## **40.23**

### JOURNAL OF THE

Kasich Kelly

Leach Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Linder Livingston LoBiondo Longley Lucas Manzullo Martini McCollum McCrery McHugh McInnis McIntosh McKeon Metcalf Meyers Mica Miller (FL) Minge Molinari Montgomery Moorhead Morella Myers Myrick Nethercutt Neumann Nev Norwood Nussle Orton Oxley Packard Parker Paxon Payne (VA)

Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Pickett Smith (WA) Pombo Solomon Souder Portman Spence Pryce Quillen Stearns Stenholm Stockman Radanovich Stump Ramstad Talent Tate Regula Richardson Tauzin Taylor (NC) Roberts Thomas Rogers Rohrabacher Thornberry Tiahrt Ros-Lehtinen Torkildsen Upton Vucanovich Roukema Waldholtz Walker Salmon Walsh Sanford Wamp Saxton Ward Scarborough Watts (OK) Schaefer Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Seastrand Weller Sensenbrenner White Shadegg Whitfield Wicker Wilson Shuster Wolf Sisisky Young (AK) Young (FL) Skelton Zeliff Zimmer Slaughter Smith (MI)

Peterson (MN)

Petri

Porter

Quinn

Riggs

Rose

Roth

Rovce

Schiff

Shaw

Shavs

Skeen

### ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1

Lowey

#### NOT VOTING-10

Bilbray	McDade	Rangel
Gibbons	McKinney	Velazquez
Hoke	Meek	-
Johnston	Neal	

So the motion to recommit with instructions was not agreed to.

The question being put, viva voce, Will the House pass said bill?

The SPEAKER pro tempore, Mr. McINNIS, announced that the yeas had it.

Mr. MARKEY demanded a recorded vote on passage of said bill, which demand was supported by one-fifth of a quorum, so a recorded vote was ordered.

The vote was taken by electronic device.

It was decided in the affirmative		Yeas Nays Answered present	
¶40.23	[Roll No. 21	6]	
AYES-325			
Ackerman	Blute	Christensen	
Allard	Boehlert	Chrysler	
Andrews	Boehner	Clement	
Archer	Bonilla	Clinger	
Armey	Bono	Coble	
Bachus	Brewster	Coburn	
Baesler	Browder	Collins (GA)	
Baker (CA)	Brown (OH)	Combest	
Baker (LA)	Brownback	Condit	
Baldacci	Bryant (TN)	Cooley	
Ballenger	Bunn	Cox	
Barcia	Bunning	Cramer	
Barr	Burr	Crane	
Barrett (NE)	Burton	Crapo	
Barrett (WI)	Buyer	Cremeans	
Bartlett	Callahan	Cubin	
Barton	Calvert	Cunningham	
Bass	Camp	Danner	
Bateman	Canady	Davis	
Bentsen	Cardin	de la Garza	
Bereuter	Castle	Deal	
Bevill	Chabot	DeLauro	
Bilirakis	Chambliss	DeLay	
Bishop	Chapman	Deutsch	
Bliley	Chenoweth	Diaz-Balart	

Doyle Dreier Duncan Dunn Edwards Ehlers Ehrlich Emerson English Ensign Eshoo Everett Ewing Farr Fawell Fazio Fields (LA) Fields (TX) Flanagan Foley Forbes Fowler Fox Frank (MA) Franks (CT) Franks (NJ) Frelinghuysen Frisa Frost Funderburk Furse Gallegly Ganske Gejdenson Gekas Geren Gilchrest Gillmor Gilman Gingrich Goodlatte Goodling Gordon Goss Graham Green Greenwood Gunderson Gutknecht Hall (TX) Hamilton Hancock Hansen Harman Hastert Hastings (WA) Hayes Hayworth Hefley Hefner Heineman Herger Hilleary Hobson Hoekstra Hoke Holden Horn Hostettler Houghton Hover Hunter Hutchinson Hyde Inglis Istook Jackson-Lee Johnson (CT) Johnson, E. B Johnson, Sam Jones

325

99

1

Dooley Doolittle

Dornan

Abercrombie Becerra Beilenson Berman Bonior Borski Boucher Brown (CA) Brown (FL) Bryant (TX) Clay Clayton Clyburn Collins (IL)

