McKinney Pickett Stupak Taylor (MS) McNulty Pomeroy Poshard Meehan Teieda Meek Menendez Rahall Thompson Thornton Rangel Reed Mfume Thurman Miller (CA) Reynolds Richardson Torres Torricelli Mineta Mink Rivers Moaklev Roemer Traficant Mollohan Rose Tucker Montgomery Roybal-Allard Velazquez Moran Rush Vento Murtha Visclosky Sabo Nadler Sanders Volkmer Neal Sawyer Ward Schroeder Waters Oberstar Obey Schumer Watt (NC) Olver Scott Waxman Williams Ortiz Serrano Skaggs Orton Wilson Owens Skelton Wise Pallone Slaughter Woolsey Pastor Souder Wyden Payne (NJ) Spratt Wynn Peterson (FL) Stokes Peterson (MN) Studds

NOT VOTING—2

Borski Cubin

So the resolution, as amended, was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution, as amended, was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

¶45.10 MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

A message from the Senate by Mr. Hallen, one of its clerks, announced that the Senate agrees to the report of the committee of conference on the disagreeing votes of the two Houses on the amendments of the House to the bill (S. 1) entitled "An act to curb the practice of imposing unfunded Federal mandates on States and local governments; to strengthen the partnership between the Federal Government and State, local, and tribal governments; to end the imposition, in the absence of full consideration by Congress, of Federal mandates on State, local, and tribal governments without adequate funding, in a manner that may displace other essential governmental priorities; and to ensure that the Federal Government pays the costs incurred by those governments in complying with certain requirements under Federal statutes and regulations, and for other purposes.'

¶45.11 EMERGENCY SUPPLEMENTAL APPROPRIATIONS

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. HANSEN, pursuant to House Resolution 115 and rule XXIII, declared the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for the consideration of the bill (H.R. 1158) making emergency supplemental appropriations for additional disaster assistance and making recissions for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1995, and for other purposes.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. HANSEN, by unanimous consent, designated Mr. BEREUTER, as Chairman of the Committee of the Whole; and after some time spent therein,

The Committee rose informally to receive a message from the President.

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. THOMAS, assumed the Chair.

¶45.12 MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

A message in writing from the President of the United States was communicated to the House by Mr. Edwin Thomas, one of his secretaries.

The Committee resumed its sitting; and after some further time spent therein,

¶45.13 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. YOUNG of Florida:

Page 48, strike lines 10 through 24.

Page 53, line 13, strike "\$210,000,000" and all that follows through line 17 and insert "\$416,110,000 are rescinded."

¶45.14 [Roll No. 239] AYES—382

Ackerman Coleman Gejdenson Gekas Gephardt Allard Collins (GA) Andrews Combest Archer Condit Cooley Costello Gibbons Armey Bachus Gilchrest Gillmor Baesler Cox Baker (CA) Coyne Gilman Baker (LA) Goodlatte Cramer Baldacci Goodling Crane Ballenger Crapo Gordon Barcia Cremeans Goss Barr Cunningham Graham Barrett (NE) Danner Green Greenwood Barrett (WI) Davis Bartlett de la Garza Gunderson Barton Deal Gutierrez DeFazio Gutknecht Bass Bateman DeLauro Hall (TX) Bereuter DeLay Hamilton Deutsch Hancock Bilbray Diaz-Balart Hansen Bilirakis Dickey Harman Bishop Hastert Bliley Hastings (FL) Dingell Blute Hastings (WA) Dixon Boehlert Hayes Boehner Doolittle Hayworth Bonilla Dornan Hefley Bonior Doyle Hefner Bono Dreier Heineman Borski Duncan Herger Boucher Hilleary Dunn Brewster Durbin Hinchey Browder Edwards Hobson Ehlers Brown (CA) Hoekstra Brown (FL) Ehrlich Hoke Brown (OH) Holden Emerson Brownback Engel Horn Hostettler English Bryant (TN) Bryant (TX) Ensign Houghton Bunn Evans Hoyer Everett Bunning Hunter Ewing Fawell Burr Hutchinson Burton Hyde Inglis Buver Fazio Fields (TX) Callahan Istook Jackson-Lee Calvert Filner Camp Flanagan Jacobs Canady Foglietta Jefferson Johnson (CT) Cardin Foley Forbes Castle Johnson (SD) Chabot Ford Johnson, E. B Chambliss Fowler Johnson, Sam Chapman Jones Fox Chenoweth Franks (CT) Kanjorski Christensen Franks (N.J) Kasich Frelinghuysen Kelly Chrysler Clayton Frisa Kennedy (MA) Clement Frost Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Clinger Funderburk Kildee Clyburn Furse Gallegly Coble Kim Coburn Ganske King

Kingston Myrick Nadler Shuster Kleczka Sisisky Klink Neal Skaggs Klug Knollenberg Skeen Skelton Nethercutt Neumann Kolbe Ney Slaughter LaFalce Norwood Smith (MI) LaHood Nussle Smith (NJ) Lantos Oberstar Smith (TX) Largent Latham Obey Smith (WA) Olver Solomon LaTourette Ortiz Souder Laughlin Orton Spence Oxley Lazio Spratt Leach Packard Stearns Stenholm Levin Pallone Lewis (CA) Parker Stockman Lewis (GA) Pastor Stokes Lewis (KY) Paxon Stump Payne (VA) Lightfoot Stupak Lincoln Peterson (FL) Talent Peterson (MN) Linder Tanner Lipinski Petri Tate Livingston Pickett Tauzin Taylor (MS) LoBiondo Pombo Taylor (NC) Longley Pomerov Lowey Porter Tejeda Portman Thomas Lucas Luther Poshard Thompson Malonev Prvce Thornberry Manton Quillen Thornton Manzullo Quinn Thurman Radanovich Martini Tiahrt Rahall Torkildsen Mascara Matsui Ramstad Torricelli McCarthy Rangel Towns McCollum Reed Traficant McCrery Regula Upton McDade Richardson Volkmer McDermott Riggs Vucanovich McHale Rivers Waldholtz McHugh Roberts Walker McInnis Roemer Walsh Wamp McIntosh Rogers Rohrabacher McKeon Ward McKinney Ros-Lehtinen Waters Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) McNulty Rose Meehan Roth Meek Roukema Weldon (PA) Menendez Royce Salmon Weller Metcalf White Whitfield Meyers Sanders Mica Sanford Wicker Miller (FL) Sawyer Wilson Wise Minge Saxton Scarborough Mink Wolf Moakley Schaefer Wyden Wynn Molinari Schiff Schumer Mollohan Young (AK) Montgomery Scott Young (FL) Moorhead Seastrand Zeliff Morella Sensenbrenner Zimmer Shadegg Murtha

NOES-23

Hall (OH) Abercrombie Sabo Serrano Bentsen Johnston Shays Convers Mfume Dellums Miller (CA) Stark Doggett Moran Torres Owens Visclosky Frank (MA) Payne (NJ) Watt (NC) Pelosi Gonzalez

Shaw

Myers

ANSWERED "PRESENT"—27

Becerra Hilliard Schroeder Beilenson Kaptur Studds Berman Lofgren Tucker Markey Velazquez Clay Collins (IL) Martinez Vento Eshoo Mineta Waxman Reynolds Williams Farr Woolsey Fields (LA) Roybal-Allard Flake Rush Yates

NOT VOTING—2 Collins (MI) Cubin

So the amendment was agreed to. After some further time,

¶45.15 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. YATES:

Strike section 307 (page 14, line 17 and all that follows through line 24 on page 27).