JOURNAL OF THE

Watt (NC)

Waxman

Williams

Woolsey

Wvden

Wynn

Wise

Levin Lewis (GA)

Lincoln

Lipinski

Lofgren

Luther Maloney

Manton

Lowey

tion for the health insurance costs of self-employed individuals, to repeal the provision permitting nonrecognition of gain on sales and exchanges effectuating policies of the Federal Communications Commission, and for other purposes; together with the amendment of the Senate thereto, was taken from the Speaker's table.

When on motion of Mr. ARCHER, it was.

Resolved, That the House disagree to the amendment of the Senate and agree to the conference asked by the Senate on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses thereon.

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate thereof.

¶51.27 MOTION TO INSTRUCT CONFEREES-H.R. 831

Mr. GIBBONS moved that the managers on the part of the House at the conference on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses on H.R. 831, be instructed to agree to the provisions contained in section 5 of the Senate amendment which change the tax treatment of United States citizens relinquishing their citizenship.

After debate,

Mr. GIBBONS moved the previous question on the motion to instruct the managers on the part of the House.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to said motion? The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. EWING, announced that the nays had it.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House agree to said motion? Mr. GIBBONS demanded a recorded vote on agreeing to said motion, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device. **(**... decided in the

It was decided in the negative		Yeas 193 Nays 224	
¶51.28 [Roll No. 272]			
YEAS—193			
Abercrombie Ackerman Andrews Baesler Baldacci Barcia Barrett (WI) Beccerra Beilenson Bertsen Berman Bevill Bishop Bonior Borski Boucher Browster Browder Browder Brown (CA) Brown (CL) Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) Cardin Chapman Clement Clyburn Coleman Collins (IL) Collins (MI)	YEAS—193 Coyne Cramer Danner de la Garza Deal DeFazio DeLauro Dellums Deutsch Dicks Dingell Dixon Doggett Dooley Doyle Duncan Durbin Edwards Engel Eshoo Evans Fattah Fazio Fields (LA) Filner Flake Foglietta Ford Frank (MA)	Gibbons Gonzalez Goodling Gordon Green Greenwood Gutierrez Hall (OH) Hamilton Hastings (FL) Hayes Hefner Hilliard Hinchey Holden Hoyer Jackson-Lee Jacobs Johnson (SD) Johnson (SD) Johnson (SD) Johnson (SD) Johnsonski Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kildee Kleczka Klink	
Condit Conyers Costello	Furse Gejdenson Geren	LaFalce Lantos Laughlin	
2.500110		B	

Markey Martinez Mascara Matsui McCarthy McDermott McHale McKinney McNultv Meehan Meek Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Mineta Minge Mink Moakley Mollohan Montgomery Moran Neal Oberstar Obey Allard Archer Armey Bachus Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Ballenger Barr Barrett (NE) Bartlett Barton Bass Bereuter Bilbray Bilirakis Bliley Blute Boehlert Boehner Bonilla Bono Brownback Bryant (TN) Bunn Bunning Burr Burton Buyer Callahan Calvert Camp Canady Castle Chabot Chambliss Chenoweth Christensen Chrvsler Clinger Coble Coburn Collins (GA) Combest Cooley Cox Crane Crapo Cremeans Cubin Cunningham Davis DeLay Diaz-Balart Dickey Doolittle Dornan Dreier Dunn Ehlers Ehrlich Emerson English Ensign Everett Ewing

Olver Ortiz Owens Pallone Parker Pastor Payne (NJ) Payne (VA) Peľosi Peterson (FL) Pickett Pomeroy Poshard Rahall Rangel Reed Reynolds Rivers Roemer Rose Roth Roukema Roybal-Allard Sabo Sanders Sawyer Schroeder Schumer Scott Serrano Sisisky Skaggs

