Pursuant to clause 1, rule I, the Journal was approved.

## **§53.3** COMMUNICATIONS

Executive and other communications, pursuant to clause 2, rule XXIV, were referred as follows:

649. A letter from the Assistant Secretary for Legislative Affairs, Department of State, transmitting notification of a proposed license for the export of major defense equipment and services sold commercially to Switzerland (Transmittal No. DTC-12-95), pursuant to 22 U.S.C. 2776(c); to the Com-mittee on International Relations.

650. A letter from the Assistant Secretary for Legislative Affairs, Department of State, transmitting the Department's "NDF An-nual Report" fiscal year 1994; to the Committee on International Relations.

651. A letter from the Director, National Gallery of Art, transmitting the annual report under the Federal Managers' Financial Integrity Act for fiscal year 1994, pursuant to 31 U.S.C. 3512(c)(3); to the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight.

652. A letter from the Director, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, transmitting the Administration's 24th edition of the Grant-In-Aid for Fisheries Program Report, pursuant to 16 U.S.C. 757(a)-757(f) and 16 U.S.C. 4101 et seq.; to the Committee on Resources. 653. A letter from the Director, Federal De-

posit Insurance Corporation, transmitting a listing of Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation property covered by the Coastal Barrier Improvement Act of 1990; jointly, to the Committees on Resources and Banking and Financial Services.

## **§53.4** MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

A message from the Senate by Mr. Hallen, one of its clerks, announced that the Senate had passed a bill of the following title, in which the concurrence of the House is requested:

S. 219. An Act to ensure economy and efficiency of Federal Government operations by establishing a moratorium on regulatory rulemaking actions, and for other purposes.

**\$53.5** WAIVING POINTS OF ORDER

AGAINST THE CONFERENCE REPORT ON H.R. 831

Mr. QUILLEN, by direction of the Committee on Rules, called up the following resolution (H. Res. 121):

Resolved, That upon adoption of this resolution it shall be in order to consider the conference report to accompany the bill (H.R. 831) to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to permanently extend the deduction for the health insurance costs of self-employed individuals, to repeal the provision permitting nonrecognition of gain on sales and exchanges effectuating policies of the Federal Communications Commission, and for other purposes. All points of order against the conference report and against its consideration are waived. The conference report shall be considered as read.

When said resolution was considered. After debate

Mr. QUILLEN moved the previous question on the resolution to its adoption or rejection.

The question being put, viva voce.

Will the House now order the previous question?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GOODLATTE, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. FROST objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A qu	oru	m noi	t bei	ng p	resent	,	
The	roll	was	cal	led	under	clause	4,
rule Σ	ζV.	and	the	call	was	taken	bv

electronic device. When there appeared

¶53.6 [Roll No. 278] YEAS-224 Archer Frisa Funderburk Armey Bachus Gallegly Baker (CA) Ganske Baker (LA) Gekas Ballenger Gilchrest Gillmor Barr Barrett (NE) Gilman Bartlett Goodlatte Goodling Barton Bass Goss Graham Bateman Greenwood Bereuter Bilbray Gutknecht Bilirakis Hancock Bliley Hansen Blute Hastert Hastings (WA) Hayworth Boehlert Boehner Bonilla Hefley Heineman Bono Brownback Herger Bryant (TN) Hillearv Bunn Hobson Hoekstra Bunning Burr Hoke Burton Horn Hostettler Buyer Callahan Houghton Calvert Hunter Camp Hutchinson Canady Hvde Inglis Castle Chabot Istook Johnson (CT) Chambliss Chenoweth Johnson, Sam Christensen Jones Kasich Chrvsler Kelly Clinger Coble Kim Coburn King Collins (GA) Kingston Klug Knollenberg Combest Cooley Kolbe Cox LaHood Crane Crapo Largent Cremeans Latham Cubin LaTourette Cunningham Lazio Leach Davis Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) DeLay Diaz-Balart Dickey Doolittle Lightfoot Linder Livingston Dornan LoBiondo Dreier Dunn Longley Ehlers Lucas Ehrlich Manzullo Emerson Martini McCollum English McCrery McDade Ensign Everett McHugh Ewing Fawell McInnis McIntosh Fields (TX) Flanagan McKeon Metcalf Foley Forbes Meyers Mica Fowler Miller (FL) Fox Franks (CT) Molinari Franks (NJ) Moorhead Frelinghuysen Morella NAYS-201 Bevill Abercrombie

