Sisisky

Kim Moran Murtha Sisisky King Skeen Skelton Kingston Myers Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Klink Myrick Nethercutt Klug Knollenberg Smith (WA) Ney Norwood Kolbe Solomon LaHood Nussle Souder Largent Ortiz Spence Latham Oxley Packard Stearns LaTourette Stockman Laughlin Stump Paxon Lazio Pickett Talent Tate Leach Pombo Lewis (CA) Porter Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Lewis (KY) Portman Lightfoot Pryce Linder Quillen Tejeda Livingston Quinn Thomas LoBiondo Radanovich Thornberry Tiahrt Longley Regula Richardson Torkildsen Lucas Manzullo Riggs Traficant Martini Roberts Upton Vucanovich McCollum Rogers McCrery Rohrabacher Waldholtz McDade Ros-Lehtinen Walker McHale Roth Walsh Wamp McHugh Roukema Watts (OK) McInnis Rovce Salmon McIntosh Weldon (FL) McKeon Sanford Weldon (PA) Metcalf Saxton Weller Scarborough Meyers White Mica Schaefer Whitfield Miller (FL) Schiff Wicker Molinari Seastrand Wolf Mollohan Shadegg Young (AK) Montgomery Shaw Young (FL) Moorhead Shuster Zeliff

NOT VOTING-15

Bryant (TX) Gutierrez Orton
Clay Hayes Rose
Clayton Hefner Rush
Ford Jefferson Velazquez
Gephardt Nadler Wilson

So the motion to instruct the managers on the part of the House was not agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said motion was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶51.23 APPOINTMENT OF CONFEREES— H.R. 889

Thereupon, the SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. EWING, by unanimous consent, announced the appointment of the following Members as managers on the part of the House at said conference:

For consideration of Senate amendments numbered 3, 5, 6, 7, and 10 through 25, and the Senate amendment to the title of the bill:

Messrs. Livingston, Myers of Indiana, Young of Florida, Regula, Lewis of California, Porter, Rogers, and Wolf, Mrs. Vucanovich, and Messrs. Callahan, Obey, Yates, Stokes, Wilson, Hefner, Coleman, and Mollohan.

For consideration of Senate amendments numbered 1, 2, 4, 8, and 9:

Messrs. Young of Florida, McDade, Livingston, Lewis of California, Skeen, Hobson, Bonilla, Nethercutt, Neumann, Murtha, Dicks, Wilson, Hefner, Sabo, and Obey.

Ordered, That the Clerk notify the Senate of the foregoing appointments.

¶51.24 PROVIDING FOR A CLOSED CONFERENCE—H.R. 889

Mr. LIVINGSTON moved, pursuant to clause 6(a) of rule XXVIII, that the conference committee meetings be-

tween the House and the Senate on the bill (H.R. 889) making emergency supplemental appropriations and rescissions to preserve and enhance the military readiness of the Department of Defense for the fiscal readiness of the Department of Defense for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1995, and for other purposes; be closed to the public at such times as classified national security information is under consideration; *Provided, however*, that any sitting Member of Congress shall have a right to attend any closed or open meeting.

The question being put,

Will the House agree to said motion? The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. EWING, announced that a roll call was required under clause 6(a), rule XXVIII, and the call was taken by electronic device.

It was decided in the affirmative Yeas 403 Nays 14

¶51.25 [Roll No. 271]

