Pursuant to clause 1, rule I, the Journal was approved.

¶53.3 COMMUNICATIONS

Executive and other communications, pursuant to clause 2, rule XXIV, were referred as follows:

649. A letter from the Assistant Secretary for Legislative Affairs, Department of State, transmitting notification of a proposed license for the export of major defense equipment and services sold commercially to Switzerland (Transmittal No. DTC-12-95), pursuant to 22 U.S.C. 2776(c); to the Committee on International Relations.

650. A letter from the Assistant Secretary for Legislative Affairs, Department of State, transmitting the Department's "NDF Annual Report" fiscal year 1994; to the Committee on International Relations.

651. A letter from the Director, National Gallery of Art, transmitting the annual report under the Federal Managers' Financial Integrity Act for fiscal year 1994, pursuant to 31 U.S.C. 3512(c)(3); to the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight.

652. A letter from the Director, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, transmitting the Administration's 24th edition of the Grant-In-Aid for Fisheries Program Report, pursuant to 16 U.S.C. 757(a)—757(f) and 16 U.S.C. 4101 et seq.; to the Committee on Resources. 653. A letter from the Director, Federal De-

posit Insurance Corporation, transmitting a listing of Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation property covered by the Coastal Barrier Improvement Act of 1990; jointly, to the Committees on Resources and Banking and Financial Services.

$\P 53.4$ Message from the senate

A message from the Senate by Mr. Hallen, one of its clerks, announced that the Senate had passed a bill of the following title, in which the concurrence of the House is requested:

S. 219. An Act to ensure economy and efficiency of Federal Government operations by establishing a moratorium on regulatory rulemaking actions, and for other purposes.

$\P 53.5$ Waiving points of order

AGAINST THE CONFERENCE REPORT ON H.R. 831

Mr. QUILLEN, by direction of the Committee on Rules, called up the following resolution (H. Res. 121):

Resolved, That upon adoption of this resolution it shall be in order to consider the conference report to accompany the bill (H.R. 831) to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to permanently extend the deduction for the health insurance costs of self-employed individuals, to repeal the provision permitting nonrecognition of gain on sales and exchanges effectuating policies of the Federal Communications Commission, and for other purposes. All points of order against the conference report and against its consideration are waived. The conference report shall be considered as read.

When said resolution was considered. After debate

Mr. QUILLEN moved the previous question on the resolution to its adoption or rejection.

The question being put, viva voce. Will the House now order the pre-

vious question?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GOODLATTE, announced that the yeas

Mr. FROST objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

Yeas When there appeared Nays 201

¶53.6[Roll No. 278] YEAS-224

Archer Frisa Mvers Funderburk Myrick Armey Gallegly Bachus Nethercutt Baker (CA) Ganske Neumann Baker (LA) Gekas Ney Ballenger Gilchrest Norwood Gillmor Barr Nussle Barrett (NE) Gilman Oxley Bartlett Goodlatte Goodling Packard Paxon Barton Goss Petri Bateman Graham Pombo Greenwood Porter Bereuter Gutknecht Bilbray Portman Bilirakis Hancock Hansen Pryce Quillen Bliley Blute Hastert Quinn Hastings (WA) Hayworth Boehlert Radanovich Boehner Ramstad Bonilla Hefley Regula Riggs Roberts Bono Heineman Brownback Herger Bryant (TN) Hilleary Rogers Rohrabacher Bunn Hobson Ros-Lehtinen Hoekstra Bunning Burr Hoke Royce Burton Horn Salmon Hostettler Sanford Buyer Callahan Houghton Saxton Scarborough Calvert Hunter Camp Hutchinson Schaefer Canady Hyde Schiff Castle Inglis Seastrand Chabot Istook Sensenbrenner Johnson (CT) Chambliss Shadegg Johnson, Sam Chenoweth Shaw Christensen Jones Shays Chrysler Kasich Shuster Kelly Clinger Skeen Smith (MI) Coble Kim Smith (NJ) Coburn King Collins (GA) Kingston Smith (TX) Klug Knollenberg Combest Smith (WA) Cooley Solomon Souder Cox Kolbe Crane LaHood Spence Crapo Largent Stearns Cremeans Latham Stockman Cubin LaTourette Stump Cunningham Talent Lazio Leach Tate Davis Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Taylor (NC) DeLay Diaz-Balart Thomas Dickey Lightfoot Thornberry Doolittle Linder Tiahrt Torkildsen Livingston Dornan LoBiondo Dreier Upton Vucanovich Dunn Longley Waldholtz Ehlers Lucas Manzullo Ehrlich Walker Emerson Martini Walsh English McCollum Wamp McCrery McDade Watts (OK) Everett Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Ewing McHugh McInnis Weller Fields (TX) McIntosh White Flanagan McKeon Whitfield Metcalf Wicker Foley Forbes Meyers Wolf Fowler Mica Young (AK) Miller (FL) Young (FL) Zeliff Franks (CT) Molinari Franks (NJ) Moorhead Zimmer Frelinghuysen Morella

