Olver Ortiz

Reed

Rose

Roth

Saho

Scott

Fawell

tion for the health insurance costs of self-employed individuals, to repeal the provision permitting nonrecognition of gain on sales and exchanges effectuating policies of the Federal Communications Commission, and for other purposes; together with the amendment of the Senate thereto, was taken from the Speaker's table.

When on motion of Mr. ARCHER, it was.

Resolved, That the House disagree to the amendment of the Senate and agree to the conference asked by the Senate on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses thereon.

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate thereof.

# $\P51.27$ MOTION TO INSTRUCT CONFEREES-H.R. 831

Mr. GIBBONS moved that the managers on the part of the House at the conference on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses on H.R. 831, be instructed to agree to the provisions contained in section 5 of the Senate amendment which change the tax treatment of United States citizens relinquishing their citizenship.

After debate.

Mr. GIBBONS moved the previous question on the motion to instruct the managers on the part of the House.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House agree to said motion? The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. EWING, announced that the nays had

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to said motion? Mr. GIBBONS demanded a recorded vote on agreeing to said motion, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic de-

#### ¶51.28[Roll No. 272] YEAS-193

1 EAS—193		
Abercrombie	Coyne	Gibbons
Ackerman	Cramer	Gonzalez
Andrews	Danner	Goodling
Baesler	de la Garza	Gordon
Baldacci	Deal	Green
Barcia	DeFazio	Greenwood
Barrett (WI)	DeLauro	Gutierrez
Becerra	Dellums	Hall (OH)
Beilenson	Deutsch	Hamilton
Bentsen	Dicks	Hastings (FL)
Berman	Dingell	Hayes
Bevill	Dixon	Hefner
Bishop	Doggett	Hilliard
Bonior	Dooley	Hinchey
Borski	Doyle	Holden
Boucher	Duncan	Hoyer
Brewster	Durbin	Jackson-Lee
Browder	Edwards	Jacobs
Brown (CA)	Engel	Johnson (SD)
Brown (FL)	Eshoo	Johnson, E. B.
Brown (OH)	Evans	Johnston
Bryant (TX)	Fattah	Kanjorski
Cardin	Fazio	Kaptur
Chapman	Fields (LA)	Kennedy (MA)
Clement	Filner	Kennedy (RI)
Clyburn	Flake	Kennelly
Coleman	Foglietta	Kildee
Collins (IL)	Ford	Kleczka
Collins (MI)	Frank (MA)	Klink
Condit	Furse	LaFalce
Conyers	Gejdenson	Lantos
Costello	Geren	Laughlin

Levin Lewis (GA) Lincoln Lipinski Lofgren Lowey Luther Maloney Manton Markey Martinez Mascara Matsui McCarthy McDermott McHale McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Moakley Mollohan Montgomery Moran Neal Oberstar Obey

Allard

Armey Bachus

Baker (CA)

Baker (LA) Ballenger

Barrett (NE)

Bartlett

Bereuter

Bilirakis

Boehlert.

Boehner

Bonilla

Brownback

Bryant (TN)

Bono

Bunn

Burr

Bunning

Burton

Callahan

Calvert

Canady

Chambliss

Chenoweth

Christensen

Collins (GA)

Chrysler

Clinger

Coburn

Combest

Cooley

Crane

Crapo

Cubin

Davis

DeLay

Cremeans

Cunningham

Diaz-Balart

Dickey Doolittle

Dornan

Dreier

Dunn

Ehlers

Ehrlich

English

Ensign

Everett

Ewing

Emerson

Cox

Coble

Castle Chabot

Camp

Bilbray

Bliley

Blute

Barton

Bass

Slaughter Spratt Stark Owens Pallone Stenholm Parker Stokes Studds Pastor Payne (NJ) Stupak Tanner Payne (VA) Pelosi Tauzin Peterson (FL) Pickett Thompson Pomeroy Poshard Thornton Thurman Rahall Rangel Torres Torricelli Reynolds Towns Rivers Traficant Roemer Tucker Vento Visclosky Volkmer Roukema Roybal-Allard Ward Waters Watt (NC) Sanders Sawyer Schroeder Williams Schumer Wise Woolsey Serrano Wyden Sisisky Wynn Skaggs Skelton

