## JOURNAL OF THE

Poshard

Pryce

Quinn

Radanovich

Rohrabacher

Ros-Lehtinen

Ramstad

Regula

Riggs

Rose

Roth

Royce

Sanford

Saxton

Schaefer

Seastrand

Shadegg

Shuster

Schiff

Shaw

Scarborough

Wyden Wynn	Yates Young (AK)	Young (FL) Zeliff
ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1		
	Longley	

# NOT VOTING-4

de la Garza Pomeroy Gephardt Stokes

So the amendment in the nature of a substitute was not agreed to.

After some further time,

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. TORKILDSEN, assumed the Chair.

When Mr. KLUG, Chairman, pursuant to House Resolution 116, reported the joint resolution back to the House.

The previous question having been ordered by said resolution.

The joint resolution was ordered to be engrossed and read a third time, was read a third time by title.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House pass said joint resolution?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. TORKILDSEN, announced that twothirds of the Members present had voted in the affirmative.

Mr. CONYERS demanded a recorded vote on passage of said joint resolution, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device.

vice.		
It was deci negative	Yeas 2 Nays 2 Answered present	
		present
¶52.15	[Doll No. 977	71
132.13	[Roll No. 277	[]
	AYES—227	
Armey	Cramer	Greenwood
Bachus	Crane	Gunderson
Baker (CA)	Crapo	Gutknecht
Baldacci	Cremeans	Hall (TX)
Ballenger	Cubin	Hancock
Barcia	Cunningham	Hansen
Barr	Danner	Harman
Barrett (NE)	Davis	Hastert
Bartlett	Deal	Hastings (WA)
Bass	Deutsch	Hayes
Bereuter	Diaz-Balart	Hayworth
Bevill	Dickey	Heineman
Bilbray	Doolittle	Herger
Bilirakis	Dornan	Hilleary
Blute	Doyle	Hobson
Boehner	Duncan	Hoekstra
Bonilla	Dunn	Hoke
Bono	Ehlers	Holden
Brewster	Emerson	Horn
Browder	English	Houghton
Brown (OH)	Ensign	Hutchinson
Brownback	Eshoo	Inglis
Bryant (TN)	Everett	Istook
Bunn	Ewing	Jacobs
Bunning	Fields (TX)	Johnson (SD)
Burr	Flanagan	Johnson, Sam
Burton	Foley	Jones
Buyer	Forbes	Kasich
Callahan	Fowler	Kelly
Calvert	Fox	Kim
Camp	Franks (CT)	Kingston
Canady	Franks (NJ)	Klug
Castle	Frelinghuysen	Knollenberg
Chabot	Frisa	Kolbe
Chambliss	Funderburk	LaHood
Chenoweth	Furse	Largent
Chrysler	Gallegly	Latham
Clement	Ganske	LaTourette
Clinger	Gekas	Lazio
Clyburn	Gilchrest	Leach
Coble	Gillmor	Lewis (KY)
Coburn	Gingrich	Lightfoot
Collins (GA)	Goodlatte	Linder
Combest	Goodling	LoBiondo
Condit	Gordon	Lucas
Coolor	Coss	Lucas

Goss

Graham

Luther

Manzullo

Cooley

Cox

Martini
Mascara
McCarthy
McCollum
McCrery
McInnis
McIntosh
McKeon
McNulty
Meehan
Metcalf
Meyers
Mica
Miller (FL)
Minge
Moorhead
Myrick
Nethercutt
Neumann
Ney
Norwood
Nussle
Orton
Packard
Paxon
Peterson (FL)
Peterson (MN)
Pombo
Portman

