczka Clement Schumer Clyburn Klink Scott Coleman LaFalce Serrano Collins (IL) Lantos Sisisky Collins (MI) Laughlin Skaggs Condit Levin Skelton Lewis (GA) Conyers Slaughter Costello Lincoln Spratt Lipinski Coyne Stark Cramer Lofgren Stenholm Danner Lowey Stokes de la Garza Luther Studds Maloney Stupak DeFazio Manton Tanner Tauzin DeLauro Markey Taylor (MS) Dellums Martinez Tejeda Thompson Deutsch Mascara Dicks Matsui Thornton Dingell McCarthy McDermott Thurman Torres Doggett McHale Torricelli McKinney Dooley Doyle McNulty Towns Traficant Durbin Meehan Velazquez Edwards Meek Menendez Vento Engel Visclosky Mfume Miller (CA) Eshoo Volkmer Evans Ward Farr Mineta Waters Minge Fattah Watt (NC) Fazio Mink Fields (LA) Moakley Waxman Williams Filner Mollohan Wilson Flake Moran Wise Foglietta Murtha Woolsey Ford Nadler Wyden Furse Neal Gejdenson Wynn Oberstar Gephardt Obey Gibbons Olver

NOT VOTING—12

Ackerman Franks (CT) Pelosi Chapman Frost Reynolds Dickey Hayes Schiff Frank (MA) Kaptur Tucker

So the motion to lay the appeal on the table was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said motion was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table. ¶57.22 PROVIDING FOR THE ADJOURNMENT OF THE TWO HOUSES

Mr. GOSS, submitted the following privileged concurrent resolution (H. Con. Res. 58):

Resolved by the House of Representatives (the Senate concurring), That when the House adjourns on the legislative day of Friday, April 7, 1995, it stand adjourned until 12:30 p.m. on Monday, May 1, 1995, or until noon on the second day after Members are notified to reassemble pursuant to section 3 of this concurrent resolution, whichever occurs first; and that when the Senate adjourns or recesses at the close of business on Thursday, April 6, 1995, Friday, April 7, 1995, Saturday, April 8, 1995, Sunday, April 9, 1995, or Monday, April 10, 1995, pursuant to a motion made by the Majority Leader, or his designee, in accordance with this concurrent resolution, it stand recessed or adjourned until noon on Monday, April 24, 1995, or such time on that day as may be specified by the Majority Leader or his designee in the motion to recess or adjourn, or until noon on the second day after members are notified to reassemble pursuant to section 3 of this concurrent resolution, whichever occurs first.

Sec. 2. When the House adjourns on the

Sec. 2. When the House adjourns on the legislative day of Wednesday, May 3, 1995, it stand adjourned until 12:30 p.m. on Tuesday, May 9, 1995, or until noon on second day after Members are notified to reassemble pursuant to section 3 of this concurrent resolution, whichever occurs first.

Sec. 3. The Speaker of the House and the Majority Leader of the Senate, acting jointly after consultation with the Minority Leader of the House and the Minority Leader of the Senate, shall notify the Members of the House and the Senate, respectively, to reassemble whenever, in their opinion, the public interest shall warrant it.

When said concurrent resolution was considered was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said concurrent resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said concurrent resolution.

¶57.23 HOUR OF MEETING

On motion of Mr. GOSS, by unanimous consent.

Ordered, That when the House adjourns today, it adjourn to meet at 11:00 o'clock a.m. on Friday, April 7, 1995.

¶57.24 MEDICARE SELECT POLICIES

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. McInnis, pursuant to House Resolution 130 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 483) to amend title XVIII of the Social Security Act to permit medicare select policies to be offered in all States, and for other purposes.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. McInnis, by unanimous consent, designated Mr. BONILLA as Chairman of the Committee of the Whole; and after some time spent therein,

¶57.25 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment in