Rush

Sabo

Wise

Woolsev

Wyden

Wynn

Yates

Kaptur Kennedy (MA)

Kennelly

Martinez	Pelosi	Stupak
Mascara	Peterson (FL)	Tanner
Matsui	Pickett	Taylor (MS)
McCarthy	Pomerov	Tejeda
McDermott	Poshard	Thompson
McHale	Rahall	Thornton
Meehan	Reed	Thurman
Mfume	Reynolds	Torres
Miller (CA)	Richardson	Torricelli
Mineta	Rivers	Towns
Mink	Rose	Traficant
Moakley	Roybal-Allard	Tucker
Mollohan	Rush	Velazquez
Murtha	Sabo	Vento
Nadler	Sanders	Visclosky
Neal	Sawyer	Volkmer
Oberstar	Schroeder	Ward
Obey	Schumer	Watt (NC)
Olver	Scott	Waxman
Ortiz	Serrano	Williams
Orton	Skaggs	Wise
Owens	Slaughter	Woolsey
Pallone	Spratt	Wyden
Pastor	Stark	Wynn
Payne (NJ)	Stokes	Yates
Payne (VA)	Studds	

ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1

Lowey

NOT VOTING-8

Abercrombie	McDade	Rangel
Gibbons	McKinney	Waters
Johnson, E.B.	Meek	

So the substitute amendment for the amendment was agreed to.

After some further time,

¶40.14 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. MARKEY:

Page 28, after line 2, insert the following new section (and redesignate the succeeding sections and conform the table of contents accordingly):

SEC. 6. INAPPLICABILITY TO DERIVATIVES.

This Act and the amendments made by this Act shall not apply to any action based on an allegation of fraud in connection with the purchase or sale of a derivative instrument. For purposes of this section, the term "derivative instrument" means any finan-cial contract or other instrument that derives its value from the value or performance of any security, currency exchange rate, or interest rate (or group or index thereof), but does not include-

(1) any security that is traded on a national securities exchange or on an automated interdealer quotation system sponsored by a securities association registered under section 15A of this title;

(2) any forward contract which has a maturity at the time of issuance not exceeding 270 days;

(3) any contract of sale of a commodity for future delivery, or any option on such a contract, traded or executed on a designated contract market and subject to regulation under the Commodity Exchange Act; or

(4) any deposit held by a financial institu-

tion.		
It was decided in the enegative	Yeas Nays Answered present	162 261 1

40.13	[ROII NO. 211]	
	AYES—162	
Abercrombie	Berman	
Ackerman	Bishop	
Andrews	Bonior	

Abercrombie Ackerman	Berman Bishop	Cardin Clay
Andrews	Bonior	Clayton
Baesler	Borski	Clement
Baldacci	Boucher	Clyburn
Barrett (WI)	Brown (CA)	Coleman
Bateman	Brown (FL)	Collins (IL)
Becerra	Brown (OH)	Collins (MI)
Beilenson	Bryant (TX)	Conyers

DeLauro Dellums Kildee Kleczka Dicks Klink Dingell Lantos Dixon Levin Doggett Lewis (GA) Doyle Duncan Lipinski Lofgren Durbin Luther Edwards Maloney Manton Engel Eshoo Markey Evans Martinez Farr Mascara Fazio Matsui Fields (LA) McCarthy McDermott Filner Flake McHale McNulty Foglietta Ford Meehan Fox Menendez Frost Metcalf Mfume Miller (CA) Furse Gejdenson Gephardt Mineta Minge Gordon Green Mink Gutierrez Moakley Hall (OH) Mollohan Hamilton Morella Hastings (FL) Murtha Hefner Nadler Hilliard Neal Oberstar Hinchey Holden Obey Horn Olver Hoyer Owens Jackson-Lee Pallone Jacobs Pastor Johnson (SD) Payne (NJ) Johnson, E. B. Pelosi Peterson (FL) Johnston

Cramei

Costello

Coyne DeFazio

NOES-261

	NOES—201	
Allard	Crane	Hansen
Archer	Crapo	Harman
Armey	Cremeans	Hastert
Bachus	Cubin	Hastings (WA)
Baker (CA)	Cunningham	Hayes
Baker (LA)	Danner	Hayworth
Ballenger	de la Garza	Hefley
Barcia	Deal	Heineman
Barr	DeLay	Herger
Barrett (NE)	Deutsch	Hilleary
Bartlett	Diaz-Balart	Hobson
Barton	Dickey	Hoekstra
Bass	Dooley	Hoke
Bentsen	Doolittle	Hostettler
Bereuter	Dornan	Houghton
Bevill	Dreier	Hunter
Bilbray	Dunn	Hutchinson
Bilirakis	Ehlers	Hyde
Bliley	Ehrlich	Inglis
Blute	Emerson	Istook
Boehlert	English	Johnson (CT)
Boehner	Ensign	Johnson, Sam
Bonilla	Everett	Jones
Bono	Ewing	Kanjorski
Brewster	Fawell	Kasich
Browder	Fields (TX)	Kelly
Brownback	Flanagan	Kennedy (RI)
Bryant (TN)	Foley	Kim
Bunn	Forbes	King
Bunning	Fowler	Kingston
Burr	Frank (MA)	Klug
Burton	Franks (CT)	Knollenberg
Buyer	Franks (NJ)	Kolbe
Callahan	Frelinghuysen	LaFalce
Calvert	Frisa	LaHood
Camp	Funderburk	Largent
Canady	Gallegly	Latham
Castle	Ganske	Laughlin
Chabot	Gekas	Lazio
Chambliss	Geren	Leach
Chapman	Gilchrest	Lewis (CA)
Chenoweth	Gillmor	Lewis (KY)
Christensen	Gilman	Lightfoot
Chrysler	Gonzalez	Lincoln
Clinger	Goodlatte	Linder
Coble	Goodling	Livingston
Coburn	Goss	LoBiondo
Collins (GA)	Graham	Longley
Combest	Greenwood	Lucas
Condit	Gunderson	Manzullo
Cooley	Gutknecht	Martini
Cox	Hall (TX)	McCollum
	**	

Pomeroy Poshard McHugh McInnis Rahall McIntosh Reed Reynolds McKeon Meyers Mica Roemer Roukema Molinari Roybal-Allard Moorhead Moran Sanders Myers Sawyer Schroeder Myrick Nethercutt Schumer Neumann Ney Norwood Scott Serrano Slaughter Nussle Smith (WA) Ortiz Spratt Orton Stark Oxley Packard Stokes Studds Parker Stupak Paxon Tanner Taylor (MS) Thompson Petri Pickett Thornton Torres Pombo Torricelli Porter Portman Towns Traficant Quillen Tucker Velazquez Quinn Visclosky Volkmer Ward Watt (NC) Waxman Williams

Radanovich Ramstad Stearns Stenholm Stockman Regula Stump Talent Richardson Riggs Roberts Tate Miller (FL) Rogers Rohrabacher Tauzin Taylor (NC) Montgomery Ros-Lehtinen Tejeda Rose Thomas Thornberry Roth Thurman Royce Salmon Tiahrt Torkildsen Sanford Saxton Upton Scarborough Vento Schaefer Vucanovich Schiff Waldholtz Seastrand Walker Walsh Sensenbrenner Wamp Watts (OK) Shadegg Shaw Shays Weldon (FL) Shuster Weldon (PA) Payne (VA) Weller Sisisky White Peterson (MN) Skaggs Whitfield Skeen Skelton Wicker Smith (MI) Wilson Smith (N.I) Wolf Smith (TX) Young (AK) Solomon Young (FL) Souder Zeliff Spence Zimmer

ANSWERED "PRESENT"-1

Lowey

NOT VOTING-10

Davis LaTourette Rangel Fattah McDade Waters Gibbons McKinney Jefferson Meek

So the amendment was not agreed to. After some further time,

¶40.16 RECORDED VOTE

A recorded vote by electronic device was ordered in the Committee of the Whole on the following amendment submitted by Mr. DINGELL:

Page 28, line 12, insert before the period the following: ", except that this Act and the amendments made by this Act shall not apply to any action commenced by any State or local government, or any agency or instrumentality of any State or local government, before the date which is 3 years after such date of enactment.".

179 Yeas It was decided in the Nays 248 negative Answered present

940.17[Roll No. 212] AYES-179

Collins (IL) Abercrombie Ford Ackerman Collins (MI) Fox Frank (MA) Andrews Conyers Costello Bachus Frost Baesler Coyne Furse Baldacci Cramer Gejdenson de la Garza Gephardt Barcia Barrett (WI) DeFazio Gonzalez Becerra DeLauro Gordon Beilenson Dellums Green Dicks Dingell Gutierrez Bentsen Hall (OH) Berman Hall (TX) Bevill Dixon Bishop Doggett Hamilton Hastings (FL) Bonior Dovle Borski Duncan Hefner Hilliard Boucher Durbin Edwards Browder Hinchey Brown (CA) Engel Holden Brown (FL) Brown (OH) Hoyer Jackson-Lee Eshoo Evans Bryant (TX) Farr Jefferson Johnson (SD) Johnson, E.B. Cardin Chapman Fattah Fazio Fields (LA) Johnston Clay Clayton Clyburn Filner Flake Kanjorski Kaptur Kennedy (MA) Foglietta

McCrerv

Hancock