Boehner Fowler Linder Lipinski Bonilla Fox Frank (MA) Bonior Livingston Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Bono LoBiondo Borski Lofgren Boucher Frelinghuysen Longley Brewster Frisa Lowey Funderburk Browder Lucas Brown (CA) Furse Luther Brown (FL) Gallegly Maloney Brown (OH) Gejdenson Manton Brownback Gekas Manzullo Gephardt Bryant (TN) Markey Bryant (TX) Geren Martinez Gibbons Bunn Martini Bunning Gilchrest Mascara Burr Gillmor Matsui McCarthy Burton Gilman Buyer Gonzalez McCollum McCrery Callahan Goodlatte Calvert Goodling McDade Gordon McDermott Camp Canady McHale Goss Graham Cardin McHugh Castle Green McInnis Chabot Greenwood McIntosh Chambliss Gunderson McKeon Gutierrez McKinney Chenoweth Christensen Gutknecht McNulty Chrysler Hall (OH) Meehan Clav Hall (TX) Meek Clayton Hamilton Menendez Clement Hancock Metcalf Clinger Hansen Meyers Clyburn Harman Mfume Coble Hastert Mica Hastings (FL) Miller (CA) Coburn Coleman Hastings (WA) Miller (FL) Collins (GA) Hayes Mineta Hayworth Collins (IL) Minge Collins (MI) Hefley Mink Moakley Combest Hefner Condit Heineman Molinari Convers Herger Mollohan Hilleary Cooley Montgomery Costello Hilliard Moorhead Cox Hinchey Moran Coyne Hobson Morella Cramer Hoekstra Murtha Crane Hoke Mvers Myrick Holden Crapo Cremeans Horn Nadler Hostettler Cubin Neal Cunningham Houghton Nethercutt Danner Hoyer Neumann Ney Norwood Davis Hunter de la Garza Hutchinson Deal Hyde Nussle DeFazio Inglis Oberstar DeLauro Istook Obey DeLay Jackson-Lee Olver Dellums Jacobs Ortiz Deutsch Jefferson Orton Diaz-Balart Johnson (CT) Owens Johnson (SD) Oxley Dicks Dingell Johnson, E. B. Packard Dixon Johnson Sam Pallone Doggett Johnston Parker Jones Pastor Doolittle Kanjorski Paxon Payne (NJ) Dornan Kaptur Payne (VA) Doyle Kasich Dreier Kellv Peterson (FL) Kennedy (MA) Peterson (MN) Duncan Dunn Kennedy (RI) Petri Pombo Durbin Kennelly Edwards Kildee Pomerov Ehlers Kim Porter Ehrlich Portman King Emerson Kingston Poshard Engel Kleczka Pryce English Klink Quillen Klug Knollenberg Ensign Quinn Řadanovich Eshoo Rahall Evans Kolbe Everett LaFalce Ramstad Ewing LaHood Reed Regula Farr Lantos Fattah Largent Richardson Fawell Latham Riggs Rivers Fazio LaTourette Fields (LA) Laughlin Roberts Fields (TX) Lazio Roemer Filner Leach Rogers Flake Levin Rohrabacher Lewis (CA) Flanagan Ros-Lehtinen Foglietta Lewis (GA) Rose Lewis (KY) Roth Roukema Forbes Lightfoot Ford Royce

Rush Sabo Spence Spratt Vento Visclosky Salmon Volkmer Sanders Vucanovich Waldholtz Stearns Stenholm Sanford Sawyer Stockman Walker Saxton Stokes Walsh Scarborough Studds Wamp Schaefer Stump Ward Schiff Stupak Talent Waters Schroeder Watt (NC) Schumer Tanner Watts (OK) Scott Tate Waxman Weldon (FL) Seastrand Tauzin Sensenbrenner Taylor (MS) Weldon (PA) Taylor (NC) Tejeda Serrano Weller White Shadegg Shaw Thomas Whitfield Thompson Thornberry Shavs Wicker Williams Shuster Sisisky Thornton Wilson Skaggs Thurman Wise Skeen Skelton Torkildsen Woolsey Slaughter Torres Wyden Smith (MI) Torricelli Wynn Smith (NJ) Towns Yates Traficant Smith (TX) Young (AK) Smith (WA) Tucker Young (FL) Solomon Upton Zeliff Souder Velazquez Zimmer

ANSWERED "PRESENT"-2

Becerra

Roybal-Allard NOT VOTING—9

Ackerman Frost Pickett Chapman Ganske Rangel Dickey Pelosi Reynolds

So the conference report was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said conference report was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate thereof.

$\P57.18$ Conforming committees and Officers of the House

Mr. THOMAS, by unanimous consent, submitted for consideration the bill (H.R. 1421) to provide that references in the statutes of the United States to any committee or officer of the House of Representatives the name or jurisdiction of which was changed as part of the reorganization of the House of Representatives at the beginning of the One Hundred Fourth Congress shall be treated as referring to the currently applicable committee or officer of the House of Representatives.

When said bill was considered, read twice, ordered to be engrossed and read a third time, was read a third time by title, and passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said bill was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said bill.

¶57.19 COMMODITY FUTURES TRADING COMMISSION

On motion of Mr. ROBERTS, by unanimous consent, the bill of the Senate (S. 178) to amend the Commodity Exchange Act to extend the authorization for the Commodity Futures Trading Commission, and for other purposes; was taken from the Speaker's table.

When said bill was considered, read twice, ordered to be read a third time, was read a third time by title, and passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said bill was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate thereof.

¶57.20 PRIVILEGES OF THE HOUSE

Mr. DEUTSCH rose to a question of the privileges of the House and called up the following resolution (H. Res. 131):

Whereas rule IX of the Rules of the House of Representatives provides that questions of privilege shall arise whenever the rights of the House collectively are affected:

Whereas, under the precedents, customs, and traditions of the House pursuant to rule IX, a question of privilege has arisen in cases involving the constitutional prerogatives of the House;

Whereas section 7 of Article I of the Constitution requires that revenue measures originate in the House of Representatives; and

Whereas the conference report on the bill H.R. 831 contained a targeted tax benefit which was not contained in the bill as passed the House of Representatives and which was not contained in the amendment of the Senate: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Comptroller General of the United States shall prepare and transmit, within 7 days after the date of the adoption of this resolution, a report to the House of Representatives containing the opinion of the Comptroller General on whether the addition of a targeted tax benefit by the conferees to the conference report on the bill H.R. 831 (A bill to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to permanently extend the deduction for the health insurance costs of self-employed individuals, to repeal the provision permitting nonrecognition of gain on sales and exchanges effectuating policies of the Federal Communications Commission, and for other purposes) violates the requirement of the United States Constitution that all revenue measures originate in the House of Representatives.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. McINNIS, ruled that the resolution submitted did not present a question of the privileges of the House under rule IX, and said:

The Chair rules that the resolution does not constitute a question of privilege under rule IX.

The resolution offered by the gentleman from Florida collaterally questions actions taken by a committee of conference on a House-originated revenue bill by challenging the inclusion in the conference report of additional revenue matter not contained in either the House bill nor the Senate amendment committed to conference. The resolution calls for a report by the Comptroller General on the propriety under section 7 of article I of the Constitution of those proceedings and conference actions on a bill that has already moved through the legislative process.

In the opinion of the Chair, such a resolution does not raise a question of the privileges of the House. As recorded in Deschler's Precedents, volume 3, chapter 13, section 14.2, a question of privilege under section 7 of article I of the Constitution may be raised only when the House is "in possession of the papers." In other words, any allegation of infringement on the prerogatives of