## NAYS-224

Fields (TX) Longley Lucas Manzullo Flanagan Foley Forbes Martini Fowler McCollum McCrery Fox Franks (CT) McDade Franks (NJ) McHugh Frelinghuysen McInnis Funderburk McIntosh Gallegly Ganske McKeon Metcalf Gekas Meyers Gilchrest Mica Gillmor Miller (FL) Gilman Molinari Moorhead Goodlatte Morella Goss Graham Myers Myrick Gunderson Nethercutt Gutknecht Hall (TX) Neumann Hancock Nev Norwood Hansen Hastert Nussle Hastings (WA) Oxley Hayworth Packard Hefley Paxon Peterson (MN) Heineman Herger Hilleary Pombo Hobson Porter Hoekstra Portman Hoke Prvce Quillen Horn Hostettler Quinn Houghton Radanovich Ramstad Hunter Hutchinson Regula Hvde Riggs Roberts Inglis Istook Rogers Johnson (CT) Rohrabacher Johnson, Sam Ros-Lehtinen Jones Royce Kasich Salmon Kelly Sanford Kim Saxton Scarborough King Kingston Schaefer Klug Knollenberg Schiff Seastrand Kolbe Sensenbrenner LaHood Shadegg Shaw Largent Latham Shays LaTourette Shuster Skeen Lazio Smith (MI) Leach Lewis (CA) Smith (N.J) Lewis (KY) Smith (TX) Lightfoot Smith (WA) Linder Solomon

Taylor (MS) Tejeda

LoBiondo

Spence Stearns Torkildsen Upton Stockman Vucanovich Stump Talent Waldholtz Walker Tate Walsh Taylor (NC) Wamp Watts (OK) Thomas Thornberry Weldon (FL) Tiahrt Weldon (PA)

Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

#### NOT VOTING-17

Gephardt Bateman Richardson Clay Harman Rush Clayton Jefferson Velazquez Farr Murtha Wilson Frisa Nadler Yates Frost Orton

So the motion to instruct the managers on the part of the House was not agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said motion was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

## ¶51.29 APPOINTMENT OF CONFEREES— H.R. 831

Thereupon, the SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. EWING, by unanimous consent, announced the appointment of Messrs. Archer, Crane, Thomas, Gib-BONS, and RANGEL, as managers on the part of the House at said conference.

Ordered. That the Clerk notify the Senate of the foregoing appointments.

## ¶51.30 COMMITTEES AND SUBCOMMITTEES TO SIT

On motion of Mr. INGLIS, by unanimous consent, the following committees and their subcommittees were granted permission to sit during the 5minute rule on Wednesday, March 29, 1995: the Committee on Agriculture, the Committee on Banking and Financial Services, the Committee on Commerce, the Committee on Economic and Educational Opportunities, the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight, the Committee on International Relations, the Committee on the Judiciary, the Committee on National Security, the Committee on Resources, the Committee on Small Business, and the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure.

## ¶51.31 LEAVE OF ABSENCE

By unanimous consent, leave of absence was granted to Mr. UNDER-WOOD, for today and balance of the week.

And then,

## ¶51.32 ADJOURNMENT

On motion of Mr. FIELDS of Louisiana, at 11 o'clock and 5 minutes p.m., the House adjourned.

## ¶51.33 REPORTS OF COMMITTEES ON PUBLIC BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

Under clause 2 of rule XIII, reports of committees were delivered to the Clerk for printing and reference to the proper calendar, as follows:

Mr. McCOLLUM: Committee on the Judiciary. H.R. 1240. A bill to combat crime by enhancing the penalties for certain sexual crimes against children; with an amendment (Rept. No. 104-90). Referred to the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the

Souder

Livingston