Kennedy (RI) Kennelly Kim King Kingston Kleczka Klug Knollenberg Kolbe LaHood Largent Latham LaTourette Laughlin Lazio Leach Lewis (CA) Lewis (KY) Lightfoot Lincoln Linder Lipinski Livingston LoBiondo Lofgren Longley Lucas Malonev Manzullo Martini McCarthy McCollum McCrery McHale McHugh McInnis McIntosh McKeon McNulty Meehan Menendez Metcalf Mevers Mica Miller (FL) Mineta Minge Molinari Montgomerv Moran Morella Myers Myrick Nethercutt Neumann Ney Norwood Nussle Oberstar Olver Ortiz Orton Oxley Packard Pallone Parker Paxon Payne (VA) Peterson (FL) Peterson (MN) Petri Pickett Pombo Porter Portman Pryce Quillen Quinn Radanovich Ramstad Regula Richardson NOES-99 Collins (MI) Convers Costello Coyne DeFazio Dellums

Roemer Rogers Rohrabacher Rose Roth Roukema Royce Rush Sabo Salmon Sanford Sawyer Saxton Scarborough Schaefer Schiff Schroeder Schumer Seastrand Shadegg Shaw Shays Shuster Sisisky Skaggs Skeen Skelton Slaughter Smith (MI) Smith (NJ) Smith (TX) Smith (WA) Solomon Souder Spence Spratt Stearns Stenholm Stockman Stump Talent Tanner Tate Tauzin Taylor (NC) Tejeda Thomas Thornberry Thornton Tiahrt Torkildsen Torricelli Towns Traficant Upton Vento Visclosky Volkmer Vucanovich Waldholtz Walker Walsh Wamp Ward Watts (OK) Weldon (FL) Weldon (PA) Weller White Whitfield Wicker Wilson Wolf Wyden Young (AK) Young (FL) Zeliff Zimmer Filner Flake Foglietta Ford Gephardt Gonzalez Gutierrez Hall (OH)

Ros-Lehtinen Sensenbrenner

Riggs Roberts Johnston Bilbray Coleman Dickey Gibbons

Hastings (FL) Hilliard Hinchey Jacobs Jefferson Johnson (SD)

Mink Moakley Kanjorski Mollohan Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Kildee Murtha Nadler Obey Klink LaFalce Owens Pastor Lantos Levin Payne (NJ) Lewis (GA) Pelosi Luther Pomeroy Manton Poshard Markey Martinez Rahall Reed Mascara Reynolds Matsui Rivers McDermott Roybal-Allard Mfume Sanders Miller (CA) Scott

Serrano Stark Stokes Studds Stupak Taylor (MS) Thompson Thurman Torres Tucker Velazquez Waters Watt (NC) Waxman Williams Wise Woolsey Wynn Yates

ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1

Lowey

NOT VOTING-10 McDade McKinney Meek Moorhead

Neal Rangel

So the bill was passed.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said bill was passed was, by unanimous consent. laid on the table.

Ordered, That the Clerk request the concurrence of the Senate in said bill.

**40.24** CLERK TO CORRECT ENGROSSMENT

On motion of Mr. FIELDS of Texas, by unanimous consent,

Ordered, That in the engrossment of the foregoing bill, the Clerk be authorized to correct section numbers, punctuation, cross references, and to make other technical corrections.

**\$40.25** PROVIDING FOR THE

CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 956

Mr. LINDER, by direction of the Committee on Rules, called up the following resolution (H. Res. 108):

Resolved, That at any time after the adoption of this resolution the Speaker may, pursuant to clause 1(b) of rule XXIII, declare the House resolved into the Committee of the Whole House on the state of the Union for consideration of the bill (H.R. 956) to establish legal standards and procedures for produce liability litigation, and for other purposes. The first reading of the bill shall be dispensed with. General debate shall be confined to the bill and shall not exceed two hours equally divided among and controlled by the chairmen and ranking minority members of the Committee on the Judiciary and the Committee on Commerce. After general debate the Committee of the Whole shall rise without motion. No further consideration of the bill shall be in order except pursuant to a subsequent order of the House.

When said resolution was considered. After debate,

By unanimous consent, the previous question was ordered on the resolution to its adoption or rejection and under the operation thereof, the resolution was agreed to.

A motion to reconsider the vote whereby said resolution was agreed to was, by unanimous consent, laid on the table.

**\$40.26** PROVIDING FOR THE

CONSIDERATION OF H.R. 956

Mr. LINDER, by direction of the Committee on Rules, reported (Rept. No. 104-72) the resolution (H. Res. 109) providing for the further consideration

# MARCH 8

Dicks

Dingell

Dixon Doggett

Durbin

Engel

Evans

Fattah