Yeas ..... 224 Nays ..... 201 Myers Myrick Nethercutt Neumann Ney Norwood Nussle Oxley Packard Paxon Petri Pombo Porter Portman Pryce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Ramstad Regula Riggs Roberts Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Royce Salmon Sanford Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Stearns Stockman Stump Talent Tate Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Torkildsen Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer Chapman Clayton Clement

Danner de la Garza Deal DeFazio DeLauro Dellums Deutsch Dicks Dingell Dixon Doggett Dooley Doyle Duncan Durbin Edwards Engel Eshoo Evans Farr Fattah Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Flake Foglietta Ford Frank (MA) Frost Furse Gejdenson Gephardt Geren Gonzalez Gordon Green Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hall (TX) Hamilton Harman Hastings (FL) Hayes Hefner Hilliard Hinchey Holden Hoyer Jackson-Lee Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (SD) Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kanjorski

Cramer

by

Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Pickett Poshard Kennedy (RI) Rahall Kennelly Kildee Rangel Reed Kleczka Richardson Klink Rivers Roemer LaFalce Lantos Laughlin Rose Roth Levin Roukema Lewis (GA) Roybal-Allard Lincoln Rush Lipinski Sabo Lofgren Sanders Lowey Luther Sawyer Schroeder Maloney Schumer Manton Scott Markey Serrano Martinez Sisisky Mascara Skaggs Matsui Skelton McCarthy Slaughter McDermott Spratt McHale Stark McKinney Stenholm McNulty Stokes Meehan Studds Tanner Menendez Tauzin Mfume Miller (CA) Taylor (MS) Tejeda Thompson Mineta Minge Thornton Thurman Mollohan Torres Torricelli Montgomery Moran Towns Traficant Murtha Nadler Tucker Velazquez Oberstar Vento Visclosky Volkmer Ward Waters Watt (NC) Owens Pallone Waxman Parker Williams Pastor Wilson Payne (NJ) Wise Woolsev Payne (VA) Pelosi Wyden Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Wynn Yates

Meek

Mink

Neal

Obey

Olver

Ortiz

Orton

## NOT VOTING-9 Gibbons

Allard Brown (FL) Clav

¶53.7

Pomeroy Gunderson Revnolds Moakley Stupak

So the previous question on the resolution was ordered.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to said resolution?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GOODLATTE, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. FROST demanded a recorded vote on agreeing to said resolution, which demand was supported by onefifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device. (

It was decided in the	Yeas	244
affirmative	Nays	178

2791

	[Roll	No.
--	-------	-----

	AYES-244	
Allard	Bartlett	Boehlert
Archer	Barton	Boehner
Armey	Bass	Bonilla
Bachus	Bateman	Bono
Baesler	Bereuter	Brewster
Baker (CA)	Bevill	Browder
Baker (LA)	Bilbray	Brownback
Ballenger	Bilirakis	Bryant (TN)
Barr	Bliley	Bunn
Barrett (NE)	Blute	Bunning

Clyburn

Coleman

Condit

Conyers

Costello

Coyne

Collins (IL)

Collins (MI)

Bishop

Bonior

Borski

Boucher

Brewster

Browder Brown (CA)

Cardin

Brown (OH)

Brvant (TX)

Ackerman

Andrews

Baesler

Baldacci

Becerra

Bentsen

Berman

Beilenson

Barrett (WI)

Barcia