Roth

Royce

Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY)

Lightfoot

Livingston

LoBiondo

Manzullo

McCollum

Martini

McCrery

McDade

McInnis

McKeon

Metcalf

Meyers

Miller (FL)

Molinari

Morella

Myers

Nev

Myrick

Nethercutt

Neumann

Norwood

Packard

Nussle

Paxon

Pombo

Porter

Pryce

Quinn

Quillen

Radanovich

Rohrabacher

Ros-Lehtinen

Ramstad

Regula

Riggs

Rogers

Portman

Petri

Moorhead

Mica

McIntosh

Longley

Lucas

Linder

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. TORKILDSEN, assumed the Chair.

¶52.4 WORDS TAKEN DOWN IN COMMITTEE

When Mr. KLUG, Chairman, reported that during the consideration of said bill in Committee, certain words used in debate were objected to and upon request, were read at the Clerk's desk.

The Clerk read the words taken down as follows:

I had specific conversation with the gentleman from Michigan, and he stated to me very clearly that it is his intention to vote against this bill on final. Now, if that is not a cynical manipulation and exploitation of the American public, then what is? What could be more cynical? What could be more hypocritical?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. TORKILDSEN, held the words taken down to be unparliamentary, and said:

In the opinion of the Chair, ascribing hypocrisy to another Member has been ruled out of order in the past, and is unparliamentary.

By unanimous consent, the words ruled unparliamentary were stricken from the Congressional Record.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. TORKILDSEN, by unanimous consent, recognized Mr. HOKE to proceed in

Mr. DINGELL objected to permission for Mr. HOKE to proceed in order.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. TORKILDSEN, stated the question: "Will the gentleman be permitted to proceed in order?'

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the gentleman be permitted to proceed in order?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. TORKILDSEN, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. CONYERS objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

Yeas 212 Nays 197 When there appeared ... Answered present

¶52.5[Roll No. 273] YEAS-212 Allard Buver Diaz-Balart Armey Callahan Dickey Bachus Calvert Doolittle Baker (CA) Camp Dornan Canady Baker (LA) Dreier Ballenger Castle Duncan Barr Chabot Dunn Barrett (NE) Chambliss Ehlers Bartlett Chenoweth Ehrlich Christensen Bass Emerson Bateman Chrysler English Bereuter Clinger Ensign Bilbray Coble Everett Bilirakis Ewing Fawell Coburn Collins (GA) Blute Boehlert Fields (TX) Combest Boehner Cooley Flanagan Bonilla Cox Foley Bono Crane Forbes Brownback Crapo Fowler Bryant (TN) Cremeans Fox Franks (CT) Bunn Cubin Cunningham Franks (NJ) Bunning Burr Davis Frelinghuysen Burton DeLav

Funderburk Gallegly Ganske Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Goodlatte Goodling Graham Greenwood Gutknecht Hancock Hansen Hastert Hastings (WA) Hayworth Hefley Heineman Herger Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Hostettler Houghton Hutchinson Hyde Inglis Istook Johnson (CT) Johnson, Sam Jones Kasich Kelly Kim King Kingston Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaHood Largent Latham. LaTourette Leach

Andrews

Baesler

Barcia

Barton

Becerra

Bentsen

Berman

Bevill

Bishop

Bonio

Borski

Boucher

Browder

Cardin

Clayton

Clement

Clyburn

Coleman

Condit

Convers

Costello

Coyne

Cramer

Danner

DeFazio

DeLauro

Dellums

Deutsch

Dingell

Doggett

Dooley

Doyle

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

Durbin

Edwards

Dixon

Dicks

Deal

Baldacci

Saľmon Sanford Schiff Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shuster Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (N.J) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Spence Stearns Stockman Stump Talent Tate Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Torkildsen Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

NAYS-197

Abercrombie Fattah Manton Ackerman Fazio Markey Martinez Fields (LA) Filner Mascara Flake Matsui Foglietta McCarthy Barrett (WI) Ford McDermott Frank (MA) McHale Frost McKinney Beilenson Furse McNulty Geidenson Meehan Gephardt Geren Menendez Gibbons Mfume Miller (CA) Gonzalez Gordon Mineta Green Minge Gutierrez Hall (OH) Mollohan Hall (TX) Brown (CA) Montgomery Brown (OH) Hamilton Moran Bryant (TX) Harman Murtha Hastings (FL) Nadler Hefner Hilliard Chapman Neal Oberstar Hinchey Obey Holden Olver Hover Ortiz Jackson-Lee Collins (MI) Orton Jacobs Owens Johnson (SD) Pallone Johnson, E.B. Pastor Payne (NJ) Johnston Kaniorski Pavne (VA) Kaptur Pelosi Kennedy (MA) Peterson (FL) Kennedy (RI) Peterson (MN) Kennelly Pickett Kildee Pomerov Kleczka Poshard Klink Rahall LaFalce Rangel Reed Lantos Laughlin Reynolds Levin Richardson Lewis (GA) Rivers Lincoln Roberts Lipinski Roemer Rose Lofgren Roukema Roybal-Allard Lowey

Sabo Sanders Stenholm Tucker Studds Velazquez Stupak Sawyer Vento Tanner Tauzin Visclosky Volkmer Schroeder Schumer Taylor (MS) Scott Ward Serrano Tejeda Waters Watt (NC) Thompson Shays Sisisky Thornton Wilson Skaggs Skelton Thurman Wise Woolsey Torres Torricelli Wyden Slaughter Spratt Towns Wynn Traficant Stark ANSWERED "PRESENT"-2 Gunderson McHugh NOT VOTING-23

Archer Hilleary Scarborough Bliley Schaefer Horn Brown (FL) Jefferson Souder Clay Lazio Stokes Collins (IL) Moakley Waxman de la Garza Oxlev Williams Parker Gekas Yates Hayes Saxton

So the gentleman was permitted to proceed in order.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby the gentleman was permitted to proceed in order was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the

The Committee resumed its sitting; and after some further time spent therein,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BARRETT of Nebraska, assumed the

When Mr. KLUG, Chairman, reported that the Committee, having had under consideration said bill, had come to no resolution thereon.

¶52.6 SUBMISSION OF CONFERENCE REPORT-H.R. 831

Mr. ARCHER submitted a conference report (Rept. No. 104-92) on the bill (H.R. 831) to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to permanently extend the deduction for the health insurance costs of self-employed individuals, to repeal the provision permitting nonrecognition of gain on sales and exchanges effectuating policies of the Federal Communications Commission, and for other purposes; together with a statement thereon, for printing in the Record under the rule.

¶52.7 TERM LIMITS

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. BARRETT of Nebraska, pursuant to House Resolution 116 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the further consideration of the joint resolution (H.J. Res. 73) proposing an amendment to the Constitution of the United States with respect to the number of terms of office of Members of the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Mr. KLUG, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole, resumed the chair; and after some time spent there-

¶52.8 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment in the nature of a substitute submitted by Mr. PETERSON of Florida:

Luther

Maloney