YEAS-403

Coleman Frelinghuysen Abercrombie Collins (GA) Frisa Allard Collins (IL) Frost Collins (MI) Funderburk Andrews Archer Furse Armey Bachus Conyers Cooley Gallegly Ganske Gejdenson Costello Baesler Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Cox Gekas Geren Coyne Baldacci Gibbons Cramer Ballenger Crane Gilchrest Barcia Crapo Gillmor Barr Cremeans Gilman Barrett (NE) Cubin Gonzalez Barrett (WI) Cunningham Goodlatte Bartlett Danner Goodling Barton Davis Gordon de la Garza Bass Goss Bateman Deal Green Greenwood Becerra DeLauro Beilenson DeLay Gunderson Bentsen Dellums Gutierrez Gutknecht Bereuter Deutsch Diaz-Balart Hall (OH) Berman Bevill Dickey Hall (TX) Bilirakis Dicks Hamilton Bishop Dingell Hancock Bliley Dixon Hansen Blute Doggett Harman Boehlert Dooley Doolittle Hastert Hastings (FL) Boehner Bonilla Hastings (WA) Dornan Doyle Bonior Hayes Hayworth Bono Dreier Borski Duncan Hefley Hefner Boucher Dunn Brewster Durbin Heineman Browder Edwards Herger Ehlers Ehrlich Brown (CA) Hilleary Brown (FL) Hobson Brownback Emerson Hoekstra Bryant (TN) Engel Hoke Holden English Bunn Ensign Bunning Horn Hostettler Burr Eshoo Burton Evans Houghton Everett Hoyer Callahan Ewing Hunter Hutchinson Calvert Farr Camp Fattah Hyde Canady Fawell Inglis Istook Cardin Fazio Jackson-Lee Fields (LA) Castle Chabot Fields (TX) Jacobs Chambliss Johnson (CT) Flake Chapman Chenoweth Flanagan Johnson (SD) Foglietta Foley Johnson, E. B. Christensen Johnson, Sam Chrysler Forbes Johnston Clement Ford Jones Kanjorski Clinger Fowler Clyburn Fox Kaptur Franks (CT) Coble Kasich Coburn Franks (NJ) Kelly

Klink Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaFalce LaHood Lantos Largent Latham LaTourette Laughlin Lazio Leach Levin Lewis (CA) Lewis (GA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Lipinski Livingston LoBiondo Longley Lowey Lucas Luther Maloney Manton Manzullo Markey Martinez Martini Mascara Matsui McCarthy McCollum McCrery McDade McDermott McHale McHugh McInnis McIntosh McKeon McKinney McNulty Meehan Meek Menendez Metcalf Meyers Mfume Mica Miller (CA) Miller (FL) Mineta Minge Moakley Molinari Mollohan Montgomery Moorhead Moran

Kennedy (RI)

Kennelly

Kingston

Kleczka

Kim

King

Morella

Murtha

Mvers Myrick Neal Nethercutt Neumann Ney Norwood Nussle Oberstar Obey Olver Ortiz Owens Oxley Packard Pallone Parker Pastor Paxon Payne (N.J) Payne (VA) Pelosi Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Petri Pickett Pombo Pomerov Porter Portman Poshard Quillen Quinn Radanovich Rahall Ramstad Rangel Reed Regula Revnolds Richardson Riggs Rivers Roberts Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Roukema Royce Sabo Salmon Sanford Sawyer Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Schumer Scott Seastrand Sensenbrenner Serrano Shadegg Shaw Shavs Shuster

Skaggs Skeen Skelton Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Spratt Stark Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stokes Studds Stump Stupak Talent Tanner Tate Tauzin Taylor (MS) Taylor (NC) Tejeda Thomas Thompson Thornberry Thornton Thurman Tiahrt Torkildsen Torres Torricelli Towns Traficant Tucker Upton Vento Visclosky Volkmer Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Ward Watt (NC) Watts (OK) Waxman Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Williams Wise Wolf Wyden Wynn Yates Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

NAYS—14

Brown (OH) Lincoln Schroeder DeFazio Lofgren Slaughter Filner Mink Waters Hinchey Roybal-Allard Woolsey Kennedy (MA) Sanders

NOT VOTING—17

Bilbray Gephardt Prvce Bryant (TX) Graham Rose Hilliard Rush Clay Clayton Jefferson Velazquez Nadler Wilson Condit Frank (MA)

So the motion was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said motion was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶51.26 SELF-EMPLOYED HEALTH PREMIUM DEDUCTION

On motion of Mr. ARCHER, by unanimous consent, the bill (H.R. 831) to amend the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 to permanently extend the deduc-