Livingston LoBiondo

Lofgren

trict of the Bureau of Land Management subject to section 318 of Public Law 101-121 (103

(2) EFFECT ON LAND MANAGEMENT PLANS.— Compliance with paragraph (1) shall not require or permit any change in any land management plan in existence on the date of the enactment of this Act.

The bill, as amended, was ordered to be engrossed and read a third time, was read a third time by title.

Mr. OBEY moved to recommit the bill to the Committee on Appropriations with instructions to report the bill back to the House forthwith with the following amendments:

- 1. Disaster Assistance: On page 2 line 15, "\$5,360,000,000" strike and insert "\$536,000,000".
- 2. WIC. Women. Infants and Children: On page 6, strike lines 17 through 22.
- 3. Training & Employment Services: On page 23 line 10, strike "\$1,601,850,000" and insert "\$939,350,000". On page 23 lines 13 & 14, strike "\$12,500,000 for the School-to-Work Opportunities Act,". On page 23, strike lines 23 through 25.
- 4. Community Services Employment for Older Americans: On page 24 strike lines 1 through 9.
- 5. Health Resources and Services: On page 25 line 12, strike "\$53,925,000" and insert "\$43,925,000"
- 6. Low Income Energy Assistance: On page 27, strike lines 2 through 6.
- 7. Education Reform: On page 28 line 14, strike "\$186,030,000" and insert "\$103,530,000". On page 28 line 15, strike "\$142,000,000" and insert ''\$83,000,000''. On page 28 line 16, strike "\$21,530,000" and insert "\$10,530,000". On page 28 line 19 after the word "Act" strike all through the word "partnerships" on line 23.
- 8. Education for the Disadvantaged: On page 29 line 4 strike all after "103-333," through line 7 and insert "\$8,270,000 from part E, section 1501 are rescinded.
- 9. School Improvement: On page 29 line 16, strike "\$747,021,000" and insert "\$327,021,000". On page 29 line 18, strike "\$100,000,000" and insert "\$80,000,000". On page 29 line 18, strike "\$471,962,000" and insert "\$71,962,000".
- 10. Student Financial Assistance: On page 31 line 6, strike "\$187,475,000" and insert "\$124,100,000". On page 31 line 7 & 8, strike "part A-4 and".
- 11. Corporation for Public Broadcasting: On page 33 line 20, strike "\$47,000,000" and insert '\$31,000,000'. On page 33 line 22, strike '\$94,000,000' and insert '\$34,000,000'.
- 12. Assisted Housing: On page 49 line 14, "\$5,733,400,000" and insert "\$5,018,400,000". On page 49 line 17, strike "\$1,157,000,000" and insert "\$467,000,000". On page 50 line 4, strike "\$90,000,000" and insert \$65,000,000". On page 50, strike lines 22 through 26.

After debate,

By unanimous consent, the previous question was ordered on the motion to recommit with instructions.

The question being put, viva voce,

Will the House recommit said bill with instructions?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. LIN-DER, announced that the nays had it.

Mr. OBEY objected to the vote on the ground that a quorum was not present and not voting.

A quorum not being present,

The roll was called under clause 4, rule XV, and the call was taken by electronic device.

JOURNAL OF THE

Yeas 185 When there appeared Nays 242 946.13[Roll No. 250]

YEAS-185 Abercrombie Gutierrez Ackerman Hall (OH) Hall (TX) Andrews Baesler Hamilton Hastings (FL) Baldacci Barcia Haves Barrett (WI) Hefner Becerra Hilliard Bentsen Hinchey Bevill Holden Bishop Hoyer Jackson-Lee Bonio Borski Jacobs Jefferson Boucher Browder Johnson (SD) Johnston Kanjorski Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Bryant (TX) Kaptur Cardin Kennedy (MA) Chapman Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Clay Kildee Kleczka Clayton Clement Clyburn Klink Coleman LaFalce Collins (MI) Laughlin Conyers Levin Costello Lincoln Lipinski Coyne Cramer Lowey Danner Luther de la Garza Maloney Deal Manton DeFazio Markey DeLauro Martinez Dellums Mascara Deutsch McCarthy Dicks McDermott Dingell McHale Doggett Doyle McKinney McNulty Durbin Meehan Edwards Meek Menendez Engel Eshoo Mfume Miller (CA) Evans Minge Fields (LA) Mink Moakley Filner Mollohan Foglietta Montgomery Moran Ford Murtha Frank (MA) Frost Nadler Furse Neal Gejdenson Oberstar Gephardt Obev