Allard

Archer

Barton

Bateman

Beilenson

Bentsen

Berman

Bishop

Boehlert

Bliley

Bonior

Borski

Boucher

Cardin

Clav Clayton

Chapman

Coleman

Conyers

Costello

DeFazio

DeLauro

Dellums

Coyne

DeLay

Dicks

Dixon

Dingell

Doggett

Dooley

Dreier

Durbin

Edwards

Ehrlich

Engel

Evans

Fawell

Fazio

Filner

Flake

Ford

Foglietta

Gephardt Geren

Gibbons

Gilman

Green

Gonzalez

Gutierrez

Hall (OH)

Farr Fattah

227

204

1

Becerra

Andrews

Smith (MI) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Stearns Stump Abercrombie Hamilton Hastings (FL) Ackerman Hefley Hefner Hilliard Baesler Baker (LA) Hinchey Hostettler Barrett (WI) Hoyer Hunter Hyde Jackson-Lee Jefferson Johnson (CT) Johnson, E. B. Johnston Kanjorski Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Brown (CA) Kildee Brown (FL) King Bryant (TX) Kleczka Klink LaFalce Christensen Lantos Laughlin Levin Lewis (CA) Collins (IL) Lewis (GA) Collins (MI) Lincoln Lipinski Livingston Lofgren Longley Lowey Maloney Manton Markey Martinez Matsui McDade McDermott McHale McHugh McKinney Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Mink Moakley Fields (LA) Molinari Mollohan Montgomerv Moran Morella Frank (MA) Murtha Gejdenson Myers Nadler Neal Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz Owens Oxley

Talent Tate Tauzin Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Thornton Tiahrt Torkildsen Traficant Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wilson Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

### NOES-204

Pallone Parker Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Pelosi Petri Pickett Porter Quillen Rahall Rangel Reed Reynolds Richardson Rivers Roberts Roemer Rogers Roukema Roybal-Allard Rush Sabo Salmon Sanders Sawyer Schroeder Schumer Scott Sensenbrenner Serrano Shays Sisisky Skaggs Skeen Skelton Slaughter Smith (NJ) Spratt Stark Stenholm Stokes Studds Stupak Tanner Taylor (MS) Teieda Thompson Thurman Torres Torricelli Towns Tucker Velazquez Vento Visclosky Volkmer Ward Waters Watt (NC) Waxman Wicker Williams Wise Woolsey Wyden Wvnn Yates

ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1 Stockman

de la Garza

#### NOT VOTING-3

Frost Pomerov

two-thirds of the Members So. present not having voted in favor thereof, the joint resolution was not passed.

#### **\$52.16** WAIVING POINTS OF ORDER AGAINST CONFERENCE REPORT ON H.R.

Mr. SOLOMON, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 104-93) the resolution (H. Res. 121) waiving certain points of order against the conference report to accompany the bill (H.R. 831) to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to permanently extend the deduction for the health insurance costs of self-employed individuals, to repeal the provision permitting nonrecognition of gain on sales and exchanges effectuating policies of the Federal Communications Commission, and for other purposes.

When said resolution and report were referred to the House Calendar and ordered printed.

**\$52.17** MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT— SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY

INVESTMENTS

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. TORKILDSEN, laid before the House a message from the President, which was read as follows:

To the Congress of the United States:

This Nation's future depends on strong public and private support for science and technology. My Administration's decision to make sound investments in science and technology even as the Federal Government cuts other spending is premised on three basic assumptions:

- -Technology is the engine of economic growth.
- -Scientific knowledge is the key to the future
- -Responsible government advances science and technology.

The Congress and the American people can find evidence of the Administration's dedication to responsible government support for science and technology in our defense and economic policies as well as our management of the science and technology enterprise. We have decreased the Federal deficit, helped to create millions of new jobs, and improved the tax treatment of small businesses and of investments in and development. Hemiresearch spheric and global trade agreements as well as relaxation of outdated export controls have opened huge export markets to America's high-tech industries. My National Security Strategy of Engagement and Enlargement (February 1995) depends on farsighted and efficient science and technology investments. Our foreign policy and security interests are also supported by mutually beneficial international cooperation in science and technology.

We have consistently endorsed technology policies to increase prosperity