Pombo

Porter

Pryce

Quinn

Quillen

Radanovich

Ramstad

Regula

Roberts

Rogers

Riggs

Portman

Heineman

Herger

Hilleary

Hobson Hoekstra

Hostettler

Houghton

Hutchinson

Johnson (CT)

Johnson, Sam

Hunter

Hyde

Inglis Istook

Jones

Kelly

Kim

King

Kolbe

LaHood

Largent

Latham

Lazio

Leach

LaTourette

Lewis (CA)

Lewis (KY)

Lightfoot

Livingston

LoBiondo

Manzullo

McCollum

McCrery

McDade

McHugh

McInnis

McKeon

Metcalf

Meyers

Miller (FL)

Molinari

Myers

Ney

Myrick

Nethercutt

Neumann

Norwood

Packard

Nussle

Oxley

Paxon

Abercrombie

Ackerman

Andrews

Baesler

Baldacci

Barrett (WI)

Barcia

Becerra

Beilenson

Bentsen

Berman

Bevill

Bishop

Bonio

Borski

Boucher

Brewster

Browder

Brown (CA)

Brown (FL)

Brown (OH)

Bryant (TX)

Cardin

Chapman

Clay Clayton

Clement

Clyburn

Coleman

Condit.

Conyers

Collins (IL)

Collins (MI)

Moorhead Morella

Mica

McIntosh

Martini

Longley

Lucas

Linder

Kingston

Klug Knollenberg

Kasich

Hoke

Horn

Mr. McDERMOTT was recognized to speak to the point of order, and said:

"Yes, Mr. Speaker.

"Mr. Speaker, if I understand the ruling the Chair is about to make, you are saying for those who do not understand arcane tax law, if we raise taxes on people but we do it in a sneaky, kind of back-door way of doing it, that, Mr. Speaker, if we do it in a legislatively, carefully crafted way, we can get away with it. If we do it straight out and say to small business, your taxes go from 14 percent to 19 percent just like that, that would require a 60-percent vote. But if we can find some way parliamentarily to swing around it, whatever the effect on people is does not make any difference.

"Is that what the Chair is saying?".

Mr. LINDER was recognized to speak to the point of order, and said:

Mr. Speaker, this does not seem all that complicated. It does not change any rates of taxation of capital gains. It excludes 50 percent of the gain. Therefore, you are taxed at the 39.6percent tax rate. Fifty percent of any gain would be excluded, giving an effective rate of 19.8 percent, a lower effective rate.

"If you happen to be taxed at a 35percent tax rate, 50 percent of the gain would be excluded, giving you a 17.5percent tax. It lowers the effective rate in every instance by excluding half of the gain from any taxation at all.".

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. DREIER, overruled the point of order, and said:

"The Chair is prepared to rule.

"In deference to the specialized expertise that has been provided, the Chair rules that this bill does not include a Federal income tax rate increase.'

Mr. MORAN appealed the ruling of the Chair.

Mr. ARCHER moved to lay the appeal on the table.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House lay on the table the appeal of the ruling of the Chair?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. DREIER, announced that the nays had

Mr. MFUME demanded a recorded vote on agreeing to said motion, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

[Roll No. 294]

¶56.16

	AYES—22	8
Allard	Bass	Brownback
Archer	Bateman	Bryant (TN)
Armey	Bereuter	Bunn
Bachus	Bilbray	Bunning
Baker (CA)	Bilirakis	Burr
Baker (LA)	Bliley	Burton
Ballenger	Blute	Buyer
Barr	Boehlert	Callahan
Barrett (NE)	Boehner	Calvert
Bartlett	Bonilla	Camp
Barton	Bono	Canady

Castle Chabot Chambliss Chenoweth Christensen Chrysler Clinger Coble Coburn Collins (GA) Combest Cooley Cox Crane Crapo Cremeans Cunningham Davis DeLay Diaz-Balart Dickey Doolittle Dornan Dreier Duncan Dunn Ehlers Ehrlich Emerson English Everett Ewing Fields (TX) Flanagan Foley Forbes Fowler Franks (CT) Frelinghuysen Frisa Funderburk Gallegly Ganske Gekas Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Gingrich Goodlatte Goodling Graham Greenwood Gunderson Gutknecht Hancock Hansen Hastert Hastings (WA) Hayworth Hefley

Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Roukema Royce Salmon Sanford Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (N.I) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Spence Stearns Stockman Stump Talent Tate Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Torkildsen Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

## NOES-204

Costello Gephardt Coyne Cramer Gibbons Gonzalez Danner de la Garza Gordon Deal Green DeFazio Gutierrez DeLauro Hall (OH) Hall (TX) Dellums Deutsch Hamilton Dicks Harman Dingell Hastings (FL) Dixon Hayes Doggett Hefner Hilliard Dooley Doyle Hinchey Durbin Holden Edwards Hover Jackson-Lee Engel Eshoo Jacobs Jefferson Evans Johnson (SD) Farr Fattah Johnson, E.B. Fazio Johnston Fields (LA) Kanjorski Filner Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Flake Foglietta Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Ford Frank (MA) Kildee Frost Kleczka Furse Klink

Lantos Laughlin Oberstar Skelton Slaughter Obey Olver Levin Spratt Lewis (GA) Stark Stenholm Ortiz Orton Lincoln Lipinski Stokes Owens Lofgren Lowey Pallone Studds Parker Stupak Luther Pastor Tanner Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Maloney Tauzin Manton Taylor (MS) Markey Pelosi Tejeda Peterson (FL) Thompson Thornton Martinez Peterson (MN) Mascara Matsui Pickett Thurman McCarthy Pomerov Torres McDermott Torricelli Poshard McHale Rahall Towns Traficant Rangel Reed McKinney McNulty Tucker Meehan Richardson Velazquez Meek Rivers Vento Menendez Roemer Visclosky Mfume Rose Volkmer Miller (CA) Roybal-Allard Ward Rush Waters Mineta Watt (NC) Minge Sabo Sanders Mink Waxman Moakley Sawyer Williams Schroeder Mollohan Wilson Schumer Montgomery Wise Moran Scott Woolsey Murtha Serrano Wyden Sisisky Nadler Wynn Neal Skaggs Yates NOT VOTING-3

Franks (NJ) Reynolds Souder

So the motion to lay the appeal on the table was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said motion was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House pass said bill?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. DREIER, announced that the yeas had

Mr. GIBBONS demanded a recorded vote on passage of said bill, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

It was decided in the Yeas ...... 246 affirmative ...... Nays ..... 188

¶56.17 [Roll No. 295] AYES-246

Callahan Allard Dreier Andrews Calvert Duncan Archer Camp Dunn Armey Canady Ehlers Bachus Castle Ehrlich Baker (CA) Chabot Emerson Baker (LA) Chambliss English Ballenger Chenoweth Ensign Barr Christensen Everett Barrett (NE) Ewing Fawell Chrysler Bartlett Clement Barton Clinger Fields (TX) Bass Coble Flanagan Bateman Coburn Foley Collins (GA) Forbes Bereuter Bevill Combest Fowler Condit Bilbray Fox Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Bilirakis Cooley Bliley Cox Boehlert Cramer Frelinghuysen Boehner Crane Frisa Funderburk Bonilla Crapo Bono Cremeans Gallegly Cubin Cunningham Brewster Ganske Browder Gekas Brownback Danner Geren Bryant (TN) Deal Gilchrest Bunn DeLay Gillmor Bunning Diaz-Balart Gilman Dickey Doolittle Burr Gingrich Burton

Buyer

Goodlatte

Goodling

Gejdenson