Shaw

Radanovich Shays Shuster Rahall Reed Skaggs Regula Skeen Reynolds Skelton Richardson Slaughter Smith (MI) Riggs Rivers Smith (NJ) Roberts Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Roemer Rogers Solomon Rohrabacher Souder Ros-Lehtinen Spence Spratt Rose Roth Stark Roukema Stearns Roybal-Allard Stenholm Royce Stockman Rush Stokes Sabo Studds Salmon Stump Stupak Sanders Sanford Talent Sawyer Tanner Saxton Tate Scarborough Tauzin Taylor (MS) Schaefer Schiff Taylor (NC) Schroeder Tejeda Schumer Thomas Thompson Scott Seastrand Thornberry Sensenbrenner Thornton Thurman Shadegg Tiahrt

NOES-1

Torres Torricelli

Traficant

Velazquez

Visclosky

Vucanovich

Waldholtz

Walker

Walsh

Wamp

Ward

Waters

Watt (NC)

Waxman

White

Wise

Wolf

Woolsey

Young (AK)

Young (FL)

Wyden

Wynn

Zeliff

Zimmei

Whitfield

Watts (OK)

Weldon (FL)

Weldon (PA)

Volkmer

Towns

Tucker

Upton

Vento

Williams NOT VOTING-12

Torkildsen

Fazio Payne (NJ) Bateman Collins (MI) Gephardt Cubin Gibbons Wilson Ehrlich Mfume Yates

So the amendment was agreed to. After some further time,

¶45.19 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. DELAY:

On page 25, line 5 strike "\$16,072,000" and insert ''\$19,572,000.'

It was decided in the Yeas 254 affirmative Nays 168

¶45.20[Roll No. 242] AYES-254

Calvert Allard Archer Camp Canady Armey Bachus Castle Baesler Chabot Baker (CA) Chambliss Baker (LA) Chapman Ballenger Chenoweth Barr Christensen Barrett (NE) Chrysler Bartlett Clinger Barton Coble Coburn Bass Bateman Collins (GA) Bentsen Combest Bereuter Condit Bevill Cooley Bilbray Bilirakis Cox Cramer Bliley Crane Blute Crapo Boehner Cremeans Bonilla Cunningham Bono Danner Brewster Davis de la Garza Browder Brownback DeFazio Bryant (TN) DeLay Dickey Doolittle Bunning Burr Dornan Burton Dreier Hancock Buver Duncan Hansen

Dunn

Edwards Ehlers Ehrlich Emerson Ensign Everett Ewing Fawell Fields (TX) Flanagan Foley Forbes Fowler Fox Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Frisa Funderburk Gallegly Ganske Gekas Geren Gilchrest Gillmor Goodlatte Goss Graham Greenwood Gutknecht Hall (TX)

Hastert

Hastings (WA) Hayes Hayworth Hefley Hefner Heineman Herger Hilleary Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Horn Hostettler Houghton Hunter Hutchinson Hyde Inglis Istook Johnson (CT) Johnson, Sam Jones Kasich Kelly Kim King Kingston Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaHood Largent Latham LaTourette Laughlin Lazio Leach Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Lincoln Linder Lipinski LoBiondo Longley Lucas Manzullo Martini McCollum McCrery McDade

Abercrombie

Barrett (WI)

Ackerman

Andrews

Barcia

Becerra

Berman Bishop

Boehlert

Boucher

Cardin

Clayton

Clement

Clyburn

Coleman

Convers

Costello

DeLauro

Dellums

Deutsch

Dicks

Dingell

Doggett Dooley

Dixon

Doyle

Engel

Eshoo

Evans

Fattah

Fields (LA)

Durbin

English

Diaz-Balart

Coyne

Deal

Collins (IL)

Clav

Brown (CA)

Brown (FL)

Brown (OH)

Bryant (TX)

Bonior

Beilenson

NOES-168

Rose

Roth

Royce Salmon

Sanford

Scarborough

Saxton

Filner McDermott Flake McHale Foglietta Ford McKinney McNulty Furse Meehan Gephardt Meek Gilman Menendez Mfume Miller (CA) Gonzalez Goodling Gordon Mineta Minge Green Gunderson Mink Hall (OH) Moakley Hamilton Mollohan Harman Moran Hastings (FL) Morella Hilliard Murtha Hinchey Nadler Holden Neal Hover Oberstar Jackson-Lee Obey Jacobs Olver Jefferson Owens Johnson (SD) Pallone Johnston Pastor Kanjorski Payne (NJ) Kaptur Pelosi Kennedy (MA) Petri Kennedy (RI) Pomerov Kennelly Porter Kildee Rangel Kleczka Reed Klink Reynolds LaFalce Richardson Rivers Lantos Roukema Roybal-Allard Levin Livingston Rush Lofgren Sabo Sanders Luther Maloney Sawyer Manton Schroeder Markey Schumer Martinez Scott Mascara Serrano Matsui Skaggs Slaughter

