Schiff Schroeder

After debate,

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House suspend the rules and agree to said resolution, as amended?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BARRETT of Nebraska, announced that two-thirds of the Members present had voted in the affirmative.

Mr. STEARNS demanded that the vote be taken by the yeas and nays, which demand was supported by one-fifth of the Members present, so the yeas and nays were ordered.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BARRETT of Nebraska, pursuant to clause 5, rule I, announced that further proceedings on the motion were postponed.

¶54.11 D.C. MANAGEMENT ASSISTANCE AUTHORITY

Mr. CLINGER moved to suspend the rules and pass the bill (H.R. 1345) to eliminate budget deficits and management inefficiencies in the government of the District of Columbia through the establishment of the District of Columbia Financial Responsibility and Management Authority, and for other purposes; as amended.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BARRETT of Nebraska, recognized Mr. CLINGER and Mrs. COLLINS of Illinois, each for 20 minutes.

After debate,

By unanimous consent, the debate time was increased by ten minutes.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House suspend the rules and pass said bill, as amended?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. HASTINGS of Washington, announced that two-thirds of the Members present had voted in the affirmative.

So, two-thirds of the Members present having voted in favor thereof, the rules were suspended and said bill, as amended, was passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby the rules were suspended and said bill was passed was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said bill.

¶54.12 PERMISSION TO FILE CONFERENCE REPORT

On motion of Mr. DAVIS, by unanimous consent, the managers on the part of the House were granted permission until midnight tonight to file a conference report (Rept. No. 104-99) on the bill of the Senate (S. 244) to further the goals of the Paperwork Reduction Act to have Federal agencies become more responsible and publicly accountable for reducing the burden of Federal paperwork on the public, and for other purposes; together with a statement thereon, for printing in the Record under the rule.

¶54.13 RECESS—3:59 P.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. HASTINGS of Washington, pursuant to clause 12 of rule I, declared the House in recess at 3 o'clock and 59 minutes p.m., until 5:00 p.m.

¶54.14 AFTER RECESS—5:00 P.M.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. HASTINGS of Washington, called the House to order.

$\P 54.15$ FURTHER MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

A message from the Senate by Mr. Hallen, one of its clerks, announced that the Senate agrees to the report of the committee of conference on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses on the amendment of the Senate to the bill (H.R. 831) an Act to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to permanently extend the deduction for the health insurance costs of self-employed individuals, to repeal the provision permitting nonrecognition of gain on sale and exchanges effectuating policies of the Federal Communications Commission, and for other purposes.

¶54.16 H.R. 716—UNFINISHED BUSINESS

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. HASTINGS of Washington, pursuant to clause 5, rule I, announced the bill (H.R. 716) to amend the Fishermen's Protective Act.

The question being put,

Will the House suspend the rules and pass said bill?

The vote was taken by electronic device.

¶54.17 [Roll No. 280] YEAS—384

Abercrombie Castle Ehrlich Chabot Emerson Ackerman Chambliss Allard Engel English Andrews Chapman Archer Christensen Ensign Armey Chrysler Eshoo Clay Bachus Evans Baesler Clayton Everett Baker (CA) Clement Ewing Baker (LA) Clinger Farr Fawell Baldacci Clyburn Ballenger Coble Fazio Coburn Fields (LA) Barr Coleman Filner Barrett (NE) Collins (GA) Flanagan Barrett (WI) Collins (IL) Foley Bartlett Collins (MI) Forbes Barton Combest Ford Bass Conyers Frank (MA) Bateman Cooley Costello Beilenson Franks (CT) Bentsen Cox Franks (NJ) Bereuter Covne Frelinghuysen Bevill Cramer Frost Funderburk Bilirakis Crane Bishop Cremeans Furse Bliley Cubin Ganske Blute Cunningham Gekas Gephardt Boehlert Danner Boehner Davis Geren de la Garza Bonilla Gibbons Bonior Gilchrest Deal Bono DeFazio Gillmor Borski DeLauro Gilman DeLav Boucher Gonzalez Brewster Dellums Goodlatte Goodling Browder Deutsch Brown (CA) Diaz-Balart Gordon Brownback Dicks Goss Bryant (TX) Dingell Graham Bunn Dixon Green Greenwood Bunning Doggett Burr Doolittle Gunderson Burton Doyle Gutierrez Gutknecht Hall (OH) Buyer Dreier Callahan Duncan Calvert Dunn Hall (TX) Durbin Hamilton Camp Edwards Canady Hancock

Hastert Hastings (FL) Hastings (WA) Hayes Hayworth Hefley Hefner Heineman Herger Hilleary Hilliard Hinchey Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Horn Hostettler Houghton Hoyer Hunter Hutchinson Hvde Jackson-Lee Jacobs Johnson (CT) Johnson (SD) Johnson, E.B. Johnson Sam Johnston Jones Kaniorski Kaptur Kasich Kellv Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Kim King Kingston Klink Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaFalce LaHood Largent Latham LaTourette Lazio Leach Levin Lewis (CA) Lewis (GA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Linder Lipinski Livingston LoBiondo Lofgren Longley Luther Maloney Manton Manzullo Markey Martinez Martini Mascara Matsui McCarthy McCrery McHale McHugh

Harman

McInnis McIntosh McKeon McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Metcalf Meyers Mfume Mica Miller (CA) Miller (FL) Mineta Minge Mink Molinari Mollohan Moorhead Moran Morella Murtha Mvers Myrick Nethercutt Neumann Ney Norwood Nussle Oberstar Obev Ortiz Orton Oxlev Packard Pastor Paxon Payne (VA) Pelosi Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Petri Pickett Pombo Pomerov Porter Portman Poshard Quillen Quinn Radanovich Rahall Ramstad Rangel Reed Regula Riggs Rivers Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Roukema Roybal-Allard Royce Sabo Salmon Sanders Sanford Sawyer Saxton

Schumer Scott Seastrand Sensenbrenner Serrano Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Sisisky Skaggs Skeen Skelton Slaughter Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Spratt Stark Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stokes Studds Stump Stupak Talent Tanner Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Teieda Thomas Thompson Thornberry Thurman Tiahrt Torkildsen Torricelli Towns Traficant Upton Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Ward Waters Watt (NC) Waxman Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wilson Wolf Woolsev Wyden Wvnn Yates Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff

NOT VOTING-51

Zimmer

Scarborough

Schaefer

Becerra Frisa Montgomery Berman Gallegly Nadler Bilbray Gejdenson Olver Brown (FL) Gingrich Owens Inglis Istook Brown (OH) Pallone Bryant (TN) Parker Chenoweth Jefferson Payne (NJ) Pryce Reynolds Condit. Kleczka Crapo Lantos Dickey Laughlin Richardson Dooley Lincoln Rush Dornan Lowey Thornton Fattah Lucas Torres Fields (TX) McCollum Tucker McDade Watts (OK) Flake Foglietta McDermott Williams Fowler Moakley Wise

So, two-thirds of the Members present having voted in favor thereof,

Hansen

Cardin