Duncan

Strike all after the resolving clause and insert the following:

#### "ARTICLE -

"SECTION 1. No person who has been elected to the Senate two times shall be eligible for election or appointment to the Senate. No person who has been elected to the House of Representative six times shall be eligible for election to the House of Representatives.

"SECTION 2. Election as a Senator or Representative before this Article is ratified shall be taken into account for purposes of section 1. Any State limitation on service for Members of Congress from that State, whether enacted before, on, or after the date of the ratification of this Article shall be valid, if such limitation does not exceed the limitation set forth in section 1.".

It was decided in the Yeas ...... 135 negative ...... Nays ..... 297

#### ¶52.9[Roll No. 274]

### AYES-135

Baldacci Gonzalez Moran Barrett (WI) Graham Neumann Bartlett. Green Nev Ortiz Barton Gutierrez Bentsen Hall (OH) Orton Bilbray Hall (TX) Parker Payne (NJ) Brewster Harman Hayes Hefner Browder Peterson (FL) Brown (CA) Peterson (MN) Brown (OH) Hilliard Pomeroy Hinchey Bryant (TN) Poshard Hoekstra Pryce Bunn Burr Salmon Hoke Chabot Holden Sanford Hutchinson Scarborough Christensen Clay Clyburn Jackson-Lee Schiff Schroeder Jacobs Coble Jefferson Schumer Coburn Johnson (SD) Scott Collins (MI) Johnson, E.B. Shadegg Condit Smith (MI) Jones Cramer Kanjorski Solomon Cremeans Kim Souder Danner Klug Stark Davis LaFalce Studds Deal Lantos Talent Deutsch Largent Tauzin Taylor (MS) Dickey LaTourette Dingell Laughlin Teieda Doggett Lincoln Thompson Thornberry Dornan Livingston Engel LoBiondo Thurman Ensign Lofgren Tiahrt Eshoo Luther Towns Everett Manzullo Traficant Martinez Tucker Fattah Matsui Ward Fields (TX) McCarthy Waters Weldon (FL) Foley McCrery Forbes McHugh Whitfield Fox McIntosh Wilson Frank (MA) McKinney Wise Wyden Funderburk McNulty Young (AK) Furse Meehan Gejdenson Minge Zimmer

### NOES-297

Boehlert Clinger Abercrombie Ackerman Boehner Coleman Allard Bonilla Collins (GA) Andrews Bonior Collins (IL) Archer Bono Combest Armey Borski Conyers Boucher Bachus Cooley Brown (FL) Costello Baesler Baker (CA) Brownback Cox Baker (LA) Bryant (TX) Covne Ballenger Bunning Crane Barcia Burton Crapo Barr Buver Cubin Barrett (NE) Callahan Cunningham Bass Calvert DeFazio Bateman DeLauro Camp Canady Becerra DeLay Dellums Beilenson Cardin Bereuter Castle Diaz-Balart Berman Chambliss Dicks Bevill Chapman Dixon Chenoweth Bilirakis Dooley Bishop Chrysler Doolittle Bliley Clayton Dovle Dreier

