- H.R. 1317: Mr. NEAL of Massachusetts.
- H.J. Res. 64: Mr. DEAL of Georgia and Mr.
- H. Con. Res. 12: Mr. McCollum and Mr. BISHOP.
- H. Con. Res. 21: Mr. HILLIARD, RAMSTAD, Mr. BROWN of California, Mr. McDermott, and Mrs. Thurman.
- H. Con. Res. 35: Mr. ACKERMAN and Mr. McDermott.
- H. Con. Res. 42: Mr. FRANK of Massachusetts.
- H. Res. 40: Mrs. THURMAN.

TUESDAY, APRIL 4, 1995 (55)

¶55.1 DESIGNATION OF SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

The House was called to order by the SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. FOLEY, at 9:30 o'clock a.m., who laid before the House the following communication:

> WASHINGTON, DC, April 4, 1995.

I hereby designate the Honorable MARK ADAM FOLEY to act as Speaker pro tempore on this day.

NEWT GINGRICH,

Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Whereupon, pursuant to the order of the House of Wednesday, January 4, 1995 and Thursday, February 16, 1995, Members were recognized for "morning hour" debates.

¶55.2 RECESS—10:07 A.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. FOLEY, pursuant to clause 12 of rule I, declared the House in recess until 11:00

¶55.3 AFTER RECESS—11:00 A.M.

The SPEAKER called the House to order.

¶55.4 APPROVAL OF THE JOURNAL

The SPEAKER announced he had examined and approved the Journal of the proceedings of April 3, 1995.

Mr. EWING, pursuant to clause 1, rule I, objected to the Chair's approval of the Journal.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to the Chair's approval of said Journal?

The SPEAKER announced that the naves had it.

Mr. EWING objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

Yeas 369 Nays When there appeared ... Answered present

¶55.5[Roll No. 282] YEAS-369

A -1	Danis	D::11
Ackerman	Barcia	Bevill
Allard	Barr	Bilbray
Andrews	Barrett (NE)	Bilirakis
Archer	Barrett (WI)	Bishop
Armey	Bartlett	Bliley
Bachus	Barton	Blute
Baesler	Bass	Boehlert
Baker (CA)	Bateman	Bonilla
Baker (LA)	Beilenson	Bono
Baldacci	Bentsen	Borski
Ballenger	Bereuter	Boucher

Brewster Graham Brown (OH) Green Brownback Greenwood Bryant (TN) Gunderson Bryant (TX) Gutierrez Gutknecht Bunn Bunning Hall (TX) Hall (OH) Burr Burton Hamilton Hancock Callahan Hansen Hastert Calvert Hastings (WA) Camp Hayes Hayworth Cardin Castle Hefner Chabot Chambliss Heineman Christensen Herger Chrysler Hilleary Hinchey Clayton Clement Hobson Clinger Hoekstra Hoke Coble Holden Coburn Coleman Horn Collins (GA) Hostettler Collins (IL) Houghton Combest Hover Condit Hunter Cooley Hutchinson Costello Hvde Istook Cox Coyne Jackson-Lee Jefferson Crapo Johnson (CT) Cremeans Cubin Johnson, E.B. Cunningham Johnson, Sam Danner Johnson (SD) Davis Johnston Deal Jones Kanjorski DeFazio de la Garza Kaptur DeLauro Kasich Kelly DeLay Kennedy (RI) Dellums Deutsch Kennelly Diaz-Balart Kildee Dickey Kim Dicks King Dingell Kingston Dixon Kleczka Doggett Klink Dooley Doolittle Klug Knollenberg Dornan Kolbe LaFalce Dovle LaHood Dreier Duncan Lantos Largent Dunn Durbin Edwards LaTourette Laughlin Ehlers Ehrlich Lazio Emerson Leach English Levin Ensign Lewis (CA) Eshoo Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Evans Everett Lincoln Ewing Linder Lipinski Farr Fawell Livingston Fields (LA) LoBiondo Fields (TX) Lofgren Flake Longley Flanagan Lowey Foglietta Lucas Foley Luther Manzullo Forbes Fowler Markey Fox Martinez Frank (MA) Martini Franks (CT) Mascara Franks (NJ) Matsui Frelinghuysen McCarthy Frisa McCrery Frost McHale Funderburk McHugh McInnis Furse Gallegly McIntosh McKeon Ganske McNulty Gekas Geren Meehan Gilchrest Meek Gilman Metcalf Meyers Mica Gonzalez Goodlatte Goodling Miller (CA)