Olver

Ortiz

Orton

Owens

Pallone

Geren Gibbons

Gonzalez

Gordon

Green

Allard

Archer

Armev

Bachus

Baker (CA)

Baker (LA)

Barrett (NE)

Ballenger

Bartlett

Barton

Bateman

Beilenson

Bereuter

Berman

Bilbray

Bliley

Blute

Bilirakis

Boehlert

Boehner

Bonilla

Brewster

Brown (CA)

Brownback

Bryant (TN)

Bono

Bunn

Bunning

Bass

Barr

Graham Greenwood Parker Gunderson Pastor Gutknecht Payne (NJ) Hancock Payne (VA) Hansen Pelosi Harman Peterson (FL) Hastert Peterson (MN) Hastings (WA) Pickett Hayworth Pomeroy Hefley Heineman Poshard Rahall Herger Rangel Hilleary Reed Hobson Reynolds Hoekstra Richardson Hoke Rivers Roemer Hostettler Rose Houghton Roybal-Allard Hunter Rush Hutchinson Sabo Hyde Sanders Inglis Sawyer Istook Schroeder Johnson, Sam Schumer Jones Scott Kasich Serrano Kelly Sisisky Kim Skaggs King Skelton Kingston Slaughter Klug Knollenberg Spratt Stark Kolbe Stenholm LaHood Stokes Lantos Studds Largent Stupak Latham Tanner LaTourette Tauzin Lazio Taylor (MS) Leach Tejeda Lewis (CA) Thompson Lewis (KY) Thornton Lightfoot Thurman

Gillmor

Gilman

Goodlatte

Goodling Longley Goss Lucas Manzullo Martini Matsui McCollum McCrery McDade McHugh McInnis McIntosh McKeon Metcalf Meyers Mica Miller (FL) Mineta Molinari Moorhead Morella Myers Myrick Nethercutt Neumann Nev Norwood Nussle Oxley Packard Paxon Petri Pombo Porter Portman Pryce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Ramstad Regula Riggs Roberts Rogers Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen Roth Roukema Linder Rovce

Salmon Sanford Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Seastrand Sensenbrenner Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Skeen Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Stearns Stockman Stump Talent Tate Taylor (NC) Thomas Thornberry Tiahrt Torkildsen Upton Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Watts (OK) Waxman Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wolf Woolsey Young (AK) Young (FL) Zimmer

NOT VOTING-7

Collins (IL) Johnson (CT) Tucker Johnson, E.B. Cubin Franks (CT) Lewis (GA)

So the motion to recommit with instructions was not agreed to.

The question being put,

Will the House pass said bill?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. LIN-DER, announced that pursuant to clause 7 of rule XV the yeas and nays were ordered, and the call was taken by electronic device.

[Roll No. 251]

NAYS-242 Burr Dooley Burton Doolittle Buver Dornan Callahan Dreier Calvert Duncan Camp Dunn Canady Ehlers Castle Ehrlich Chabot Emerson Chambliss English Chenoweth Ensign Christensen Everett Chrysler Ewing Clinger Farr Fawell Coble Coburn Fazio Fields (TX) Collins (GA) Flanagan Combest Condit Cooley Forbes Fowler Cox Crane Fox Franks (NJ) Crapo Frelinghuysen Cremeans Cunningham Frisa Funderburk

Gallegly

Gilchrest

Ganske

Gekas

Torres

Towns

Vento Visclosky

Ward

Waters Watt (NC)

Williams

Wilson

Wise

Wyden

Wvnn

Yates

Torricelli

Traficant

Velazquez

Volkmer

946.14Allard Archer Armey Bachus Baker (CA) Baker (LA) Ballenger Barr Barrett (NE) Bartlett Barton Bass Bateman Bereuter Bilbray Bilirakis Bliley Blute Boehner Bonilla Bono Brewster

Brownback

Bunn

Bunning

Bryant (TN)

YEAS-227 Burr Burton Buyer Callahan Calvert Camp Canady Castle Chabot Chambliss Chenoweth Christensen Chrysler Clinger Coble Coburn Collins (GA) Combest Cooley Cox

Crane

Crapo

Davis

DeLav

Cremeans

Cunningham

Dooley Doolittle Dornan Dreier Duncan Dunn Ehlers Ehrlich Emerson English Ensign Everett Ewing Fawell Fields (TX) Flanagan Foley Forbes Fowler Fox Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen

Frisa

Funderburk

Diaz-Balart

Dickey

Davis

DeLay

Dickey

Diaz-Balart