Kolbe LaHood Reynolds Richardson Dunn Durbin Latham Riggs Rivers Roberts Edwards Lazio Ehlers Leach Ehrlich Levin Roemer Lewis (CA) Emerson Rogers Rohrabacher English Lewis (GA) Ros-Lehtinen Lewis (KY) Ewing Lightfoot Rose Fawell Roth Linder Lipinski Roukema Fazio Roybal-Allard Fields (LA) Longley Lowey Filner Royce Flake Lucas Rush Flanagan Maloney Sabo Sanders Foglietta Manton Markey Ford Sawyer Fowler Martini Saxton Franks (CT) Mascara Schaefer Franks (NJ) McCollum Seastrand McDade Sensenbrenner Frelinghuysen Frisa McDermott Serrano Frost McHale Shaw Gallegly McInnis Shays Ganske McKeon Shuster Gekas Meek Sisisky Menendez Geren Skaggs Skeen Gibbons Metcalf Gilchrest Meyers Skelton Mfume Gillmor Slaughter Mica Gilman Smith (NJ) Miller (CA) Goodlatte Smith (TX) Goodling Miller (FL) Smith (WA) Gordon Mineta Spence Goss Mink Spratt Greenwood Moakley Stearns Gunderson Molinari Stenholm Mollohan Gutknecht Stockman Hamilton Montgomery Stokes Hancock Moorhead Stump Hansen Morella Stupak Hastert Murtha Tanner Hastings (FL) Myers Tate Myrick Taylor (NC) Hastings (WA) Hayworth Nädler Thomas Hefley Neal Thornton Torkildsen Heineman Nethercutt Herger Norwood Torres Torricelli Hilleary Nussle Hobson Oberstan Upton Horn Obey Velazquez Hostettler Olver Vento Visclosky Houghton Owens Oxley Packard Volkmer Hoyer Vucanovich Hunter Hyde Pallone Waldholtz Inglis Pastor Walker Istook Paxon Walsh Johnson (CT) Payne (VA) Wamp Johnson, Sam Pelosi Watt (NC) Watts (OK) Johnston Petri Kaptur Pickett Waxman Kasich Pombo Weldon (PA) Kelly Porter Weller Kennedy (MA) Portman White Kennedy (RI) Quillen Wicker Kennelly Williams Quinn Kildee Radanovich Wolf King Kingston Rahall Woolsey Ramstad Wynn Kleczka Rangel Yates Klink Reed Young (FL) Zeliff Knollenberg Regula

# NOT VOTING-2

de la Garza Gephardt

So the amendment in the nature of a substitute was not agreed to.

After some further time.

The Committee rose informally to receive a message from the President.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. LIN-DER, assumed the Chair.

## ¶52.10 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

A message in writing from the President of the United States was communicated to the House by Mr. Edwin Thomas, one of his secretaries.

The Committee resumed its sitting; and after some further time spent therein,

### ¶52.11 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment in the nature of a substitute submitted by Mr. INGLIS:

Strike all after the resolving clause and insert the following:

That the following article is proposed as an amendment to the Constitution of the United States, which shall be valid to all intents and purposes as a part of the Constitution when ratified by the legislatures of three-fourths of the several States within seven years from the date of its submission to the States by the Congress:

### "ARTICLE-

"SECTION 1. No person who has been elected for a full term to the Senate two times shall be eligible for election or appointment to the Senate. No person who has been elected for a full term to the House of Representatives three times shall be eligible for election to the House of Representatives.

"SECTION 2. No person who has served as a Senator for more than three years of a term to which some other person was elected shall subsequently be eligible for election to the Senate more than once. No person who has served as a Representative for more than one year shall subsequently be eligible for election to the House of Representatives more than two times.

"SECTION 3. No election or service occurring before this article becomes operative shall be taken into account when determining eligibility for election under this ar-

It was decided in the Yeas ...... 114 negative ...... Nays ..... 316

#### 952.12[Roll No. 275]

### AYES-114

Allard Metcalf Ensign Armey Bachus Everett Minge Myrick Fields (TX) Baker (CA) Flanagan Nethercutt Baldacci Forbes Neumann Barcia Fox Nev Bartlett Franks (NJ) Norwood Bass Funderburk Packard Bereuter Furse Peterson (MN) Bilbray Ganske Pombo Blute Goss Pryce Bono Graham Radanovich Browder Hall (TX) Riggs Rohrabacher Brownback Hancock Bryant (TN) Harman Ros-Lehtinen Bunn Heineman Roth Burr Herger Royce Hilleary Salmon Chabot Hoekstra Sanford Christensen Hutchinson Scarborough Schaefer Chrysler Inglis Seastrand Clyburn Jacobs Shadegg Smith (MI) Coble Jones Coburn Kim Condit LaHood Solomon Cooley Largent Spence Cramer LaTourette Stockman Crane Lewis (KY) Talent LoBiondo Tate Cremeans Cubin Thornberry Longley Davis Lucas Thornton DeFazio McCarthy Vucanovich Deutsch McCrery Wamp Watts (OK) McInnis Dickey Doolittle McIntosh Weldon (FL) McKeon Dornan White Whitfield Dunn McNulty English Meehan Zimmer

# NOES-316

Abercrombie Ackerman Andrews Archer Baesler Baker (LA) Ballenger

Barrett (NE) Bevill Barrett (WI) Bilirakis Barton Bishop Bliley Bateman Becerra Beilenson Bentsen