Moakley Molinari Mollohan Montgomery Moorhead Moran Morella Murtha Myers Myrick Nadler Neal Nethercutt Neumann Nev Norwood Nussle Obey Olver Ortiz Orton Oxley Packard Pallone Parker Pastor Paxon Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Petri Pomeroy Porter Portman Poshard Prvce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Rahall Ramstad Rangel Reed Regula Richardson Riggs Rivers Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Rose Roth Roukema Roybal-Allard Royce Salmon Sanford Sawver Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Schumer Scott Seastrand Sensenbrenner Serrano Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Sisisky Skaggs Skeen Skelton Slaughter Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Spratt Stark Stearns Stenholm Stokes Studds Stump Stupak Talent Tanner Tate Tauzin Taylor (NC) Tejeda Thomas

Thurman Waldholtz White Wicker Tiahrt Walker Torkildsen Walsh Wilson Torres Torricelli Wamp Ward Wise Woolsey Waters Wyden Towns Traficant Watt (NC) Watts (OK) Wynn Yates Tucker Upton Waxman Weldon (FL) Young (AK) Velazquez Young (FL) Zeliff Vento Weldon (PA) Vucanovich Weller Zimmer NAYS-36 Hastings (FL) Abercrombie Pelosi Hefley Hilliard Brown (CA) Pickett Brown (FL) Roberts Jacobs Kennedy (MA) Chapman Roemer Clay Clyburn Sabo Schroeder Lewis (GA) Collins (MI) Maloney Stockman Taylor (MS) Crane McKinney Menendez Thompson Engel Visclosky Mineta Filner Oberstan Volkmer Gillmor Wolf Owens ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1 Harman NOT VOTING-28 Minge Pombo Becerra Ford (TN) Gejdenson Berman Boehner Gephardt Reynolds Bonior Gibbons Rush Browder Sanders Inglis Canady Manton Smith (MI) Chenoweth McCollum Whitfield McDade Williams Convers McDermott Cramer Fattah Mfume So the Journal was approved. ¶55.6 COMMUNICATIONS were referred as follows: propriations and ordered to be printed.

Executive and other communications, pursuant to clause 2, rule XXIV,

682. A letter from the Comptroller General of the United States, the General Accounting Office, transmitting a review of the President's third special impoundment message for fiscal year 1995, pursuant to 2 U.S.C. 685 (H. Doc. No. 104-58); to the Committee on Ap-

683. A letter from the Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff, transmitting a copy of a report to the Congress entitled, "1995 Force Readiness Assessment"; to the Committee on National Security

684. A letter from the Directors of Congressional Budget Office and Office of Management and Budget, transmitting a joint report on the technical assumptions to be used in preparing estimates of national defense function (050)—outlays for fiscal year 1996, pursuant to Public Law 101-189, section 5(a) (103 Stat. 1364): to the Committee on National Security.

685. A letter from the Employee Benefits Manager, Farm Credit Bank of Columbia, transmitting information on the retirement and thrift plans of the Farm Credit Bank of Columbia and the audited financial statement as of August 31, 1994, pursuant to 31 U.S.C. 9503(a)(1)(B); to the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight.

686. A letter from Director, Institute of Museum Services, transmitting the annual report under the Federal Managers' Financial Integrity Act for fiscal year 1994, pursuant to 31 U.S.C. 3512(c)(3); to the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight.

687. A letter from the Administrator, General Services Administration, transmitting an informational copy of a construction prospectus for the U.S. Secret Service administration building, Beltsville, MD, pursuant to 40 U.S.C. 606(a); to the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure.

688. A letter from the Secretary of Transportation, transmitting a draft of proposed legislation to provide for the certification by

Thornberry

Thornton

Miller (FL)

Gordon Goss