McHugh McInnis Schaefer Schiff McIntosh Seastrand McKeon Metcalf Sensenbrenner Shadegg Meyers Mica Miller (FL) Shays Shuster Molinari Sisisky Montgomery Moorhead Skeen Skelton Smith (MI) Myers Myrick Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Nethercutt Neumann Smith (WA) Ney Norwood Souder Spence Nussle Stearns Stenholm Ortiz Orton Stockman Oxley Stump Packard Talent. Parker Tanner Paxon Tate Payne (VA) Tauzin Peterson (FL) Taylor (MS) Peterson (MN) Taylor (NC) Pickett Tejeda Pombo Thomas Portman Thornberry Tiahrt Poshard Pryce Quillen Traficant Upton Vucanovich Quinn Řadanovich Waldholtz Rahall Walker Ramstad Walsh Regula Wamp Watts (OK) Riggs Roberts Weldon (FL) Roemer Weller White Rogers Whitfield Rohrabacher Ros-Lehtinen

Wicker Wilson Wolf Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer

Spratt Stark Torres Torricelli Waters Watt (NC) Stokes Weldon (PA) Tucker Velazquez Studds Williams Stupak Thompson Vento Wise Visclosky Thornton Woolsey Wyden Volkmer Thurman Torkildsen Ward Wynn

NOT VOTING-12

Collins (MI) Frost Johnson, E.B. Cubin Gejdenson Fazio Gibbons Solomon Frank (MA) Gutierrez

So the amendment was agreed to. After some further time,

¶45.21 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. OBEY:

At the end of the bill, add the following new title:

TITLE IV-DEFICIT REDUCTION LOCKBOX

DEFICIT REDUCTION TRUST FUND

SEC. 4001. (a) ESTABLISHMENT.—There is established in the Treasury of the United States a trust fund to be known as the "Deficit Reduction Trust Fund" (in this title referred to as the "Fund").

(b) CONTENTS.—The Fund shall consist only of amounts transferred to the Fund under subsection (c).

(c) TRANSFERS OF MONEYS TO FUND.-For each of the fiscal years 1995 through 1998, the Secretary of the Treasury shall transfer to the Fund amounts equivalent to the net deficit reduction achieved during such fiscal year as a result of the provisions of this Act.

(d) Use of Moneys in Fund .-

(1) IN GENERAL.—Except as provided in paragraph (2), the amounts in the Fund shall not be available, in any fiscal year, for appropriation, obligation, expenditure, transfer.

(2) USE OF AMOUNTS FOR REDUCTION OF PUB-LIC DEBT.—The Secretary of the Treasury shall use the amounts in the Fund to redeem, or buy before maturity, obligations of the Federal Government that are included in the public debt. Any obligation of the Federal Government that is paid, redeemed, or bought with money from the Fund shall be canceled and retired and may not be reissued.

DOWNWARD ADJUSTMENTS IN DISCRETIONARY SPENDING LIMITS

SEC. 4002. (a) IN GENERAL.—Upon the enactment of this Act, the Director of the Office of Management and Budget shall make downward adjustments in the discretionary spending limits (new budget authority and outlays) specified in section 601(a)(2) of the Congressional Budget Act of 1974 for each of the fiscal years 1996 through 1998 by the aggregate amount of estimated reductions in new budget authority and outlays for discretionary programs resulting from the provisions this Act (other than emergency appropriations) for such fiscal year, as calculated by the Director

(b) OUTYEAR TREATMENT OF RESCISSIONS.— For discretionary programs for which this Act rescinds budget authority for specific fiscal years, the Director of the Office of Management and Budget shall include in the aggregate amount of the downward adjustments under subsection (a) amounts reflecting budget authority reductions for the succeeding fiscal years through 1998, calculated by inflating the amount of the rescission using the baseline procedures identified in section 257 of the Balanced Budget Emergency Deficit Control Act of 1985.

McCarthy