NAYS-201

Ackerman

Andrews

Baldacci

Baesler

Barcia

Becerra

Bentsen

Berman

Beilenson

Bevill Abercrombie Chapman Bishop Clayton Bonior Clement Borski Clyburn Coleman Boucher Brewster Collins (IL) Barrett (WI) Browder Collins (MI) Brown (CA) Condit Brown (OH) Conyers Bryant (TX) Costello Cardin Coyne

Cramer Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Pickett Poshard Danner de la Garza Kennedy (RI) Rahall Rangel Reed Deal Kennelly DeFazio Kildee Kleczka Richardson DeLauro Dellums Klink Rivers Roemer LaFalce Deutsch Dicks Lantos Rose Dingell Laughlin Roth Dixon Roukema Levin Lewis (GA) Roybal-Allard Doggett Dooley Lincoln Rush Doyle Lipinski Sabo Duncan Lofgren Sanders Lowey Luther Sawyer Schroeder Durbin Edwards Engel Maloney Schumer Eshoo Manton Scott Markey Serrano Evans Farr Martinez Sisisky Fattah Mascara Skaggs Fazio Matsui Skelton Fields (LA) McCarthy Slaughter Filner McDermott Spratt McHale Stark Foglietta McKinney Stenholm Ford McNulty Stokes Frank (MA) Meehan Studds Frost Meek Tanner Menendez Tauzin Furse Gejdenson Mfume Taylor (MS) Miller (CA) Gephardt Tejeda Mineta Thompson Geren Gonzalez Minge Thornton Gordon Mink Thurman Green Mollohan Torres Gutierrez Montgomery Torricelli Hall (OH) Moran Towns Hall (TX) Murtha Traficant Hamilton Nadler Tucker Velazquez Harman Neal Hastings (FL) Oberstar Vento Hayes Hefner Visclosky Volkmer Obey Olver Hilliard Ortiz Ward Hinchey Orton Waters Holden Watt (NC) Owens Hoyer Jackson-Lee Jacobs Pallone Waxman Parker Williams Wilson Pastor Jefferson Payne (NJ) Wise Johnson (SD) Woolsey Payne (VA) Pelosi Johnson, E. B. Wyden Johnston Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Kanjorski Yates

NOT VOTING-9

Pomeroy Allard Gibbons Brown (FL) Gunderson Reynolds Moakley Clav Stupak

So the previous question on the resolution was ordered.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to said resolution?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. GOODLATTE, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. FROST demanded a recorded vote on agreeing to said resolution, which demand was supported by onefifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

¶53.7[Roll No. 279] AYES-244

Bartlett Allard Boehlert Boehner Archer Barton Armey Bass Bonilla Bateman Bachus Bono Baesler Brewster Bereuter Baker (CA) Bevill Browder Baker (LA) Bilbray Brownback Ballenger Bilirakis Bryant (TN) Barr Bliley Bunn Barrett (NE) Blute Bunning