Skelton

NAYS-224 Fawell LoBiondo Fields (TX) Longley Flanagan Foley Forbes Martini Fowler McCrery Fox Franks (CT) McDade Franks (NJ) McHugh Frelinghuysen McInnis Funderburk Gallegly Ganske McKeon Metcalf Gekas Meyers Gilchrest Mica Gillmor Gilman Molinari Goodlatte Morella Goss Graham Myers Myrick Gunderson Gutknecht Hall (TX) Hancock Nev Norwood Hansen Hastert Nussle Hastings (WA) Oxley Hayworth Packard Hefley Paxon Heineman Herger Petri Hillearv Pombo Hobson Porter Hoekstra Portman Hoke Prvce Quillen Horn Hostettler Quinn Houghton Hunter Hutchinson Regula Hvde Riggs Roberts Inglis Istook Rogers Johnson (CT) Johnson, Sam Jones Royce Kasich Salmon Kelly Sanford Kim Saxton King Kingston Schaefer Klug Knollenberg Schiff Kolbe LaHood Shadegg Shaw Largent Latham Shays LaTourette Shuster Skeen Lazio Leach Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Linder Solomon Livingston Souder

Lucas Manzullo McCollum McIntosh Miller (FL) Moorhead Nethercutt Neumann Peterson (MN) Radanovich Ramstad Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Scarborough Seastrand Sensenbrenner Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA)

Slaughter	Spence
Spratt	Stearn
Stark	Stockı
Stenholm	Stump
Stokes	Talent
Studds	Tate
Stupak	Taylor
Tanner	Thoma
Tauzin	Thorn
Taylor (MS)	Tiahrt
Tejeda	
Thompson	
Thornton	Batem
Thurman	Clay
Torres	Clayto
Torricelli	Farr
Towns	Frisa
Traficant	Frost
Tucker	C •
Vento	So
Visclosky	ager
Volkmer	agre
Ward	A
Waters	A

pence tearns tockman tump 'alent	Torkildsen Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker	Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wolf
ate 'aylor (NC) 'homas 'hornberry 'iahrt	Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA)	Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer
	NOT VOTING-	-17
ateman lay layton arr risa rost	Gephardt Harman Jefferson Murtha Nadler Orton	Richardson Rush Velazquez Wilson Yates

So the motion to instruct the mangers on the part of the House was not greed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said motion was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶51.29 APPOINTMENT OF CONFEREES— H.R. 831

Thereupon, the SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. EWING, by unanimous consent, announced the appointment of Messrs. Archer, Crane, Thomas, Gib-BONS, and RANGEL, as managers on the part of the House at said conference.

Ordered. That the Clerk notify the Senate of the foregoing appointments.

§51.30 COMMITTEES AND SUBCOMMITTEES TO SIT

On motion of Mr. INGLIS, by unanimous consent, the following committees and their subcommittees were granted permission to sit during the 5minute rule on Wednesday, March 29, 1995: the Committee on Agriculture, the Committee on Banking and Financial Services, the Committee on Commerce, the Committee on Economic and Educational Opportunities, the Committee on Government Reform and Oversight, the Committee on International Relations, the Committee on the Judiciary, the Committee on National Security, the Committee on Resources, the Committee on Small Business, and the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure.

¶51.31 LEAVE OF ABSENCE

By unanimous consent, leave of absence was granted to Mr. UNDER-WOOD, for today and balance of the week.

And then,

¶51.32 ADJOURNMENT

On motion of Mr. FIELDS of Louisiana, at 11 o'clock and 5 minutes p.m., the House adjourned.

\$1.33 REPORTS OF COMMITTEES ON PUBLIC BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

Under clause 2 of rule XIII, reports of committees were delivered to the Clerk for printing and reference to the proper calendar, as follows:

Mr. McCOLLUM: Committee on the Judiciary. H.R. 1240. A bill to combat crime by enhancing the penalties for certain sexual crimes against children; with an amendment (Rept. No. 104-90). Referred to the Committee of the Whole House on the State of the Union.

MARCH 28