Roth

Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY)

Lightfoot

Livingston

LoBiondo

Manzullo

McCollum

Martini

McCrery

McDade

McInnis

McKeon

Metcalf

Meyers

Molinari

Morella

Myers

Nev

Myrick

Nethercutt

Neumann

Norwood

Packard

Nussle

Paxon

Pombo

Porter

Pryce

Quinn

Quillen

Ramstad

Regula

Riggs

Rogers

Fattah

Fazio

Filner

Flake

Ford

Frost

Furse

Geren

Gibbons

Gonzalez

Gutierrez

Hall (OH)

Hall (TX)

Hamilton

Harman

Hefner

Hilliard

Hinchey

Holden

Jacobs

Johnston

Kaniorski

Kaptur

Kennelly

Kildee

Klink

Kleczka

LaFalce

Lantos

Levin

Laughlin

Lewis (GA)

Lincoln

Lipinski

Lofgren

Lowey

Luther

Malonev

Hover

Gordon

Green

Foglietta

Geidenson

Gephardt

Portman

Petri

Moorhead

Mica

McIntosh

Longley

Lucas

Linder

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. TORKILDSEN, assumed the Chair.

§52.4 WORDS TAKEN DOWN IN COMMITTEE

When Mr. KLUG, Chairman, reported that during the consideration of said bill in Committee, certain words used in debate were objected to and upon request, were read at the Clerk's desk.

The Clerk read the words taken down as follows:

I had specific conversation with the gentleman from Michigan, and he stated to me very clearly that it is his intention to vote against this bill on final. Now, if that is not a cynical manipulation and exploitation of the American public, then what is? What could be more cynical? What could be more hypocritical?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. TORKILDSEN, held the words taken down to be unparliamentary, and said:

In the opinion of the Chair, ascribing hypocrisy to another Member has been ruled out of order in the past, and is unparliamentary.

By unanimous consent, the words ruled unparliamentary were stricken from the Congressional Record.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. TORKILDSEN, by unanimous consent. recognized Mr. HOKE to proceed in order.

Mr. DINGELL objected to permission for Mr. HOKE to proceed in order.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. TORKILDSEN, stated the question: "Will the gentleman be permitted to proceed in order?'

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the gentleman be permitted to proceed in order?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. TORKILDSEN, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. CONYERS objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device. Veas 212

When there appeared		Nays 19 Answered present
¶52.5	[Roll No. 27	3]
YEAS-212		
Allard	Buyer	Diaz-Balart
Armey	Callahan	Dickey
Bachus	Calvert	Doolittle
Baker (CA)	Camp	Dornan
Baker (LA)	Canady	Dreier
Ballenger	Castle	Duncan
Barr	Chabot	Dunn
Barrett (NE)	Chambliss	Ehlers
Bartlett	Chenoweth	Ehrlich
Bass	Christensen	Emerson
Bateman	Chrysler	English
Bereuter	Clinger	Ensign
Bilbray	Coble	Everett
Bilirakis	Coburn	Ewing
Blute	Collins (GA)	Fawell
Boehlert	Combest	Fields (TX)
Boehner	Cooley	Flanagan
Bonilla	Cox	Foley
Bono	Crane	Forbes
Brownback	Crapo	Fowler
Bryant (TN)	Cremeans	Fox
Bunn	Cubin	Franks (CT)
Bunning	Cunningham	Franks (NJ)
Burr	Davis	Frelinghuysen
Burton	Del av	Frisa

DeLav

Frisa

Burton

Funderburk Gallegly Ganske Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Goodlatte Goodling Goss Graham Greenwood Gutknecht Hancock Hansen Hastert Hastings (WA) Hayworth Hefley Heineman Herger Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Hostettler Houghton Hunter Hutchinson Hyde Inglis Istook Johnson (CT) Johnson, Sam Jones Kasich Kelly Kim King Kingston Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaHood Largent Latham LaTourette Leach Abercrombie Ackerman Andrews Baesler Baldacci Barcia Barrett (WI) Barton Becerra Beilenson Bentsen Berman Bevill Bishop Bonio Borski Boucher Brewster Browder Brown (CA) Brown (OH) Brvant (TX) Cardin Chapman Clavton Clement Clyburn Coleman Collins (MI) Condit Convers Costello Coyne Cramer Danner Deal DeFazio DeLauro Dellums Deutsch Dicks Dingell Dixon Doggett Dooley Doyle Durbin Edwards Engel Eshoo Evans

197

2

Farr

Royce Salmon Sanford Schiff Shadegg Shaw Shuster Skeen Solomon Spence Stearns Miller (FL) Stump Talent Tate Thomas Tiahrt Upton Walker Walsh Wamp Weller White Radanovich Wicker Wolf Zeliff Rohrabacher Zimmer Ros-Lehtinen NAYS-197 Manton Markey Martinez Fields (LA) Mascara Matsui Frank (MA) McHale McNulty Meehan Meek Mfume Mineta Minge Mink Moran Murtha Hastings (FL) Nadler Neal Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz Jackson-Lee Orton Owens Johnson (SD) Pallone Johnson, E.B. Pastor Peľosi Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Pickett Pomeroy Poshard Rahall Rangel Reed Rivers Roberts Roemer Rose

Seastrand Sensenbrenner Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Stockman Taylor (NC) Thornberry Torkildsen Vucanovich Waldholtz Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Whitfield Young (AK) Young (FL) McCarthy McDermott McKinney Menendez Miller (CA) Mollohan Montgomery Payne (NJ) Pavne (VA) Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Reynolds Richardson Roukema Roybal-Allard Rush

Stupak Sawyer Tanner Tauzin Schroeder Schumer Taylor (MS) Scott Serrano Tejeda Thompson Shays Sisisky Thornton Skaggs Skelton Thurman Torres Torricelli Slaughter Spratt Stark Gunderson Archer Bliley Horn Brown (FL) Clay Collins (IL) de la Garza Gekas Hayes

Sabo Sanders

Tucker Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Ward Waters Watt (NC) Wilson Wise Woolsey Wyden

Towns Wynn Traficant ANSWERED "PRESENT"-2 McHugh NOT VOTING-23

Hilleary Scarborough Schaefer Jefferson Souder Lazio Stokes Moakley Waxman Oxlev Williams Parker Yates Saxton

Stenholm

Studds

So the gentleman was permitted to proceed in order.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby the gentleman was permitted to proceed in order was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

The Committee resumed its sitting; and after some further time spent therein,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BARRETT of Nebraska, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. KLUG, Chairman, reported that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

- **\$52.6** SUBMISSION OF CONFERENCE
 - REPORT-H.R. 831

Mr. ARCHER submitted a conference report (Rept. No. 104-92) on the bill (H.R. 831) to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to permanently extend the deduction for the health insurance costs of self-employed individuals, to repeal the provision permitting nonrecognition of gain on sales and exchanges effectuating policies of the Federal Communications Commission, and for other purposes; together with a statement thereon, for printing in the Record under the rule.

§52.7 TERM LIMITS

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BARRETT of Nebraska, pursuant to House Resolution 116 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the joint resolution (H.J. Res. 73) proposing an amendment to the Constitution of the United States with respect to the number of terms of office of Members of the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Mr. KLUG, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, resumed the chair; and after some time spent therein.

\$52.8 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment in the nature of a substitute submitted by Mr. PETERSON of Florida: